We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No expectations should be felt”
Review of Marins Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marins Park Hotel
Ranked #178 of 217 Hotels in Sochi
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No expectations should be felt”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is located in the very heart of the city, at the embankment by one of its sides. However at the moment it is heavily surrounded by constructions. It means no view, dirt and technical/mechanical noise all the time. The hotel itself is rather functional having all that stuff like cafe, restaurant, laundery, swimming pool, ticket office etc. Free Wi-Fi is another advantage of the hotel. A great plus is a front desk personnel: very friendly and helpful. But these are all good sides to be admitted. The hotel is extremely old, it has that peculiar smell of sth old. We planned to stay in Deluxe Sea View. No sea view at all, no space - a very small room, the carpet was covered with strange stains. The balcony is for 1 foot. The mini bar - no comments. Thus if you expect some luxury, comfort and good atmosphere - don't choose this hotel. If you just need 1 night to stay in Sochi maybe it's OK. Up to you.
We have left the hotel immediately upon the arrival. We've moved to another one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pigmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    178
    146
    103
    75
See reviews for
111
131
42
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was my first time in Sochi, and the hotel was selected by our Moscow office as a "safe choice" for the first time visitor. I cannot deny this judgement, but I doubt if I will stay here again for several reasons. Nothing terribly wrong, yet nothing to write home about, and hardly a good value.

The Good: The rooms are decent size, bathrooms adequate, Wifi excellent, free drinking water in the room and elevator lobby, good location, empty minifridge in the room that would be less expensive to stock from a supermarket, flat-screen TV with DVD player (never switched on in a week, so cannot tell if and how it works). The lobby bar is well stocked and the service is good, same in reception and conference centre, Decent menu of 24 hour, responsive room service. Pleasant staff overall (well, I do speak passable Russian and I do tip) - except at the restaurant. well-working heating-cooling air conditioning, and also a safe-opening window.

The Bad: The prices are rather high even for the winter season. Mattress on the bed had a lopsided trend, as if inviting to roll off. Construction going on around during daytime. Awful sound insulation, or rather lack thereof. Strip bar (advantage to some?) advertised throughout. Shady characters in the lobby bar. some with personal (armed?) radio-connected bodyguards - however no actual harassment.

There is a swimming pool and sauna, some hours said to be free for residents, but opening hours are inconvenient, so I had no chance to try it yet in five days.

The best thing was proximity of "Belye Nochi" cafe across the street. If I ever stay at this hotel again, that will be for it (read my review).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I selected the hotel because of the location ignoring the poor reviews. How bad could it be? The hotel is very much for a local business clientele. Smoking lobby, inattentive service, average breakfast, Russian only TV, tired rooms, worst bed on the continent, along with cheap pillows and linens. Appreciated the water in the rooms and WI FI but so many shortcomings. Management needs to wake that new hotels opening in the area will take all the business away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Marin Park Hotel-Sochi-‘’external looks can be deceptive!!'’’


Even though I had read negative comments about this hotel I made a reservation primarily because of the very central location. Adler-Sochi is a very linear dual city and if you stay in the wrong hotel, you could end up miles from anywhere

Good points :

1-With my electronic booking I left some notes outlining my reason for visit and my requirements - the duty manager actually called me back to confirm everything was in order and the wifi was working and stable in all areas - a nice touch

2-My reserved pick up at the airport was waiting

3-Reception team all very friendly, helpful and all spoke good English

4-I was upgraded to a large suite - thank you a nice touch again and appreciated

5-The hotel is indeed very central and in walking distance to many bars and restaurants both in the city centre and on the coastal strip

6-Nice buffet breakfast usual choices all good - but pick your time of grazing the dining room gets busy

Comment:

1-From the outside the hotel looks modern, glitzy with huge glass panel windows-read on !!

2-Rooms and en suite bathrooms have been refurbished, but they still look a little tired and in need of complete modernisation

3-This hotel has Internet problems!!

Day 1 of my stay - room connection for a couple of hours then lobby only
Day 2 to Day 4 of my stay no room connection - lobby only

-I made only one comment to the reception team and they remarked that the problem is under investigation

-Incidentally I had a coffee one morning in a basic local cafe called KRUG in the downtown -they had extremely high speed wi fi. If a little cafe can have reliable internet why cannot a huge brand hotel like the Marin? - come on Marin get it sorted out !! I am sorry, but to have interrupted and sometimes no internet connection at all, in a 4 star hotel today is just not acceptable.

4-The hotel has a lobby bar which is nice and even though no smoking signs are everywhere, everyone smokes, so why have the signs up at all? What exactly is the policy? Smoking or Non Smoking? Also the bar collects a lot of very loud and large groups of residents at the end of the evening, as well as other 'night shift workers'. It’s not particularly a pleasant environment

5-Gym small and very poorly equipped

-Apparently the hotel is always full because of its central location but it is surrounded by new hotel developments under construction as the city prepares for the 2014 Winter Olympics – but how long will this popularity continue?

-It was Ok for me as a solo traveller this time but it would not be satisfactory for my family and I am sorry, I will certainly not recommend the hotel to my business and colleagues.

Room Tip: -south facing rooms face a new hotel under construction -north facing rooms face the street, mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICHOLASGILROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sochi hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at the hotel three nights during my business trip. The hotel has an excellent location – in the city center and closed to Marina (Sochi port). There are a lot of different cafes, restaurants, and clubs nearby. I think this hotel is suitable for tourists who prefer nightlife style. And this explains why a lot of Russian artists and celebrities stay at the hotel (a lot of pictures on the basement floor).

I stayed at a room on the 10th floor. Unfortunately the room was for smokers and a smell of cigarettes was a terrible option for my stay. The furniture was out-dated and required replacement except a TV (big LCD). The quality of TV signal was terrible and I did not get the advantages of a big TV screen during my stay. The air-conditioner (in-ceiling) worked terrible and made a lot of noise. The floor’s carpet was dirty with a lot of black stains.
The good option was a couple of complimentary bottles of waters and spring water and small chocolate bar “Alenka”. They changed bottles and provided a new chocolate bar every day.

The breakfast was very good with a lot of cold and hot meals and with excellent choice of fresh fruits and vegetables.

The lobby has a bar and there is a lot of signs of “We appreciate if you do not smoke” on each table. But there were a lot of smokers at the bar. Bar is overpriced (not a surprise for Sochi).
The hotel has wi-fi internet, but it was impossible to connect to it at my room. But there were only one option to connect – at the lobby.

The hotel has a gym, but part of equipment was out of order. It was unusual for a 4 star hotel. During my stay I did not use a swimming pool, but was at a hotel’s beach. A receptionist provided a daily voucher for a free entrance to the beach. I did not like the beach (tiny swimming area) and decided to go to a beach of Zhemchuzhina Hotel (its beach is much better).

The staff was very polite and speaks good English.

Anyway, I will not stay at the hotel for personal trips to Sochi. It is overpriced and requires a lot of improvements.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quiet. Try to book a room which faces to the north - less constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the 2nd time in my life due to the fact, that it is one of a few (all - Soviet style) in a walking distance to the Sochi Investment Forum place. We have chosen it with the colleagues because of the location, and I doubt we will choose it next time. The biggest problem with this hotel is the rooms. Absolutely depreciated, everything needs immediate replacement/ refurbishing. On the other side, the location is just great. A few years ago when I was there for the 1st time, it was reasonable trade off for a short business trip – rooms vs. location. Now it is not. Rooms are getting older.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evgeny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitten
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The Hotel is one of the best hotels in Sochi but don´t compare it to european standard if it comes to the look.
They have everything like free wifi (the fastest wifi i´ve ever had in a hotel!), slippers, chocolate in the rooms, water etc. etc. etc. The room service is good and not very expensive but the look of the rooms, lobby etc. seems a bit shabby. The blanket on the bed wasn´t clean and that´s a point which is very important to me because you sleep in this bed.
And the second big problem is that they don´t speak english - you can just communicate with a few members of the staff (like lobby, bar) but if you´re in the restaurant you can´t even talk to the waiters. That´s a big big problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellenataly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sochi hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sochi Centre
Mercure Sochi Centre
#5 of 217 in Sochi
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Galaxy Congress & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bounty Hotel
Bounty Hotel
#67 of 217 in Sochi
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina
2.3 mi away
Roza Vetrov
Roza Vetrov
#98 of 217 in Sochi
59 reviews
1.8 mi away
Green House Hotel
Green House Hotel
#53 of 217 in Sochi
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marins Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marins Park Hotel

Property: Marins Park Hotel
Address: Morskoy Lane, 2, Sochi 354000, Russia
Location: Russia > Southern District > Krasnodar Krai > Greater Sochi > Sochi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sochi
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Sochi
#52 Spa Hotel in Sochi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marins Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marins Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sochi
Sochi Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing