We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Al Khobar
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Al Khobar
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Out of the way but quality”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Having previously used the le Meridien I was booked into the Intercontinental accidentally, but it turned out to be a nice hotel. While not on the Corniche, it is in a nice part of town, but there are some security concerns. It does not have the usual high security entrance, and can be approached without passing through any form of evident security (although there is a security barrier from the main road, this can be circumvented). Also the hotel comprises two buildings and the second building, where I stayed, has a desk that was not manned when I arrived. The lift does require a room card to activate it which is somewhat reassuring. I can imagine in Summer that the walk from one building to the other would not be appreciated in high heat and humidity. Room was modern and well appointed, with free internet, and was reasonably priced. Breakfast was of a high quality, with a full choice of buffet items. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and were a highlight of the visit. Courteous, friendly and went the extra mile.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Al Khobar, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear awsculli,

First I would like to thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
I assure you that the safety of our guests is of utmost concern to us.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    112
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
17
27
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Arrival at the hotel was smooth and check in efficient and quick.
The "standard" room consisted of a seperate sitting area, desk and table, leading through to a seperate area where the bedroom was. Only a shower in the bathroom. A pity was only there for one night.
Dinner was excellent and on the night I stayed was a seafood buffet with the fish/seafood cooked to order.
Breakfast did not dissapoint either.
A couple of matters that stopped me giving an excellent rating:
The shower did not work and despite immeadiate atttention by maintenance still did not work the morning after!
The hotel failed to accept that the room was prepaid for and I had to pay again (However an exchange of emails the room charge was refunded to my credit card).

Overall : pity about the shower... an excellent hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very nice hotel at a fair price. The rooms are amazing. The people are nice, though there were a few hiccups during my stay. The service in the lobby cafe is weak.

The hotel is split across two buildings. The front desk in the new building was unstaffed on a few occasions, raising some security concerns for me.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Fabulous rooms...all suites, large desks, fast Internet and very comfy beds. Gym is ok, only one restaurant which can be a bit tedious if you're there a while, but a few restaurants near if you feel like a change. Conference facilities are good and staff very helpful and professional. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Damman, Khobar or Dharan.

Room Tip: I've heard some rooms have AC noise, you want to be turning right out of the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

For the whole team from top to bottom, we, Red Bull Saudi Arabia are proud and impressed by your genuine service and hospitality that were shown to us during our "Red Bull RasBRas" event which was the biggest event in the Middle east which gather the arab rally champions on one track. (check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1c88iq9VpkE)

we were happy with the sales team support, staff kindness, rooms arrangement, and food quality in house and outside espacial on the event site....

Last but not least, a special thank for the Mr.Niazi, Mr.Samer , Mr.Khamiss and the Executive Chef-Raff Grip and their respective teams for the presentation and the set up of the food in the event VIP area.

In light of the above, we are pleased to further expand our business relationship in 2012.

Best wishes and good luck for the team.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2011

this will give a best room ever for a couple like me who stasying in this hotel. Its give me a relaxing and comfortable night. Furniture and ambiance was excellent, staff are friendly. With a fantastic dining experience.

Nothing I can say but to come back in this wonderful hotel the InterContinental Al Khobar

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRanchrestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICKHOBAR, General Manager at InterContinental Al Khobar, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the InterContinental Al Khobar.

Thank you for your comments on the Trip Advisor relating to your stay with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Comments from our esteemed guests like yourself do help us further improve our facilities and services.

We value your patronage and look forward to many more opportunities of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Josef Sorger
Director of Operations - Saudi Arabia East
and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is the hotel of choice in Dammam/Al Khobar.

Ample room. Excellent service. Housekeeping faultless. Considering hotels in KSA are generally poor, it is refreshing to locate a hotel that ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICKHOBAR, Manager at InterContinental Al Khobar, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your observations during your recent stay with us. We do value your valuable comments and look forward to many more opportunities of serving you in your future travels.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Khobar hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
Crowne Plaza Al Khobar
#3 of 77 in Al Khobar
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Al Khobar The Corniche
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Al Khobar
Le Meridien Al Khobar
#2 of 77 in Al Khobar
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Al Khobar
Movenpick Hotel Al Khobar
#5 of 77 in Al Khobar
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Al Khobar
5.6 mi away
Kempinski Al Othman Hotel Al Khobar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Al Khobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Al Khobar

Property: InterContinental Al Khobar
Address: Bin Bassam Al Andalusi Street, Al Khobar 31952, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Khobar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Al Khobar
#1 Family Hotel in Al Khobar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Al Khobar
#2 Business Hotel in Al Khobar
#5 Best Value Hotel in Al Khobar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Al Khobar 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Al Khobar is located in the city center. Many international companies are within walking distance, close to Saudi Aramco office and when the work day is over, shopping and entertainment centres are close by. Just a 10-minute walk away is the scenic Corniche, which is perfect for strolling along the Arabian Gulf while visiting parks, eateries and family beaches. Also nearby are Gulf Sindibad City Park, Half Moon Bay and Sunset Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Al Khobar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Al Khobar Hotel Al Khobar
Al Khobar Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing