We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice, but that's all...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Congress Hotel Don-Plaza
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Rostov-on-Don
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here many times in different types of rooms. First thing - rooms facing the main street are very noisy. You can sleep only with windows closed, OK if the A/C was working well, but it was not. During winter it was only mixing the air, during summer it was not efficient and caused headache. Rooms facing the backside are better, you can sleep with open windows, but you still can hear the noise from the kitchen's ventilation. Once I was given a room on a lower floor, where windows did not open at all - it was a disaster.

All the rest is not worth writing about - just nothing special. Annoying is very long check in and check out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Przemek666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 703 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location
Comfortable rooms
Nice food
Good service
Very suitable for international travellers
Whole floor of meeting space so suitable for training s etc
Staff speak English and is an established hotel in the city

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djenk_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms are a bit old, as other reviews suggest as well. The restaurant downstairs has good food and the breakfast in the morning is very good. The staff is also very helpful. As I was only looking to use the room for sleeping, I didn't mind the room needing a little updating as it was still quite and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel has a very modern reception but rooms are a little tired my room had a very poor quality shower and furniture was of a cheap quality. Also big issue with this hotel is the constant smell of smoke even though there are open areas for smoking it dose seem to spread all over the hotel, this seems to be a big problem in all public places in Russia.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The first impression: hotel doesnt really look as a 4star hotel. While lobby Is a modern one. Rooms (even business one) look very old, while TV is ok, bed is not even queen size, despite of claiming king size.
Breakfast is also pretty average.
My rating is old hotel, that can have solid 3 star.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smart_traveller_russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff here couldn't have been more helpful and they all speak fluent English at the reception which was great as I don't speak any Russian! The rooms are a little on the small side and grossly overpriced but nevertheless, I enjoyed my stay here, the entrance is lovely and there's a nice bar through the back serving the best single malt Scottish whiskey!! (Talisker)!! I will stay here again but the next time I will upgrade to a studio suite.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

went there for 1 week business trip
the hotel by it self is large.
with very impressive entrance and a very nice conference hall.
the staff is nice and willing to help, everyone was speaking english fluently
My room was nice not waow but enough
the bathroom was a little bite old and no cabin shower.
breakfast was with many different dishes very nice actually.
the price per room is a little bite expensive
very nice SPA on the 17th floor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rostov-on-Don hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Rostov-on-Don Center
Mercure Rostov-on-Don Center
#1 of 35 in Rostov-on-Don
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Attache
Hotel Attache
#2 of 35 in Rostov-on-Don
136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marins Park Hotel Rostov
Marins Park Hotel Rostov
#26 of 35 in Rostov-on-Don
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bellagio
Bellagio
#3 of 35 in Rostov-on-Don
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#10 of 35 in Rostov-on-Don
118 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park City Hotel
Park City Hotel
#28 of 35 in Rostov-on-Don
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel Don-Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel Don-Plaza

Address: Bolshaya Sadovaya St., 115, Rostov-on-Don 344021, Russia
Location: Russia > Southern District > Rostov Oblast > Rostov-on-Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Rostov-on-Don
Price Range: $60 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hotel Don-Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hotel Don-Plaza 4* in downtown of Rostov-on-Don is the best choice for people who know the value of time. The encouraging atmosphere of the hotel shows how dynamic is the Southern capital. Business centres, negotiations rooms, daily newspapers and the aroma of fresh coffee provide conditions which are favourable for proper work and save your time. Surrounded by the green trees of Pokrovsky Square, fountains and theatres, the hotel is within walking distance of the central office and administrative buildings. The hotel is situated in the main street of the city, Bolshaya Sadovaya, and it won't take you long to get to the airport and railway station. Wake up each morning with a free breakfast buffet on the terrace. Make use of free Wi-Fi to do business or stay in touch with home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Congress Hotel Don-Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing