We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Listvyanka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baikal Chalet Listvyanka
Ranked #1 of 23 Listvyanka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Listvyanka Chalet, which we had booked thro' Baikal complex. We got to Listvyanka from the Circumbaikal train and did not find the vehicle which was supposed to pick us up. After a couple of calls and a half hour wait, the vehicle finally came. Everything after that was near perfect. It was a wooden cabin with large and comfortable rooms. Our room had a bathroom and a balcony with views of the lake. The food was excellent - we had a couple of meals there, which were the best we had at Listvyanka. The staff is very friendly and accomodative. The location is OK, but about a 10 - 15 minute walk uphill from the lake.

They do not accept credit cards and the only ATM in the village is a 45 minute walk away. The dogs did not bother us, but we had bees coming in to the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Lovely wooden chalet perched on the side of a valley overlooking Lake Baikal. It was cold and snowing when we were in Listvyanka but we were always warm and cosy at the chalet.
Breakfast was good and service was friendly and always willing to help. We were offered to have dinner cooked for us if we had wished. We also pre-organised with them to be picked up from Irkutsk train station and driven to Listvyanka.
We had a double room and found the beds big enough to share one (as a couple) and have our bags on the other.
Stunning views of the lake from our balcony and a 10min walk down to the main street.
Only room for improvement would be to have internet access, but we just wandered down to the big hotel on the shoreline to use the internet and exchange money (they have an automated machine that converts USD and Euro to Rubles).
Would definitely recommend Listvyanka as a town, and Baikal Chalet for accommodation when visiting there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AusCat1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

This guest house was located about 10 minutes walk from the lake front, I found that there was a lot of dogs in the area that put me off, as they followed you around barking. 
The guest house was very comfortable, reminds me of a old log cabin, the rooms were twin beds, shower and balcony, there is a breakfast area but no chill out area or living area, so you are a bit confined to bedroom quarters. 
Breakfast was filling, free coffee and tea throughout the day. 
There was no wifi but plenty of electrical points. The heating was very good, we stayed in minus 11 temps and were never cold. Lake Baikal is a beautiful place, and you really do need to try the omul,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opfikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a perfect day in this chalet. Great lunch, dinner and breakfast. Nice people and a wonderful house.
We can only recommend this location!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

It's hard to understand the negative reviews for this place! It is pretty much exactly as advertised on the website and Hostelworld. Yes, it's a budget B&B, but it's beautifully situated on one of Listvyanka's most charming streets, the breakfast is ample and varied (much more than the bread and jam you get at most hostels or guest houses), and the rooms are charmingly rustic, each with their own bathroom en suite. Each room also has a balcony, some of which are shared with the room next door, some of which are private, and all of which face the lake. It was perfect for us: two American couples in our late 20s/early 30s on a 3-week Trans-Siberian adventure. It's not a full-service resort, but for great value, it can't be beat -- relaxing and charming, with amusingly spacey but completely competent staff. We just loved hanging out on the balconies with beers until late into the long, light evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldOfBooksGoneFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Okay, location wise this is great once you get there. Balconies with great views all around of the hills, the beautiful village around and certainly Lake Baikal. It's much better to stay a bit more in the village, cocooned in the hills, than on the lake front itself. In that sense, this is a really good place to stay and soak up Listvyanka for a while.

Staff is quite inconsiderate and rude though. As far as you don't cause any trouble and you don't check in and are looking, they are good. Afterwards, making requests or being unsure and asking for options seems like a pain to them. Very weird considering you pay more than most expensive cities in the world to stay in a village chalet here. Rooms are basic. A light, a cupboard, a desk, wooden cots with bedding, a heater. There are no reading lamps or anything else. Walls are stark with not even a painting or anything to spruce it up. It's good considering the place but, for the price, you expect at least a little more. You are specifically instructed to throw toilet papers in the bin, but no one took out garbage for three days. Breakfast is unusually late at 930 and you are expected to be there on time or you get the looks. Nice if everything was set but not so when your own requests are not considered. No visa registration unless you insist, no reciept unless you ask and even then you get something on paper, unofficial. Not at all right when you are being asked for this much money. O yes, you have to fight for it. Dinner at 10 Euros is also a rip off. Do yourself a favor and go down the street and get some good food with a smiling host instead.
And yes, if you are not very fit, make sure you have your travel arranged for. This is at the end of a long uphill street and over 70 steps to climb once you get there. So, if you are planning to arrive on your own, have the taxi go right up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Listvyanka hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mayak
Hotel Mayak
#1 of 6 in Listvyanka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Baikal Country Hotel
Baikal Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Listvyanka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.8 mi away
Legend Of Baikal Hotel
Legend Of Baikal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Listvyanka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Krestovaya Pad Hotel Complex
0.6 mi away
Belka Hostel
Belka Hostel
#6 of 35 in Listvyanka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dauria Hotel
Dauria Hotel
#1 of 35 in Listvyanka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baikal Chalet Listvyanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baikal Chalet Listvyanka

Property: Baikal Chalet Listvyanka
Address: Gudina ulitsa, d. 75, Listvyanka 664520, Russia
Location: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Listvyanka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Listvyanka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing