We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
139
32
8
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
139
32
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tech japanese restaurant top floor great hotel modern hotel rooms are large extra fee lake baikal three nights the air conditioning karl marx wi fi walking distance amenities toilet curtains city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 179 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here 2 times on the same trip - basically, before and after visiting Lake Baikal. Both times the check-in was smooth and quick. The rooms are large and clean - as someone else remarked in the reviews, perhaps a touch of Japan in the rooms - the toilet is a Japanese one, for example.

The mini-bar is well stocked. I could not find the heating controls for the room and since the room was quite warm I simply opened the two windows - perfectly fine climate control!

We ate breakfast in the top floor restaurant - where we also ate our last dinner - they are open until really late. The beef stroganoff was marvellous, a fitting end to our trip. The beef tartar was excellent too - shame that they did not carry any Russian wines - foreigners do like to indulge in local wines I find, and so perhaps management can maybe take this comment on board - should be no big burden to carry some of the better Russian wines and sparkling wines.

All in all, a great stay - we are glad that we did not stay anywhere else - we chose the hotel on the basis of being more expensive than the couple of big brand (albeit middle-tier) hotels in the city - and we were pleased indeed with our choice.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank markrein2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayen_hotel, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at International Hotel Sayen, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Dear markrein2,
Thank you for choosing Sayen 4* hotel for your accommodation in Irkutsk.
We appreciate your time spended for writing such a positive review in details.
We are glad you liked Sayen 4* hotel.
Look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

The hotel is located in a small ally just off the main road and is in easy walking distance to all the sites of the town. Close to shopping, restaurants and bars. The room was super spacious and of a high standard. Comfortable bed and pillows, good amenities and well stocked minibar. Check in and check out was a breezy - almost like they were waiting for us each time. The breakfast was delicious and the restaurant was very nice with a good views over the tops of the buildings - highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelTravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayen_hotel, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at International Hotel Sayen, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Dear MichaelTravel22,
Thank you for choosing Sayen 4* hotel for your accommodation in Irkutsk.
We appreciate that you spent your time to write the review.
We are glad you liked Sayen 4* hotel, location, breakfast.
We will be glad to see you again at Sayen 4* hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

We stayed in December on our train ride from Beijing to Moscow.
Really liked the room - very high tech especially the toilet!
Only criticism was the doona was too small for the bed.
Friendly staff at front desk. Enjoyed our breakfast in the restaurant at the top with great outlook.
Had a pleasant dinner in Japanese restaurant in hotel.
Irkutsk is a beautiful city.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayen_hotel, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at International Hotel Sayen, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Dear Polly255060,
Thank you for choosing Sayen 4* hotel for your accommodation in Irkutsk.
We appreciate that you spent your time to write the review.
We are glad you liked Sayen 4* hotel, our staff, breakfast, our restaurant and Irkutsk city.
We will be glad to see you again at Sayen 4* hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Could not find them at fault. Staff is very attentive. I found they were very much on their toes, trying to please. Professionally trained. Not as experienced as if that hotel was in New York or London, but they are so attentive, careful, gentle, that I prefer that to " excess of comfidence". All my requests were granted very graciously.
Rooms are large, very well decorated. Everything worked very well.
Bathroom spacious, typical of that type of hotel in large cities of the world. . Very good toiletteries.
VIFI was good.
Very helpful porters.
I will stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayen H, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at International Hotel Sayen, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Dear Guest, thank You for your stay at Sayen Hotel and your review! Sayen Team really appreciates your feedback and we are grateful to hear that you had a good stay. We will be happy to welcome you again during your next visit to Irkutsk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

A modern hotel with lots of Japanese influences The rooms are comfortable with great amenities. Helpful and friendly staff. We ate twice in the Japanese restaurant which was very good. We also had dinner in the Strizhy restaurant on the top floor. It is light and airy with good views of the city and the swifts flying around outside after which it is named. A lady was playing the piano in the corner and the food was first class. The atmosphere was lovely. Just a pity we were the only guests there. I can only assume it is the prices which kept people away as it is expensive by Russian standards but the quality is there. We also had breakfast each day in the Strizhy. You order the night before and then get it served cooked fresh. So much nicer than a buffet.

Strizhy

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JKM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayen H, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at International Hotel Sayen, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear Guest, thank You for your staying at Sayen Hotel and so good review! Sayen Team really appreciates your feedback and we are grateful to hear that you like our restaurants so much. We will be happy to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews