We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a special dinner”

Blue Strawberry Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 264 Restaurants in Al Khobar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: located on a gated compound, but open to the public
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for a special dinner”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant is in the Rezyat compound in Al Khobar.
We've been eating here for a few years. The service can be a bit slow, but the food is always delicious, and beautifully presented. They've revamped the menu to include a wide variety of dishes, from several countries. The portions are a perfect size to allow you to have three courses without feeling stuffed. The theme nights are always very busy.
The atmosphere is good, they play decent music, and its not so bright you need unglasses or so dim that you can't see your companions. It can be a bit oil though, so take a light cover. Ladies can remove their abayas if they want to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    30
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Al-Khobar”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Living in Al-Khobar for nine years this restaurant has top quality food which is well presented at very reasonable prices. While the service can be a little slow the staff are always friendly and attentive. Their special meal theme nights get very busy so always reserve a table. Their Christmas meals and the atmosphere is great and you want feel as though you are in Saudi Arabia. Our family and friends use to go there at least once a week, so it was considered as our regular, unfortunately without any alcohol. We really miss this place since we have left Saudi and wish there was a restaurant in the UK with the quality, presentation and at a reasonable to match this venue.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go on a "specials" night”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've been going to this restaurant for the last two years, and all it does is improve, they recently changed there menu to a much bigger and wider selection of all kind of food, (and they added my favourite lamb shank:-) Service is good, music is good and all in all good, Except on a specials night.
This restaurant do a specials night once a week, and they do not get it right... they do a Spanish night, thai night, curry night.... all sorts, but they do not get the food right. Restaurant get full, service gets really slow and its just not worth it.
But do go on a normal night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyTayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, good but SLOW service”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have eaten many celebratory/holiday meals there, as well as some of their special menu events. The food is always excellent and gorgeously presented. The only downfall is that the service is historically slow as cool tar, with courses lasting too long to the point of confusion as to why we've finished one and are still waiting for the next. The servers are attentive, I think it's an intentional choice to make meals linger for socializing. It's overdone, though. I've often avoided going there simply because a 6:30 reservation often involves starting to eat sometimes up to an hour later, and finishing everything after 9 or 10, which is exhausting on a work night. Overall though, it's one of my favorite places to eat here in Khobar because the food is varied and excellent!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Strawberry Restaurant also viewed

Al Khobar, Eastern Province
Al Khobar, Eastern Province
 
Al Khobar, Eastern Province
Al Khobar, Eastern Province
 

Been to Blue Strawberry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing