We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, though not really vegetarian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Idiot Restaurant

The Idiot Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 10,187 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, though not really vegetarian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The first thing you see in what is reported to be St Petersburg's best veggie restaurant is a picture of a steak! Then looking at the menu you see that at least half of the dishes contain fish; beef and pork are also available. The said there is a great variety and the food was very good; the cold complementary vodka very nice. The atmosphere was absolutely charming and the friendly staff completed a very good evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    265
    77
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Veggie Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

A hard to find but gem with loads of vegetarian options. Cold borscht with egg was delicious. Lots of rooms to sit. Walk down to the basement choose a table, sofa or chair. Overlook the outdated, older style decorations. Caters to English speaking individuals. English menu and staff speaks English. Tasty delight. I had the triplet cabbage. Some meat and lots of fish for the non vegetarian.
You get a free shot of vodka.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We went twice to Cafe Idiot during our stay in St. Petersburg. We were very happy both times.

The first time we sat in a backroom on sofas amd armchairs almost like in an old fashioned living room. Quiet and very comfotable. The food is mostly vegetarian, but there are also good options with fish and meat. We had a variety of typical Russian food - Pelmeni, potatoes, mushrooms. Yummy deserts also!

We came back a few nights later and sat at a normal table in one of the front rooms. Food was great again.

Also worth mentioning is the complimentary shot of vodka you get first thing after you order.

Helpful?
Thank CandKOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good option for vegetarians”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The decor is quirky with old furniture/ dinning ware and it is a nice place to sit for a meal but the vegetarian options are lacking a bit in flavor. I eat mainly vegetarian so I know it can still be tasty but the borscht needed a bit more something since it was missing beef stock and the baked eggplant could use a bit of spice, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendystarkriemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this restaurant on trip advisors vegetarian resturant recommendation. It was brilliant. There was so much choice and all of it was v good. There was a free glass of vodka too. It was a quaint place and not easy to find. Service was v good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kermit122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Idiot Restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to The Idiot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing