We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in lenin s great city....”
Review of Venets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Venets Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ulyanovsk
Reviewed July 14, 2013

the venets is a vast concrete edifice....late socialist style and the staff to go with it....i asked at check in specifically for a room with a view of the river...only to be told in no uncertain terms..."ALL our rooms have a view of the river".........well ...mine didn t unless a tiny tiny glimpse constitutes a 'view'.....the room was small but clean ...adequate and reasonably well appointed...the tv at least had the bbc as a sole 'western' channel....the oddest thing was the system of locking the door when leaving....i was completely confused so went down to reception....a security(?) man offered to help...came back upstairs with me....on the way he did the "i collect foreign coins" trick...but having had this played before i was wary and only gave some very small change in exchange for some very small soviet coins...10 kopecki if i remember correctly....he explained the door locking system...too complicated to explain here....though later i did find a card in the room giving instructions....the dining room was pleasant enough....breakfast was ok....luckily i saw an illustration displayed on a desk of a plate of bacon, fried egg and tomato....and an invitation to ask for the same....which turned out to be even better than the illustration and was well cooked and quite delicious.......all in all probably the 'best bet' if you are staying in ulyanovsk....

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor with an EXTENSIVE view of the river!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nealjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Venets Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 284 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed on the 10th floor in a very compact room that was essentially a long corridor with a bed in it. The bathroom was so small it was almost impossible to move around in. I was certainly in a one-person room and I do wonder if there were other, larger rooms available. But! On the plus side, the wifi was scorching fast, there were lots of great bathroom goodies to enjoy and the view over the Volga and the Lenin Museum was fabulous.

Don't be put off by the grim, concrete exterior (the photo of the peach-coloured building on the hotel profile is *not* the Hotel Venets, by the way) - this is quite a good hotel. The location is central, close to the museum, the river and the shopping district.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiddleGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed in the Venets twice in 2013. As another reviewer has said, the renovated rooms (certainly floor 9) are *far* better than the unrenovated ones; that having been said everything basically worked in both rooms and they were reasonably clean. There is good high speed wifi throughout the hotel (except, strangely, the bar on the 22nd floor). I found the reception staff efficient and most spoke sufficient English for the job. The breakfast is basic - no cereal and not much fruit, and the coffee is a sachet of Nescafe to which you add hot water (a colleague brought his own coffee filter). The bar on the second floor is friendly and sometimes has live music; but strangely they often seem to run out of most or all of their beers.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room on the 9th or 10th floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have had the misfortune to stay in the Venets a number of times, though for the last year I've been able to avoid it. Apart from dodgy rooms, ignorant reception staff and cost way above value, the cafe for breakfast is ok (if limited) while the Okna cafe on the 2nd floor is a place I'd recommend to go back to for a nice bite to eat or coffee.

There are many other better places to stay in, Venets has to be the last resort with their over complicated check in procedures, strangely altering rules and reluctance to assist with difficulties. Sadly it has deteriorated since my first stay in 2007. Can only get worse under current conditions. Best thing about it is the view from the upper storeys of the majestic Volga and Left Bank.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank atpjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Considering that its in Ulyanovsk, Venets is pretty good. A few tips:

-Make sure you get a renovated room. I believe they're on Floors 9 & 10. The difference is HUGE.
-You own the minibar's contents. Housekeeping will refill it every 3-4 days. Enjoy.
-Housekeeping will leave one bottle of mineral water and one bottle of still water each day. They're probably 16 ounces or so. If you need additional water, bring it with you or head across the street to the streetcar stop. The store in the hotel that sold food and beverages is now closed.
-The food at Okno (restaurant up the stairs from the lobby) is inconsistent. It doesn't seem to have an English menu anymore and some of the basic, consistently edible meals I depended on in the past are gone. There are options within walking distance, though.
-You may want to bring a mask and earplugs just to be safe. Some rooms are lit 24/7 by lights in the parking lot, and the curtains don't do the trick. Streetcars run very early to very late. They don't bother me, but several of my colleagues have complained.

I prefer Venets over Otkabarskaya. Better location, better service, worse rooms, but the ability to find decent food and get around without a taxi make the difference for me.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EverettRainier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Айрат Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulyanovsk hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oktyabrskaya
Hotel Oktyabrskaya
#7 of 11 in Ulyanovsk
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rakurs
Hotel Rakurs
#2 of 11 in Ulyanovsk
97 reviews
6.4 mi away
Art-Ulyanovsk
Art-Ulyanovsk
#5 of 11 in Ulyanovsk
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Regatta
Regatta
#8 of 11 in Ulyanovsk
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Hotel
Best Hotel
#10 of 11 in Ulyanovsk
7 reviews
6.4 mi away
Imperial Club Deluxe
Imperial Club Deluxe
#4 of 11 in Ulyanovsk
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venets Hotel

Address: Spasskaya St., 19/9, Ulyanovsk 432017, Russia
Location: Russia > Volga District > Ulyanovsk Oblast > Ulyanovsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ulyanovsk
Price Range: $23 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venets Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Venets" is a modern and comfortable hotel situated in the central part of Ulyanovsk. Within a few minutes walk you can find important objects of business, entertaining and cultural life of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Venets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing