We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Gold more like brass”
Review of Mercure Al Khobar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Al Khobar
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Al Khobar
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    69
    42
    1
    8
See reviews for
20
11
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I checked into the hotel a couple of weeks ago at about 9pm. The AC in the room was extremely noisy, the lights would not work, the handle of the tap came off, the locker wouldn't lock, and yes there was no welcome drink. The hotel wanted a day to fix all these, and the next evening their staff spent about 2 hours in my presence and still could not fix it all.
The bathroom had a shower cubicle which hardly gives any space to move. They finally changed my room after 4 nights.
Almost all the rooms are in some dark alley, and the windows in the rooms do not open. I need to step out every time I need some fresh air.
In my two weeks to stay, the hotel forgot to make the room up twice. I came back after 11 hours and the room was exactly the way I left it.
They forget to pick the laundry, and at times the laundry comes back after 2 days. Once I got back wet clothes on hangers from the laundry. The laundry is outsourced, and the laundry prices are almost double that of the laundry prices any other hotel in the town.
Three glasses on the facade have been broken ever since - these are visible from the lifts. The glasses on the facade have not been cleaned in ages, and the artificial plants in their lobby are quite worn-out.
They also boast of a chair with a broken arm, in their restaurant - this arm bites you every time end up touching it there.
Some of the equipment in the gym is badly, and the attendants hardly know anything about work-outs. The staff in the gym has been pulled out of their housekeeping staff.
They don't care. You stay or your leave. I have tried writing to almost everyone including the GM in the hotel, but the hotel does not believe in responding to e-mails.You only have speak to them.

Room Tip: Please do not end up in a room with a shower cubicle. Insist for a bathtub. Get the room cleaned aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice clean room, more variety at breakfast than most Saudi hotels in this price bracket, good wifi, friendly service. The evening meals are no roaring hell, but once again they're competitive for Saudi. Think of it in UK terms as a hotel that just scrapes into the bottom of the Four Star category and you'll know what you're getting. It's easy to criticise, but this is Saudi Arabia and unless you pay a very great deal more you're not going to find better and you may very well experience worse. The contracting and construction businesses in Khobar, Dammam and Jubail are booming and most of the people here are here on business -- you wouldn't come here on holiday unless you had family in the neighbourhood. When I leave here I'm flying to Abu Dhabi for a week's holiday and I will stay there in a genuine Five Star hotel with good breakfasts and excellent evening meals, and I will pay less for the room thatn I paid here -- but that's the difference between the UAE and Saudi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed for our nephews wedding, the towels in the bathroom are pretty worn out, staff are not aware of what's going on, we requested car at 430 am and it came at 530 am we nearly missed our flight.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

1) Made me wait 5min at the reception at the check-in w/o giving a reason although I booked online. 2) On the 3rd day, there was maintenance people doing crazy reparation sounds in the room next to mine at 22h00!! 3) There is a very bad kitchen smell on the 8th floor next to room; I complained many times but they neither did anything to fix this or got back to me with any feedback. 4) Restaurant food quality poor and not good. 5) My TV stopped on the 2nd day, they repaired it 6) They did not care at all about my Platinum status

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Hotel was fine but the inability of staff to deal with a A Club card when presented at check out was a real pain.
You could tell the points/miles were not going to get credited and two months later they still havent. Let me take photocopy sir. Clueless.
Cannot be bothered to claim retrospectively as Accor website require a scan of invoice. Not very user friendly. What a drag.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardflares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayman A, Front Office Manager at Mercure Al Khobar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure hotel alkhobar, as we always pay attention to the remarks of our guests in order to improve our service.

we are looking forwards to welcomes you again at Mercure Hotel Alkhobar.

Ayman Al Banawy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Al Khobar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Khobar hotels
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
#3 of 77 in Al Khobar
650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Al Khobar
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dhahran
Radisson Blu Hotel Dhahran
#10 of 77 in Al Khobar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Al Khobar-Corniche
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Al Khobar
Le Meridien Al Khobar
#2 of 77 in Al Khobar
428 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Al Khobar The Corniche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Al Khobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Al Khobar

Property: Mercure Al Khobar
Address: Prince Turki Bin Abdul Aziz | St Corniche Eastern Province, Al Khobar 31952, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Khobar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Al Khobar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Al Khobar 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Al Khobar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing