We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Intourist-Krasnodar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Krasnodar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

See didymus' post from June 13, 2006 to set your expectations. This is NOT an American hotel so if you judge it against experiences in America, you will be very disappointed. If you set expectations based on the fact that it was built in 1980 in the Soviet Union, cost $90.00 per night in a prime location in the city, it is an adequate hotel with one exception. The breakfast buffet. I am NOT a selective eater at all but once was enough. Try it for yourself once just for the experience then go find the grocery store in the mall to buy fresh fruit and other breakfast items for the remainder of your stay. There are refrigerators in the rooms.

Nearby dining options: There are plenty of dining options within walking distance. Despite several security guards in the lobby at all times, we did not feel unsafe walking outside at anytime. A very good Italian restaurant is in the same building as the hotel but you must walk outside to enter. A Japanese restaurant is a block from the hotel. A new American style mall is two blocks from the hotel with a small grocery store in the lower level, several restaurants/cafes, and just about anything you might need. There is also a food court with some American food chains (Subway and KFC) and a Hooters like restaurant on the second floor if you get desperate for some American style fast food.

My wife and I stayed three nights in the renovated rooms and seven nights in the non-renovated rooms. The renovated rooms cost about $30.00 per night more and did not seem worth it. An updated bathroom is the most obvious difference with "newer" tiling, more towels/wash clothes (we didn't receive wash clothes in the non-renovated room), a hair dryer, and an electrical outlet in the bathroom. The other difference was the bed. The renovated room had a queen bed versus two twin beds pushed together and a higher quality mattress. The showers/tubs are raised on could be challenge to get in and out of if you have trouble with balance or knee problems.

The WiFi works fine and works in all the rooms but is not free. It cost $5.00 for 50MB of data download. If you need to upload/download large volumes of data, you might want to find an alternative location. You also have to install a data monitoring software on you PC which I believe was only monitoring data volume and not content but I cannot be sure.

The hotel was "clean" considering it's age but it is not spotless.

Most of the staff at the front desk spoke English and as well as the IT manager. The were helpful when asked.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

33 - 39 of 326 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2007

The hotel is very centrally located, halfway down the main street of Krasnodar. The place looks fine from the outside, the reception area is nice, and although the room was not fantastic (Old fridge, TV remote control near the end of its lifetime, plastic wood-lookalike materials), it was quite adequate. The cleaning was fine, the shower OK, and in general there were all the services you would expect from a three-star hotel. The breakfast buffet was fine, with warm chicken,
warm fish fillet, warm meatballs, warm eggs, and the usual choice of bread and stuff.

There is a tiny bar on the fourth floor. Luckily there are several other places nearby that you can choose instead.

The people at the reception were friendly and handled passports and payment smoothly.


  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JanOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

A quick note about the title:

Imagine, for a moment, that you live in a developing country. In that case, you might have more important things to spend money on than, say, staying at a hotel that's comparable to a Marriott or a Hilton -- or even a Hampton Inn (there's another review that tries to compare the Intourist-Krasnodar with these hotel chains). After all, Marriotts and Hiltons are high-end -- usually around $100+/night for a single -- and are in cities with a large flow of business travelers on expense accounts. Even a Hampton Inn -- say, $60+/night for a single -- is either well outside of town, or is $100+ if it's in the center of town (within easy walking distance of all sorts of places).

Now say you had the opportunity to have a hotel, in a foreign country, where virtually no one really speaks your language (English, in my case), in a smaller town that's not really heavily frequented by out-of-towners, and this hotel happens to be really, really close to the center of town -- oh, and the room? Yeah, it's about $50/night. And it's a double -- not a single.

Tell me: will your expectations be the same? For that price, with that location, mine weren't -- and I was pleasantly surprised by the result. Then again, I like to camp, so I'm not exactly the "I need a super-premium Marriott/Hilton/whatnot" type of person. You get to decide what sort of traveler you are.

Now, with expectations managed ...

The Intourist-Krasnodar is, frankly, a very good deal for what you get. The front desk staff are Russian, and, as such, they're not used to smiling, or being very talkative. However, if you smile, and you say "Pahjaoulsta" and "Spasiboh" and "Zdrasvuitsie" and "Do svidanya," well ... personally, I then found them to react in kind. Now, I'm from the southern part of America, so I tend to do this stuff pretty much automatically; a compatriot from St. Louis wasn't quite so outgoing, or quite so optimistic and friendly, and didn't seem to have a great experience with the front desk staff. I think that's why they'd ask me for help in explaining things to my fellow Americans ...

If you're friendly, and open, the Intourist-Krasnodar folks respond accordingly, and can be very warm and inviting. People are kinda like that: treat them well, realize you're a guest in their country, don't judge, and you'll do great.

The rooms are small compared to what we're used to (did I mention it's $50/night for a city-center double?). The beds are *very* small compared to what we're used to -- and a "double" means "two single beds." The bathrooms are small, and **not at all** handicap friendly (remember: it's Soviet-era). The rooms are well-used, but perfectly functional.

The breakfast was ... ok. Personally, if you have any ability in Russian, I'd opt not to include breakfast and, instead, find someplace with good blini (the ones at Grand Pizza, down the street toward the parks and government buildings, seemed good). For RUR260, breakfast was a bit of a disappointment.

WiFi Internet is available in the lobby (no plugs, alas), and, according to the staff, also on the 2nd floor. Another reviewer said it was available on the 6th/7th floor, as well; I don't know. For Internet access, you have to purchase a card that provides you with a certain # of megabytes of upload/download. Not a bad price, but not free. I know there are a few other hotspots in town; I didn't try them, so I can't speak to them.

Try to find another place to exchange money; as you'd expect, you pay for the convenience of having an exchange booth in the hotel (there's a Sberbank directly across the street; use the north entrance, not the middle one). That said, it *is* convenient, especially if it's a late night. The Intourist exchange does *not* take traveler's checks (that's Sberbank again -- don't wait in line, show the guard the traveler's checks and go to one of the windows on the right inside the main area). They can also be finicky about US $50 bills, since the new ones came out. Make sure you have new ones.

Coffee at the lobby bar is perfectly decent (I usually had a cappucino). Coffee in the breakfast restaurant is atrocious (making love in a canoe). Get the tea instead (Russians are known for their tea).

The bathrooms are, frankly, something of a safety hazard (at least, mine was). The bath is significantly elevated above the floor, and "non-slip" anything is unheard-of. They may be able to accomodate the out-of-shape; I don't know. I'd ask before reserving.

Elsewhere on here, someone said that, to reserve a room, you have to fax a reservation or have someone make a deposit for you. Note that the fax simply has to say, "I'm coming from date to date" -- you don't need to provide a deposit. So, frankly, it's not that bad, or that hard.

In the back of the hotel, on the higher floors, you get a great view of the Caucasus mountains. Definitely worth the price of admission, just to see that in the mornings.

Laundry service is efficient and reasonably priced. So are the phones, though the sound quality is not that great.

Decent refrigerator. Be aware that there's only one outlet in the room, and so you can have any two items plugged in at once. With a refrigerator, TV, and lamp already in the room, there's already competition for the outlet. Plan accordingly.

Oh -- and US power strips are rated for 110v and will pop if used in a Russian outlet (which I discovered). So ... even if your laptop, etc. can take the 220v just fine, your strip may not.

Someone mentioned prostitutes. There are a few there, but they tend to stay at the 4th floor bar. You'll occasionally see these ladies going up and down the elevators, but it's not *that* common.

Overall, given what you get, and the location, and if you're not looking for the penultimate in luxury, it's well worth the price. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank didymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Great location, walking distance to central Krasnodar.

Hotel drive up and lobby area are first class.

Rooms are furnished OK with a small refrigerator, but are small. Otherwise no complaints.

The Hotel has Wi-Fi but only in lobby area or on floors 6 and 7. I had to use the lobby.

Easy to make international calls from rooms for 30 rubles per minute plus VAT or about $1.25/minute. Not bad compared to some hotels.

Breakfast comes as package with the room. Dining room on 2nd floor is set up with a buffet. Food selection is more Russian than Western, but they have fried eggs and a nice selection of side dishes, pastries, breads, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2004

I stayed at the Intourist Hotel in Krasnodar with my wife from December 1997 to July 1998. I know this is a long time past but I am sure that the very high standards we experienced have not changed. We stayed on the 11th floor in what turned out to be a mini home for us. The staff were always friendly and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean. The bureau facilities were good and we were always assured of good service from reception. We enjoyed the restaurants both in and near to this hotel. There is a great market to visit to the rear of the premises and the trams and taxis are both cheap and easy to use. We are to return to see friends early next year and this will be our hotel of choice.
Steve & Shirley Hutchins

11  Thank SteveHutch48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmagrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krasnodar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Krasnodar
0.2 mi away
Ibis Krasnodar Center
Ibis Krasnodar Center
#3 of 72 in Krasnodar
215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amici Grand HotelR
Amici Grand HotelR
#5 of 72 in Krasnodar
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rimar Hotel
Rimar Hotel
#10 of 72 in Krasnodar
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resident hotel
Resident hotel
#12 of 72 in Krasnodar
74 reviews
2.8 mi away
#22 of 72 in Krasnodar
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intourist-Krasnodar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intourist-Krasnodar Hotel

Address: Krasnaya St., 109, Krasnodar 350000, Russia
Location: Russia > Southern District > Krasnodar Krai > Krasnodar
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Krasnodar
#3 Business Hotel in Krasnodar
Price Range: $101 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Intourist-Krasnodar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Intourist-Krasnodar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intourist Krasnodar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing