We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Comfort, Expensive Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Irkutsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is an extrembly comfortable hotel in a very convenient location in Irkutsk. But apparently the Marriott chain is still trying to squeeze Internet fees out of customers, a practice that is increasingly unacceptable. Not only did they want to charge a steep fee for Intnet, they officially charged a fee PER DEVICE. My partner and I have 5 devices between us, each of which is more convenient for different tasks. So our choice was to either pay an outrageous amount in fees or to suffer senseless inconvenience. We complained, and they fortunately dropped the fees altogether for us. So I'll give the management credit for good customer relations, though the chain should be ashamed for trying to get away with a practice so ridiculous they'll drop it if you complain. In the future I'll just avoid Marriott until they enter the modern world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 597 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Marriott Irkutsk
Rather new hotel. Not so worn. Good service.
Personnel react quickly and do their best to satisfy you.
American Standard of stay in Russian performance represented here.
Food for breakfast is European and American
The best local restaurant is just in 10 minutes by foot - it's "Poznaya on Kanadzavy street". Recommended to ask receptionist for directions.

Main features :
Positive
Convenient location - worse visit places available by foot
Good service
Discount system available in case of contact
Marriott rewards program providing bonuses
Quiet atmosphere, good sound isolation in the building

Negative
No slippers. (it's reported no slippers in whole chain as standard, but please read Marriott Tzakhadzor review)
Internet is for fees (however, with contact they provided free acess)

Summary:
Comfort stay. Good quality.
Hotel is really good for business trips.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Govorkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything you would expect from a Marriott. Good sized room, nice shower, reasonable bar. The best things were the service (particularly as everyone spoke English - not something you will find everywhere in this region) and the mini-market, which though overpriced was useful.

Could do with some local restaurants nearby, as the hotel one, whilst being fine, was lacking in atmosphere.

Would definitely come back to if I was in the region again,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I'm not a very big fan of chain hotels, but my impressions of Irkutsk Marriott - excellent! It's not quite the city center but pretty convenient location. New building (it isn't some old hotel that got Marriott brand), everything inside is new and shiny, friendly helpful staff, big comfortable rooms with really big beds (my bed in width was longer than in length). Delicious hearty breakfast. In other words this place provides everything you need on a business trip. Wired internet in the room is available for the fee but there is free wi-fi in the lobby and my cell phone had no problems catching wi-fi on the second floor.

Room Tip: There is a free gym on the second floor plus my phone catched free wi-fi signal on the same floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirilldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

After long trip on the Siberian train from Mongolia and we had no shower for 4 days.I wish my luck to find a service in this town ( which you are not normally find in Russia!! ) and I was sooo impressed in this place which make our life and everything easy.. Front desk staffs I gave you a million stars for it. Check it sopoo smooth with a big smile from staffs. I was asking the lady ( sorry I can't remember your name ) for a room with bathtub and please set up an extra bed for our child and she gave it to me without any hesitate. Thank you very much. Our room is good size and clean. We had a dinner in the restaurant and have a drink in the bar.. Everyone is so friendly. Service charged that they do charged you is worth every penny you paid because they are all understand what is service all about. I can't false anything because it is a simply perfect!! Highly recommended. !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Anusorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is not in the city center. It's quite far to walk to all the shops and restaurants in the city center.

Check in was a bit slow, but friendly. Rate was very good and included breakfast and Internet.

Room was ample size, clean and new.

TV had no English channels, and only a few Russian ones.

Internet was free and ok speed.

Gym had 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and a bike and some dumbbells. All were precor and brand new. Gym open 24 hours.

Restaurant was good and had friendly service for dinner.

Breakfast was also complete and unlike courtyards in Moscow, they do not charge extra for espresso coffees like Latte or cappuccino.

Check out, unfortunately, was painfully slow. It took the staff at least 10 minutes to serve each customer because they were completely disorganized.

I'll certainly go back because all the other hotels in Irkutsk look like they are old and poorly kept, and this place wasn't bad. They just need some organization at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Typical American style Marriott. Nice room, good breakfast with made to order eggs. Food menu not as extensive as one might hope and the restaurant did not have anyone with even marginal English skills. But we managed well enough. The front desk lady was wonderful, efficient, English proficient and as delightful as we have ever encountered. Free internet only in the lobby with a steep fee in the rooms - something that personally irks me in our internet age (one point deduction)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
0.6 mi away
International Hotel Sayen
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 26 in Irkutsk
314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kupecheskiy Dvor Hotel
Kupecheskiy Dvor Hotel
#8 of 26 in Irkutsk
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Irkutsk
Hotel Irkutsk
#7 of 26 in Irkutsk
251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Zvezda Hotel
Zvezda Hotel
#11 of 26 in Irkutsk
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 26 in Irkutsk
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Irkutsk City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Irkutsk City Center

Address: Chkalova St., 15, Irkutsk 664025, Russia (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Irkutsk)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Irkutsk
Price Range: $102 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Irkutsk City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Irkutsk is the only hotel in the Irkutsk region representing the greatest international hotel chain Marriott International. With beautifully appointed accommodation, outstanding service and warm Siberian welcome, the hotel provides a relaxed home away from home for both business and leisure travelers. You'll be delighted with our picture-perfect hotel location in the city center. We're also only 40 miles away from the UNESCO heritage site Lake Baikal, the largest freshwater lake in the world. Our 208 spacious hotel rooms and suites offer deluxe bedding, well-lit workspaces, mini-refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, air-conditioners, satellite TV and high-speed Internet access. Our guests also can use the hotel fitness area, business center and buy basic necessaries at 24-hour minimarket. Visit on-site restaurant “Mesto Vstrechi to try Baikal delicacies and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in 24-hour Cedar Bar with a cup of fresh coffee or over a glass of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Irkutsk City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing