We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by locals to invite foreigners”
Review of Datcha - CLOSED

Datcha
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovskaya obl., Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals to invite foreigners”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A nice place to invite foreigners to have Russian food.
The price is relatively high, but the quality of food is also high.
Cozy atmosphere like in a country house (datcha).
I can recommend to people who are looking for a quite place

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Takeshi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“favorite in yekat”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

the atmosphere, service and food are all top notch. everything on the menu is wonderful- always fresh and excellent quality. try the small pies(pierogies) - the 20 minute wait is worth it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth30341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
275 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Very good restaurant, good rusiian food with creativity. Excellent atmosphere, beautiful decoration with a mix of old and new furniture.
It is in the basement of a modern building but it looks like an old russian house.
Staff very friendly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The countryside in the city”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Datcha is made to look like, well a datcha, which give the whole place a nice warmly fuzzy feeling. Old toys, pictures and furniture are scattered around the numerous rooms, and the walls in the toilettes are covered with old Russian newspapers.
The waiters are used to tourists (and therefore very helpful) and they will make sure your nationality is clearly displayed on your table. I'm not sure they have a flag for all of you, but they found a Swiss and an Australian flag, so that whoever may have thought that we were locals were quickly corrected. That said, a lot of the tables were filled with dinning Russians, so the locals (or Russian tourists) also seem to appreciate the home away from their countryside home feel.
Our orders were quite standard Russian: fish pirogues and blennies, watered down with gulps of vodka (well recommended by our waitress) and red wine. Our rule of thumb, a good restaurant does the basics well, and all our food was well presented and very tasty.
We didn’t try desserts, but our neighbors (6 easy to identify Norwegian women) took 6 different desserts and ate them all, so they seemed happy.
The downside is the restaurant does not split smoking and non-smoking, but there is an outdoor seating area…. I guess only useful in the summer months.
The bill is a little on the high side, but since everything was grand, well we were happy to pay it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trouble_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely interior, very relaxing, good food”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

The interior was really lovely and it felt like a haven from the hustle and bustle of Ekaterinburg. Great service, english menu and lovely food. Quite pricey but then most things are in Russia and at least this is vaguely worth it. The sign on the outside is in Cyrilic so get someone to write it down for you before setting off or study your cyrilic!

Helpful?
1 Thank bellevue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Datcha also viewed

Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast
 
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast
Yekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing