We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A very beautiful church

I advise you to visit this Znamensky monastery. All Russian Orthodox traditions are very well... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2021
Andrei S
Tranquillity

A place of peace and tranquillity in town. Very nice on the outside. On the inside lots of gold... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2019
jo-schops
,
Houthalen, Belgium
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
123
28
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
123
28
9
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 160 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2016

A beautiful setting, a peaceful spot and a chance to reunite with a religious we met on the TransSiberian railroad headed to Irkutsk. The iconography in the Church is consistent with many of the churches in the City. The grounds of the monastery are pleasant to walk through,

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

The monastery was like any other old Russian church but was interesting to see. It had a lot of nice paintings and interesting icons. Nice stop over to see a real monastery.

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank howardacnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

Took a marshrutka to the monastery from the center of Irkutsk. Walked a little ways, and approached the monastery. First, a lovely view of the statue of Admiral Kolchak. Plenty of tombs around the monastery. Covered my hair with a scarf and went inside a nearly empty cathedral. The deep reds and gold finish are overwhelming. It's quiet, but filled with the smell of burning candles and incense. Nuns were cleaning the inside of the cathedral and selling souvenirs. One part of the cathedral was roped off. It was under construction. Outside, walk around the cathedral to see the nautically themed tomb of Grigory Shelekhov.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Really beautiful, unfortunately no pictures are allowed as it had one of the nices pictures of Christ teaching the people just as you walk into the chapel on the right and on the ceiling.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank deejayrussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

It can seem hard to get there because it is located by a trafficated roundabout. Strolling along the river from central Irkutsk is very nice and it is possible to cross the streets if you are careful. I'm sure there is another way of getting to it, we just didn't find it. Beautiful monastery and garden.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank LarsSoholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews