We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to try local cuisine”
Review of Podvorye

Podvorye
Ranked #134 of 10,448 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“A place to try local cuisine”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved the internal wood décor and a very diverse local menu. It was fun to try a lot of items we had not experienced during our stay in St.Petersburg. A little pricier than some places, but made up for it in ambiance

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    125
    28
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This restaurant caters for large groups so I am not sure how enjoyable that would be if just a couple. There is traditional entertainment while eating. Very nice food. Interesting wooden architecture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food convenient for palaces”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Big log cabin restaurant near palaces. Although a tourist stop this did not affect our enjoyment of the restaurant. Good food selection, mainly local dishes. Great flavours. Large quantities. Kebabs were great. A great place for lunch when visiting the two palaces.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Yes it is worth it”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Location: far from downtown St.Petersburg, close to Tsarskoye Tselo and Alekandrovsky palaces

Decor: Building rebuilt last year after a fire. Gorgeous Russian log architecture. Light, airy interior, old ovens and nice folk art.

Food: Go for the degustation menu, a sampler of traditional Russian dishes, all interesting and most of them excellent. Especially good were the stuffed tomatoes with cheese, a wild mushroom ragout, the Borsch, salted vegetables and definitely the cold beef Stroganoff with sour cream and local berries that you crush in it.

Drink: Vodka, white wine and red wine included in the degustation menu

Service and ambiance: Efficient service and traditional live music

Price: Approximately 50$ per person

Worth it? Definitely: just for the pleasure of discovering and sampling so many traditional Russian dishes in one meal with top quality ingredients.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-way gem”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our tour guide took us here, and we were immediately enchanted by the country-house feel of the restaurant. Our first waiter spoke only Russian, so we had to wait for an English-speaking waiter (who, incidentally, spoke excellent English).

We had both the cold and the hot borsch, and both were excellent. The breads served to us were as good as we've eaten, and had about four varieties, including a light and a dark rye, as well as a pumpernickel. The Beef Stroganoff was excellent, but it is served without any type of noodles or carbohydrates, unlike we are used to in the USA.

Service is certainly not rushed. Our guide had asked the waiter if we could be out in "about an hour", but it took nearly 90 minutes. Prices were a little on the high side, but not outrageous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Podvorye also viewed

Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
Pushkin, Pushkinsky District
 

Been to Podvorye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing