We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A very beautiful church

I advise you to visit this Znamensky monastery. All Russian Orthodox traditions are very well... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2021
Andrei S
Tranquillity

A place of peace and tranquillity in town. Very nice on the outside. On the inside lots of gold... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2019
jo-schops
,
Houthalen, Belgium
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
123
28
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
123
28
9
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 160 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2017

This is one of the last monuments of the Sibre Baroque and a major spiritual center of Irkutsk. The operating convent. I highly recommend visiting this place.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank FellowTraveler451207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Not a very large monastery (although a Russian friend insisted it was really a convent), but packed with history. A statue for the Admiral presides the entrance and several graves of Decemberists and other historical figures surround it. Inside the usual decoration, but with intrinsic detail, not too kitchy in my opinion. Worth reading a bit about the place before going there. Get there by bus or taxi as the place is cut off from the rest of the world by an enormous round-about...

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank CeesSier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

small but impressive, paintings on the wall, decoration, are beautiful. must see place in Irkutsk city

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank saruulbatbayar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

This is another example of a beautiful monastery with a beautiful highly decorated interior.Heads need to be covered and there are scarves inside to borrow

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank jennefern2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Our tour group stopped here and, though the faithful are required to cover their heads upon entering, we were exempted. The cathedral interior is a delight to all senses, including one's spirit. We were allowed to purchase and light candles. We were also permitted to take photographs, which was forbidden in the cathedrals at the Kremlin and in the greater Moscow area.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank mkbNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews