We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it 5star hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Astrakhan
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Astrakhan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

May be... May be for Astrakhan'. But not for worldwide understanding of star category.
Restaurant and roomservice food is not quality and perfect.
Superb location near Volga river.
Too smokie in lobby, bars and restaurants
3,5 star hotel, IMHO

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DNPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

In general the hotel is more or less ok, especially for one week bsuiness trip. However, the key concerns about my stay in this hotel were:
- poor cleaniness of the room (there were slaters/woodlouses in the room and in a bath-tub), and
- the room was extremely hot and stuffy (air conditioner did not work), despite the heater was off. So I had to regularly open a window in order to let fresh air in (that is good that it was possible to open it). At the same time I could not leave the window open during the whole night, because it was cold outside and quite noisy.
- poor matress and pillows quality. In conjunction with the point above, it did not provide an expected quality of sleeping experience.
- fintess and SPA were closed.

The good thing about this hotel is really good quality and assortment of the buffet breakfast.

In conclusion, I would not recoommend this hotel to anybody and in case I am back to Astrakhan, I will choose some other hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alvex_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice business Hotel located just on the Volga River. The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. The breakfast and Internet wi-fi are included in the room rate with the wi-fi covering all areas of the hotel including lobby, bar and restaurant.
The breakfast is good even though not at the same level if compared to hotels of similar level outside Russia.
With the regards to the location, even though it seems a bit isolated, it is possible to reach the (river) promenade with about 10 minutes of walking and the Cremlin in about 15 min.
Taxis are anyway always available.
The restaurant offers a good selection of local and international food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

best hotel in the city, located directly on the river, not far from the nice river promenade and from the center of the city. foods average, rooms very comfortable and large, food could be better ... but we are not in Italy. strange that you cannot charge your expenses (restaurant in primes) on your room bill, you have to bring with you cash as they require immediate payment. any way, really the only one choice in Astrakhan.

Room Tip: room river banks side, quieter and sunnier in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enqueir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Resort feel on the banks of the river. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Exceeded my expectations

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The question in Astrakhan is if you want to stay in the Al-Pash or in the Park Inn Hotel. The Al-Pash is undoubtedly the Grand Hotel in town, where all the national and international VIPs stay (as visible in their photo gallery). However the Park Inn may be better for the international traveller, who wants a location right at the railway station, design hotel atmosphere and better food. Prices are pretty equal. For great views over the Volga, you will need to go to Al-Pash however (make sure your room faces that way). We had a well furnished suite. Service at the night desk was fantastic and friendly. Gastronomy is ok, fitness center and pool as well - just a bit Russian style. Compared to most other Russian cities, Astrakhan has a good choice of hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel is still pretty new. Very generous public areas with a VIP picture gallery, showcasing all the famous people that have stayed in this hotel. I have looked at others, but basically if you want the best in Astrakhan, than there is no other choice. The rooms are large and well furnished. The employees were friendly. I particularly enjoyed the dinner with a beautiful sunset overlooking the Volga River from their restaurant.
congratulations to a great team there.
Sincerely, Thomas Noll

Room Tip: Book a room with Volga View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank QualitymanRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astrakhan hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Inn Astrakhan
Park Inn Astrakhan
#2 of 18 in Astrakhan
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novomoskovskaya
Novomoskovskaya
#3 of 18 in Astrakhan
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Astrakhan
AZIMUT Hotel Astrakhan
#5 of 18 in Astrakhan
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Astrakhanskaya Hotel
Astrakhanskaya Hotel
#4 of 18 in Astrakhan
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Palace
Victoria Palace
#8 of 18 in Astrakhan
130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Zolotoy Zaton
Hotel Zolotoy Zaton
#9 of 18 in Astrakhan
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Astrakhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Astrakhan

Address: Kuybysheva St., 69, Astrakhan 414056, Russia (Formerly Al Pash Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Southern District > Astrakhan Oblast > Astrakhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Astrakhan
Price Range: $51 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Astrakhan 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Astrakhan is located in the business center of Astrakhan, near the Opera and Ballet Theatre. To the main sightseeing of the city - Astrakhan Kremlin 15 minutes on foot. It offers 168 comfortable guestrooms and suites, restaurant with the River Volga view, a lobby bar, a business center, SPA-center, beauty salon, tickets, multi-functional conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Hotel Astrakhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing