We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than Cosmos in Moscow !”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Irkutsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I only stayed one night here after got off the train from Moscow, the Asian girl at the reception was very friendly and speak very good English, the restaurant is very small and the breakfast is made to order which was ok,overall it's quite good hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Standard room: I love this hotel and not just because anything would seem great after 30hours on a slow train from Ulaanabattar Mongolia. It's has very comfortable beds, a great shower, WiFi in the room, a heated towel rack to dry your undies on, great location, rooms perfect temperature, a window that you can open, an OK restaurant and helpful, friendly staff. Really what more could you want. This is heaven.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Reeomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nicely located in the center of the city, visited several times in course of all seasons, staff and services are ok, may be a bit cold in rooms in winter, so use the heater (availiable). Overall very nice stay comparing to the same level hotels in Siberia.

Room Tip: Single rooms have very small beds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here twice, either side of a trip to Olkhon Island on Lake Baikal. The first time we had a superior room, and having spent the previous 24 hours on the trans-Siberian, being fed vodka and some kind of smoked meat by some Siberian Geologists, it felt like a palace.

The superior room is comfy, has a desk and chairs and the bathroom was in a good condition.

The second time we stayed in the standard room and it was tiny compared to it's big brother. There were also some cards for "laydeeeez" in this one.

My advice would be that if you can afford the extra £10, go for a superior room.

Breakfast was good, but it was served in a room below street level and with massive screens playing MTV. Made you feel a bit like being in a music video while eating your eggs. Not entirely unpleasant, if a bit odd.

Room Tip: Get the superior!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen-Carlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We too arrived after 4 days on the train and found this hotel to be both welcoming and of a good standard..the staff were very helpful in reception and in the restaurant.. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. This hotel is in a perfect location for the centre of Irkutsk ,we were able to arrange a great city tour at short notice with a charming guide. It is difficult to find fault.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Rebert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband disagrees with me! He says its better than a 3 * hotel in London
We arrived pretty late after a 4 day and night trip on the TSE from Moscow. Dirty, tired, anything would do to be honest.

Didn't even mind the broken cracked bath in room 203. They moved us to 403 in the morning. The decor is just as dire, tones of burn orange this time. But the shower is excellent and produced very pleasurable noises from the both of us.

My main issue was the coffee for breakfast which was a very weak instant brew. Even though they had a perfectly good coffee machine at the breakfast bar! I was desperate for a strong coffee and told them, ah but it's extra! 120 rubles extra......not acceptable in my book and quite WHY they needed a manager and 4/5 waitresses to wait on 6 tables is beyond me.
So much prefer a buffet style breakfast where you can have a real munch. What we got was some bread, a plate with four pieces of thickly cut ham and slices of tomato, followed by two fried eggs with more tomato and sprinkled with dill. Also there were soggy pancakes served with very average apricot jam. There was no love involved in this breakfast whatsoever.

The staff on Reception were friendly and spoke English which I'm ashamed to say helps.

So overall ok for a couple of nights, but if we'd arrived earlier in the day I'm pretty sure we'd have tried to find somewhere else. We paid 4,300 for the room. Pretty pricey in my book for what we got. (£85)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lizzie4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here one night on our transfer to Mongolia. The rooms were warm but tiny (about one foot from the end of the bed to the wall and about 1.5 feet from the side of the bed to the desk). No where really to put your bag. Shower was hot with good water pressure but the curtains don't do a lot to keep the water inside so you end up soaking the marble floors (careful not to slip). We order room service and while overpriced, it wasn't gouging, food was ok; however, there was no where to eat our meal except on top of the beds. Wifi was superb, fast and consistent. Reception speaks enough English to be helpful, plus they were pleasant. The hotel also provided us with breakfast "lunch boxes" consisting of 2 hard boiled eggs, 4 small slices of deli ham, 2 slices of cucumber, butter, two half slices of bread, 2 cookies and a water; much appreciated during our early morning train ride.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 26 in Irkutsk
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Sayen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irkutsk
Hotel Irkutsk
#7 of 26 in Irkutsk
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#9 of 26 in Irkutsk
163 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#16 of 26 in Irkutsk
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Bogdana Khmelnitskogo St., 1B, Irkutsk 664003, Russia
Location: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Irkutsk
Price Range: $56 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Victoria" is located in the heart of the city of Irkutsk - near the main street Karl Marx. The hotel combines comfort and a great location close to all shopping centers and places of recreation. The hotel has 30 comfortable guest rooms, as well as offering excellent solutions for conferences, banquets, weddings, children's parties, as well as other activities of any subject in the city of Irkutsk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing