We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree .. Needs a major renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Al Khobar
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Agree .. Needs a major renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This used to be the best resort in khobar area, location and facility, un fourtionatly, no renovation so far, you get in you smell the food, wish to place glass separator between the restaurant and lobby
Also the chalet is with the same furniture since 5 years, it is old, edges are broken
They need to take care otherwise will lose business

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank navigator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
26
10
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It seems that this resort had it golden times some years ago. I had a short stay recently, staff was polite and helpful, however I had a the feeling that they were lagging professional guidance and tutoring. The front desk officer did not know what to do with my golden ambassador card, and at check out he said he can not charge my Amex card because the boss is not here?

I was aim a single rom villa and the quality and hygiene is very poor. Stains and rust all over the washroom, room doors not closing properly.

All over I think that this resort had its golden times and a real renovation is due.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed the Lunch buffet, it was very good with more varieties on salads and desserts with fresh fruits and cakes. The best was the meat balls in laban, this is first time, we had this dish, even my wife has not cooked this dish for us since we are married now more than 30 years.
Always lunch buffet is preferable as all the food items will be freshly cooked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOHAMEDASLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du13
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I arrived on a Friday which is considered to be the last day of the weekend (like a Sunday everywhere else). Anyway, the local hotel management runs a scheme where you buy a coupon & it gives you access to the pool, beach & 1 meal/buffet (lunch or dinner). Well, seeing that the pool & beach and sitting area is fully occupied (like a public swimming pool on a very hot day) I was puzzled by the crowed. But I quickly found out that the Hotel Mgmt is run by Egyptians who then hand out these coupons to there friends or hand out as a gifts hence for a minute I really thought I was in Egypt.

Otherwise, the hotel is quite on normal days (other than Friday) and the staff are friendly but very slow, especially housekeeping and room service. Which reminds me, roomservice had charged me for an order I made from the Kiddie menu (for my kids) but had charged me as the full fare from the normal menu & I raised my concerns to roomservice but have not heard from them or the hotel.

The hotel is about 30min from Khobar & Dharan citys so it's quite nice if you want to shop or dine. Unfortunatly there is no pharmacy or grocery store near by except a gas station & it's conveniant store that's about 2-3km away so you need to use the car.

Room Tip: Don't take a ground floor room on a weekend! Unless it's very far from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Du13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Du13,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Relatively small resort ( more peasefull)

Parking: all parking are Exposed to sun. ( very bad during summer months)

Check in: sloppy Check in. It took long time even though with few people around

Room: I got a room with a broken AC. The whole night I couldn't sleep & I called reception several times and no solution there. The next night I asked them to move me or I will check out. The other room AC was OK.

Spacious rooms by the way.

Pool: not a big one with a lot of kids. I rather swam in the sea; really nice and peaceful beach.

Sports; ther are jet skies nag boats.

Food; buffet meals. All below average especially dinner (not recommended)

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faylasof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Faylasof,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I am pleased you found our location and room accommodations commendable. Please accept my sincerest apology for the air conditioning issues you experienced and the inconvenience you had at check in. We will address these points and I hope when you will return you will see the improvements made.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was there for only one day to attend an event and I found the place location very nice and the views is nice . I used the resturant and the food was ok and the best thing was the dinner beside the pool.overall experience is ok to change your mood in Saudi Arabia :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed there for one night. First of all, this is not a Holiday Inn property in terms of standards and values.

The designer who designed the building should not be allowed to be in business anymore!. There is only one elevator in the building and its (services elevator). Hotel residences are using the same elevator that hotel uses for food and trash transportation!. I can't describe the horrible smell there. So always avoid the first floor and request a room on the ground floor.

I went to the restaurant buffet three times. Same plates were served. Nothing creative

This hotel is still in business because it’s one of the very few choices in the region. Stay away. Pay little more and go to Bahrain for a real resort !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FAISAL_ALSHUKRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear alshukri,

Thank you for the feedback regarding our property. It is unfortunate that we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We do hope to host you in the future.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Al Khobar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Khobar hotels
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Al Khobar-Corniche
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Al Khobar
13.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Al Khobar
Movenpick Hotel Al Khobar
#5 of 68 in Al Khobar
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sofitel Al Khobar The Corniche
13.1 mi away
Le Meridien Al Khobar
Le Meridien Al Khobar
#4 of 68 in Al Khobar
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
10.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
#1 of 68 in Al Khobar
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay
Address: Azizia Area, Al Khobar 39246, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Khobar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Al Khobar
#20 Luxury Hotel in Al Khobar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the only 5-star resort in Al Khobar, Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay Resort is a beautiful resort where family can enjoy the Holiday Inn Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Half Moon Bay Hotel Al Khobar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing