We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff compensates for strange floor plan”
Review of Onegin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Onegin Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Yekaterinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff compensates for strange floor plan”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Strange floor plan in rooms. . . when wanting to get something from your suitcase, you must walk down the short hall past the restroom to the entry nook. Also, the narrow room leaves room for one person to walk past the end of the nice bed, and I gashed my chin on the bed frame. Other than this, nice clean, workable room - superb staff (the best). Location is not near enough to a mall or other restaurants to warrant walking 10 minutes in sub-zero windy winter weather. Luckily, the restaurant on the bottom floor was amazingly good. Breakfast on top floor was nothing special and hot dishes were only room temperature. Nice view from all rooms overlooking the city!

Room Tip: Want quiet? Stay away from 14th floor, just below night club on 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUSSELLB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onegin H, Director of Sales at Onegin Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Russell B! Thank you very much for the detailed and constructive feedback. Always a pleasure to receive feedback from those experienced travelers like you! Glad you liked the service and food at us. Our hotel has rooms with very different layouts. Inform in advance about your next race and we will find you the best plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    144
    32
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
81
24
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Onegin on a short business trip and found the experience to be below my expectations for a standard courtyard by Marriott. The hotel is the top 6 floors of a large building with other businesses and is quite stately. The decor is quite traditional. My main disappointments were that the ethernet cable wasn't working and the wireless was weak in my room, the bed was hard, and breakfast was poor. Not even half the lights were turned on for breakfast and the food on the buffet was of questionable quality - everything was served at room temperature, neither hot nor cold. The Onegin offers a pretty face and good staff but lacks quality of amenities and services that really matter to a business traveler. I will not be staying at the Onegin again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlang83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onegin H, Front Office Manager at Onegin Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Mlang83 thank you for your feedback. We will take all the disadvantages that you have specified. Thanks for a good estimate of our staff. We are constantly working to improve our service. We will fix the internet. In spite of the fact that you've written that you will never come back to our hotel, we hope you change your mind and we will be happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a short business trip. I have nothing but good words to say! Lovely, stylish atmosphere. Great sized room with everything I needed included. Staff were very warm and for the most part spoke good English. I felt very welcome and enjoyed my stay. The hotel was in a fantastic location in the centre of the city. I recommend all travellers who aren't fluent in Russian and are new to Ekaterinburg to stay at the Onegin :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onegin H, Guest Relations Manager at Onegin Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Henna, thank you for such warm words. It's nice to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at the Onegin.
P.s. Nice to see you and of cause welcome again when you visit our city next time ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel has everything a 4 star hotel should have. It is really easier to say what he lacks - breakfast is a bit of a disappointment, it is not bad, but it is somewhat below what you would expect. All the other important things are high standart. Can recommend this hotel both for business visitors and families. A perfectly western, European-like place to stay. It's like Holiday Inn, but cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slav_Sleptsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onegin H, Guest Relations Manager at Onegin Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Viacheslav, thank you for your good response. We appreciate you for so high rating of our work. Nice to see you and welcome again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very stylish classic interiors, bravo to the designer! Sincerely attentive personnel. We felt like welcome guests. Here created the atmosphere of respect for the great russian literature and music. In our room we found a volume of Pushkin's poems. We also visited the wonderful musical soiree in the lobby bar. Charming place in the heart of the city. Everything is very well thought out - from the view from a window to a delicious breakfast. This hotel is quite can compete with European!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onegin H, Director of Sales at Onegin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. And especially thank you for your feedback about the atmosphere so carefully created by hand. We will be glad to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is brand new. Well managed, tidy, well-equipped. Enjoyed my stay here. Nice lobby on the 9th floor! 24hours bar, with satellite TV. In the room though the TV set is something of 20 inches, which makes it look like it doesn't belong here. But overall impression is very positive. And quite a covenient location to cap it all. All in all, good value for money, decent four-star premises.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Berendei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Verg good hotel. Nice room, device, reception. New and clean. I had a room on the 11 floor with good city view. Tasty and variable breakfast on the took floor with a perfect view. Fresh orange juice :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onegin H, Public Relations Manager at Onegin Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Alexei_K, thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your feedback! We are looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yekaterinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton
DoubleTree by Hilton
#2 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ekaterinburg
Hyatt Regency Ekaterinburg
#1 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Yekaterinburg Centre
Novotel Yekaterinburg Centre
#5 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Voznesensky Hotel
Voznesensky Hotel
#7 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Hotel
#10 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#6 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onegin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onegin Hotel

Property: Onegin Hotel
Address: Rozy Luksemburg St., 49, Yekaterinburg 620026, Russia
Location: Russia > Urals District > Sverdlovsk Oblast > Yekaterinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yekaterinburg
#2 Spa Hotel in Yekaterinburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yekaterinburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yekaterinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Onegin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Onegin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onegin Hotel Yekaterinburg, Russia - Sverdlovsk Oblast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing