We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Mercure hotel, Al-Khobar”
Review of Mercure Al Khobar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Al Khobar
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Al Khobar
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review of Mercure hotel, Al-Khobar”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Enjoyed it very much. Thank you.

The food was good and the Reception staff were very helpful. There were one or two small issues in the rooms with the TV's (which all needed to be re-set) and the air-conditioning (which worked intermittently). But all problems were attended to very quickly by effeicient staff. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Al-Khobar who is on a budget.

"The Village Idiot"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank R0gerTheCabinB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    42
    2
    8
See reviews for
21
11
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was good stay, Wireless connections signal is not good... I do stay 8 - 10 days every month in this Hotel. Location is in very beautiful area free of traffic jam. Strongly recommended for business travels to Al Khobar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Diasp0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here in early December 2012 on a business trip. I took advantage of the hotel pick up service and despite my flight being early, the driver was at the airport to greet me, cheerfully and efficiently. The efficiency followed through to check in where I was attended to in a genuinely enthusiastic and speedy manner ( and with a delicious glass of fresh fruit juice). I could not fault the room which was spacious clean and neat with a comfortable bed. Very pleasing was the free internet connection for which many other hotels charge. Room service was quick and equally efficient as the rest of the services. Breakfast was included in the room charge as was an English Language newspaper. The breakfast was the usual hotel fare with a very good choice of English, Continental or Arabic fare. In all a very pleasing and trouble free experience as it should be to allow me to concentrate on the business in hand. One point to remember that only one floor (7th) is given over to non smokers so when booking, non smokers should be careful to specify the 7th floor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thanks for a restful and productive visit. Service and amenities were premium class for a budget price. Restaurant was welcomming with a professional and pleasant front house team combined with fine chefs with great attention to detail. Concierge helped me out of a jam with some letters to post and i remain grateful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here on business for 3 nights. Pleasant and comfortable. Maybe a little soulless but typical of the region. Room was well appointed and very comfortable. good spa facilities too. Restaurant on top floor has some good views to the sea. Buffet for my trip, food was good and plenty of choice. Any longer though and it would get a bit repetitive. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamtrevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are well appointed and the meal buffet is excellent. Some things to note. There is a building site next door which may last for months, as it is a rather large development. Only real effect is dust. The noise cannot be heard as hotel is well sound-proofed. The "advertised" proffessional health / body massage doctor does not exist, as he left some weeks ago and has not been replaced. The swimming pool has quite a few sharp and missing tiles on the bottom which is unpleasant for a "5 star" hotel. There is no outside pool either for sun bathing or enjoying the beautiful weather. The "advertised" Jaccuzzi is not a JaccuzzI !! There are not even any bubbles !! At best, it is just a warm water round pool attached to the swimming pool with no spar features to it. The door to the Sauna cannot be opened properly because the plastic matting stops the door !! The "advertised" stunning views from the 10th floor of the hotel, are difficult to see, because the glass is so dirty from the balcony of the restaruant, that you can barely see through it ! When you are on the balcony, how do you get back in ? as there are no door handles on the exterior of the balcony doors ! In the UK or Europe, this would only be a 4 star hotel. First impressions of the lobby are fabulous, with glass and marble everywhere, but only skin deep. Standards require looking at for a Mercure.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Awarding five stars the Mercure Al Khobar is a non-sense since this is a four stars chain. Within the Accor group, Sofitel is the five stars brand, Novotel the four stars plus while Mercure is four stars! So awarding this hotel five stars is raising expectations and it can only lead to disappointment.
My stay there started with a problem. The hotel car that was supposed to wait for me wasn't at the airport. They told me the car was ordered for 19:00 while I was landing at 21:00. It means that not only they made a mistake but in addition they didn't even bothered to check whether the flight was on time (flight number was correct)! So I had to wait for 30+ minutes for a (weird) car to come. On a side note, do order a pick-up in Dammam as the airport taxis are overcharging big time, and collectively.
Upon arrival at the hotel, no one to welcome and take the luggage. The car driver had to do it! Two employees could have helped but they preferred to stay and call... no one!
Check-in was then all right although I could not get a non-smoking room as requested and the view to the sea was only partial. The room itself was just regular, no more. And not particularly clean... And when housekeeping broke a curtain on the day before my departure, they just left it as it, without repairing...
Free albeit a bit slow wifi.
Breakfast was all right. Nice buffet, with the possibility to order eggs. No espresso coffee though. The restaurant is located on the last floor which would offer a nice view ... if the windows were clean.
Nice little lobby (probably the best part of the hotel). And nice staff. Although they didn't care about making sure I'll leave early enough to the airport while at peak hour, the city is blocked!
All together I'll certainly choose another hotel in Al-Khobar on my next visit. And suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Khobar hotels
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
#2 of 77 in Al Khobar
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Al Khobar-Corniche
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Al Khobar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Al Khobar
Le Meridien Al Khobar
#3 of 77 in Al Khobar
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Al Khobar
Movenpick Hotel Al Khobar
#5 of 77 in Al Khobar
525 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Al Khobar
InterContinental Al Khobar
#1 of 77 in Al Khobar
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Al Khobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Al Khobar

Property: Mercure Al Khobar
Address: Prince Turki Bin Abdul Aziz | St Corniche Eastern Province, Al Khobar 31952, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Khobar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Al Khobar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Al Khobar 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Al Khobar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing