We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Irkutsk
Certificate of Excellence
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was a nice stop on our way from Moscow to Beijing by train. It's right in the center. We stayed here for two nights in standard plus room. The room was ok but we did here voices from other rooms and specially the water pipes were a bit noisy.
We came really early in the mornig but we still managed to get a room right away. That was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ir0nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
52
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I would rate the place a solid Two Stars, rather than three. It was comfortable enough, and the location is great for exploring, but the breakfast was pretty average (even if it was made to order) and the room was shabby and tired. The walls were so thin we could hear the guy in the next room talking on the phone.

As a stop on the trans Siberian, which is what most people will use it for, I can see why people are mostly impressed as it has a bathroom and a bigger bed, which beats the train! But after three days on the train from Moscow I wish I had spent just a little more on something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was it's location. It seemed to be right in the middle of Irkutsk, at least the parts that we saw. The women at the front desk are not very helpful...one gave us the wrong bus time table and we ended up getting up an hour too early because of it. Also, the restaurant recommendations weren't great. They don't have a luggage room either, so if you plan on leaving your luggage, you have to do so in the lobby. We had no other choice, and everything ended up being fine, but still a little sketchy. The beds were pretty hard, but still fine to sleep on. Also, the bathroom steam heaters were kept on waaaay too hot. Great for when we needed to dry some hand-done laundry, but other than that, the bathroom was always boiling. One plus is we arrived at like, 7am, and they let us check in early, which was wonderful. Overall, for the area it seemed like a good option, and we would stay again if we couldnt afford something more luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachFrontOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

After 4 days on the train, this place was great for a stopover, beds were a bit springy but clean and tidy, wifi available, breakfast was in basement, continental, but given option from card and served rather than help yourself. 
Location was great and on main street not far from Market or train station. however the hotel inspector would have a field day with floral patterns and lots of furniture. 
On the landing is a iron board and iron already laid out ready! I nearly walked into it when carrying my case, there is a lift.

Negs: no bar really, not sure what the man did by the door? But he was always there watching.
positive, staff were very helpful and location, 11/11

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The location is central, pretty close to everything in Irkutsk. The hotel does look pretty ugly from the outside but once you see the rooms the impression changes. Nicely decorated with old style furniture (be aware that some of the pieces are valuable so there is a big fine for damaging it :) ), clean and well equiped. Certainly good for a comfortable night sleep before continuing your trip with the Transsiberian. We haven't tried the breakfast since our train departed at 5 am, but they did provide a nice breakfast box. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tetra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you come here with your expectation sky-high, you will be disappointed, the hotel is located a block away from Irkutsk main throughfare, the building is ugly, one huge concrete block with windows right next to an empty parking lot and there were stray dogs at the entrance.

On the other hand, if you come here with no expectation at all and having trudged through Siberia, this place is godsend. The lobby has free wireless and free internet service! The receptionists actually speak English and will register your visa for free. The hotel is within very easy walking distance to the nice restaurants, the shopping area, the book shops (that sell English materials) and 2 supermarket/grocery stores to stock up on food before boarding the long train rides either to Mongolia or westwards to Moscow. The Anggara River is less than 20 minutes stroll away.

The rooms are like classic 1970's hotel rooms with red tired looking carpet. The rooms have very good heating (which is very important in those long dark and cold winter days). The telly is connected with most international satellite stations like CNN and BBC.

The hotel staff will help arrange for breakfast boxes if the guests need to catch the early train that leaves Irkutsk at 6am for UB.

All things considered, this is a very decent place by Siberian standards.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Victoria is smack in the centre of Irkutsk so no complaints. The staff are friendly & helpful with reasonable English. My room was a bit old fashioned but comfortable enough.

It's OK for a couple of nights as a stop-over on the TRans-Siberian Express.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Sayen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irkutsk
Hotel Irkutsk
#6 of 25 in Irkutsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#8 of 25 in Irkutsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Angara
Hotel Angara
#11 of 25 in Irkutsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lazurny Bereg Hotel
Lazurny Bereg Hotel
#12 of 25 in Irkutsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Bogdana Khmelnitskogo St., 1B, Irkutsk 664003, Russia
Location: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Irkutsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Victoria" is located in the heart of the city of Irkutsk - near the main street Karl Marx. The hotel combines comfort and a great location close to all shopping centers and places of recreation. The hotel has 30 comfortable guest rooms, as well as offering excellent solutions for conferences, banquets, weddings, children's parties, as well as other activities of any subject in the city of Irkutsk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing