We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
12
19
9
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
19
9
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Incredibly expensive for what it is. I was staying at the Marriott in Moscow for slightly more money last week the difference of standards is unbelievable.
Its an quite modern building from the outside but old and dated hotel from the inside. the TV didn't work this was more likely a maintenance issue as it was a Samsung large screen TV, in fact the only new item in the room. There were no curtains just a bright blue veil to close. The decor was something to behold, bright blues nasty bright browns and yellowing veil materials. There was no safe in the room so i ended up taking all my valuables with me in my handbag which wasn't ideal. The floors were all tiles so noise was an issue as well. The receptionists speak no English not even a word, the food is not good, breakfast was included in the rate, you can choose 2 things from the menu anything more is chargeable I managed to understand this with no Russian but I could have easily been stung as I chose omelette and a sausage, if I have asked for toast and jam and tea that would have been an extra cost. On a plus side they had large spacious rooms and the bed was quite comfortable. The 2 heaters in the room worked very well and there is also a jacuzzi bath I didn't dare try it out but it might have worked.
In short I wouldn't come back here.

Room tip: Top floor rooms were slightly nicer interiors to the lower floors. Rooms facing the apartment buildings did have curtains rooms facing the street no curtains just a veil.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmanuelleDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was looking for a hotel in Volgograd near the Mamayev Kurgan memorial. Other places were closer but had sketchy reviews and Astoria looked the nicest on the whole. If you take the bus from Volgograd Airport (which is very cheap) it lets you off at the intersection of Parkhomenko and the main road into the city. From there it is about a ten minute walk to the hotel. Be warned that the sidewalks leading to the hotel are in miserable condition. If you have a heavy rolling bag, it's a pretty long, unpleasant walk. If you have backpack, no big deal.

You cannot miss the hotel on this street. It's a sleek, screaming blue cube on an out-of-the-way street lined with older, often neglected residential buildings. It's kind of like a giant Smurf in the middle of Flint, Michigan. Bizarre. Inside it has a nice, modern lobby with a friendly person at the front desk. As is true throughout Russia, they speak limited English so it can be a challenge for English-speakers if you have specific questions or requests. The biggest bummer about the hotel itself is the lack of an elevator. I had one really heavy bag filled with camera equipment. After lugging it over the broken, rolling asphalt of Parkhomenko Street, I wasn't psyched about lugging it up three flights of stairs. Still, the place has a nice vibe to it.

Our Jr. Suite was pretty spacious and had a very roomy bathroom with a large tub. By the way, the shower pressure was awesome if you care about such things. Amenities include a well-stocked mini bar, flat screen TV, wifi, and a vinyl sofa. The bed and the dresser are a cheap plastic that you find in other Russian hotels. The floors are a fake hardwood surface which make the room feel less than cozy. The mattress is comfy but very soft.

Don't expect a nice view from your room. Ours featured the dilapidated wall of the adjacent building. Again, it's a strange spot for a "4 star" hotel. Housecleaning is standard but if you want a change of sheets that is extra. Unfortunately, the front desk had trouble figuring out the price for that charge which was a little annoying.Also, there are too few outlets for charging your various appliances. We had to unplug lamps to accommodate our stuff.

Astoria boasts a 4 star rating above the building entrance. That's debatable. The staff are nice, the hotel design is pleasant and airy, the room was clean with a very nice bath. But you don't walk into the room and say, "Ah nice!" It's more like, "Eh, it's pretty good." And if that's all you're looking for, you won't be disappointed. The bigger negative is that it's in a weird location, about 25 minutes from the memorial, and not especially close to downtown Volgograd. I give it a 4 star rating because I suspect that relative to other options in the same price range, it's probably a bit nicer.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very good value for money. Staff very helpfull expecially the reception staff. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Location - slightly out of the way. Overall very pleased with our stay. Recommend hotel.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hackett59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews