We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Al Jubail
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Al Jubail
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Poor value for price”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I find it too expensive for the quality it gives. I am also not happy that they charged my credit card twice, one time for preauthorization upon arrival and another time (with a different authorization code) when checking out. This means that I will have to wait for 1 month to get my money back in my credit card. Most hotels use the same authorization code for not charging their client twice until they receive their blocked amount after long time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmaarouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBM001, Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Dear Mr. Marouf

First of all, let me give you our sincerest gratitude in taking your time to write your comments via Tripadvisor about your compliments to our hotel. I hope we lived up to your understandings and expectations during your stay.
We regret the inconvenience that arose in regards to the billing of your credit card. Our procedure is to take only one authorization code and the occurrence with your credit card was an unfortunate mistake which, once again, we regret. As for our hotel's rates, we assure you that they are in line with the standard InterContinental Hotel brand rates.
In addition, I am hoping that you will give us another chance in the future to share with you again an exquisite, memorable and enjoyable stay here in Al Jubail. It is our priority to make your stay achieve the highest standard possible. With this at heart, we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed this year, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    109
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
27
5
19
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

very good care of the guests/ fast in responding to the guests requirements.
excellent location
rooms are the expected standars of intercontinental hotel
amenties are excellent and nicely selected.
i like the clinliness and the staff attention to guest

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eman099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... J, Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Eman,

First of all, let me give you our sincerest gratitude in taking your time to write us about your compliments to our hotel. I hope we lived up to your understandings and expectations during your stay. It is always our privilege and pleasure to bring you our core purpose which is “Great Hotels Guest Love”. If there may have been any shortcoming or inconveniency from our side, kindly accept our apology.

In addition, I am hoping that you will give us another chance in the future to share with you again an exquisite, memorable and enjoyable stay here in Al Jubail. It is our priority to make your stay achieve the highest standard possible. With this at heart, we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed this year, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.

Once again, we want to thank you for your authentic appreciation.

We are looking forward to serving you again at the InterContinental Al Jubail.

Sincerely,

Wael karim
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Let me give you a hint, it was a Holiday Inn ten years ago. And although it became an Intercontinental but it maintained the same class of decoration that even became so old fashioned and deteriorated.

1) Location => perfect, isolated and on the beach.
2) Parking => big and free but no valet.
3) Service => depending on who serves you. Some are rude and some are pleasant but none is classy.
4) Decoration => Deteriorating
5) Cleanness => Dirty halls with cockroaches here and there.
6) Food => the buffet got improved over the years but still it's a buffet quality. And the downstairs restaurants are old fashioned deteriorated and hideous. I never saw anybody eating there. There's a restaurant at the beach, I never tried it bit looks ok.
6) Rooms => spacious but still old fashioned and deteriorating.
7) Price => same as any Intercontinental Hotel.

What keeps this piece of trash going is the following:
1) No completion, no other international or reputed hotel within 100 km range.
2) Expat workers stay here on annual rental basis.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassaan_Abdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBM001, Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Mr. Abdin

First of all, let me give you our sincerest gratitude in taking your time to write us about your compliments to our hotel. I hope we lived up to your understandings and expectations during your stay. It is always our privilege and pleasure to bring you our core purpose which is “Great Hotels Guest Love”. If there may have been any shortcoming or inconveniency from our side, kindly accept our apology.

In addition, I am hoping that you will give us another chance in the future to share with you again an exquisite, memorable and enjoyable stay here in Al Jubail. It is our priority to make your stay achieve the highest standard possible. With this at heart, we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed this year, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khobar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

nice view room, neat and refreshing, ideal for couples who are interested to enjoy couple of days by the beach, i would say go Tex Mex when you visit the hotel as they serve a Delicious beef tenderloin with BBQ sauce, do not miss the fresh red melon with crushed ice juice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pakiworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adminstration, General Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Mr. Pakiworld

First of all, let me give you our sincerest gratitude in taking your time to write us about your compliments to our hotel. I hope we lived up to your understandings and expectations during your stay. It is always our privilege and pleasure to bring you our core purpose which is “Great Hotels Guest Love”. If there may have been any shortcoming or inconveniency from our side, kindly accept our apology.

In addition, I am hoping that you will give us another chance in the future to share with you again an exquisite, memorable and enjoyable stay here in Al Jubail. It is our priority to make your stay achieve the highest standard possible. With this at heart, we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed this year, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.

Once again, we want to thank you for your authentic appreciation.

We are looking forward to serving you again at the InterContinental Al Jubail.

Sincerely,

Fahad I. Al Sayegh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed in some of the older hotels but this one could not amuse me at all. I do not care if the interior is old or if the reception area looks outdated as this can be fairly charming in some occasions but it should fit to the overall flair. But when you see those old telephones and the radio at the bedside table you clearly know that they do not care. The pool is filthy. The staff (not at the reception though) is at most times useless. Not much choice in Jubail though and they seem to know that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adminstration, Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Mr Lars Dominic

Thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your stay at our hotel. We note that, although, you recognized our reception staff during your stay with us, you were not happy with the quality you received in the pool area and room decoration. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you were caused in this regard.

I have personally investigated the pool matter and can assure you that corrective steps have been taken to prevent the recurrence of such incidents in the future.

As for the room conditions, we are delighted to inform you that we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed in 2012, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and in the company as a whole.

Sincerely,
Wael Karim
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The quality of the hotel was comparable to a Motel 6 or Super 8, and even that's pushing it. I stayed on the basement level and the water stains on the carpet are still there from a previous flood or what I believe was the release of the fire sprinkler system. Everything is very old looking. It may have been a nice hotel in the late 70s or early 80s but it's definitely not now.

There's a beach with a view of an oil refinery and some local woman dressed completely in black wading in the water ankle deep - a strange site. Other than that there is no coral reefs so the swimming is just so so.

The service is horrible. On a scale of one to ten I would give it a negative 50.

For 400 plus USD a night it was definitely a rip off but unfortunately you don't have too many more options around Jubail.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snipe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adminstration, Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Mr snipe

Thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your stay at our hotel. We noted that you were not happy with the quality you received in the overall stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you were caused.

We are delighted to inform you that we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed in 2012, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and in the company as a whole.


Sincerely,
Wael Karim
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I have stayed three times in this hotel. Its the only hotel in Jubail City thus they can charge what they like. Room rates are very expensive and the rooms are very dated. Its not worth the money. Hotel is clean, sport facilities are good, swimming pool is small, but have not been able to use on three seperate occasions due to pool closed, maintenance. The hotel is out in the sticks, and has several restuarants.

Room Tip: Its not worth the 5* for the amount they are charging
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngrahim-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adminstration, Manager at InterContinental Al Jubail, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Mr NGrahim

Thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your stay at our hotel. We note that, although, you recognized the cleanliness, sports facilities and sleeping quality during your stay with us, you were not happy with the value for money you received . Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you were caused in this regard.

As for the general hotel condition, we are delighted to inform you that we are moving closer to a refurbishment project where luxurious improvements and changes at our hotel will be executed in 2012, providing us with utilities and facilities to serve you with further dedicated quality. Our main purpose is to give you the best experience that we can possibly bring into life.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and in the company as a whole.

Sincerely,
Wael Karim
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Al Jubail hotels
3.5 mi away
SAS Hotel
SAS Hotel
#5 of 18 in Al Jubail
45 reviews
8.4 mi away
Alreem Hotel
Alreem Hotel
#4 of 18 in Al Jubail
5 reviews
6.5 mi away
Coral Jubail Hotel
Coral Jubail Hotel
#2 of 18 in Al Jubail
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Al Jubail
Golden Tulip Al Jubail
#7 of 18 in Al Jubail
68 reviews
3.3 mi away
Karan Hotel
Karan Hotel
#9 of 18 in Al Jubail
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavona Hotel
Lavona Hotel
#3 of 18 in Al Jubail
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Al Jubail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Al Jubail

Property: InterContinental Al Jubail
Address: Road 101, Al Jubail 31961, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Jubail
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Al Jubail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Al Jubail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Al Jubail 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Al Jubail is uniquely situated in a perfect business location neighboring industrial cities 1&2 which houses the world's biggest petrochemical and support industries, Easy to reach from Dammam and Bahrain Airport, the hotel also has a private beach with various water sports activities and offers free internet access in rooms, lobby and beach. Our dining experience is different in Intercontinetal al Jubail where you can enjoy international cuisine in the coffee shop with different theme nights on daily basis, Arabic cuisine in Al Diwan restaurant and Tex Mex cuisine in the Ranch restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Al Jubail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Al Jubail Hotel Al Jubail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing