We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but the rooms.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Ranked #22 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a perfect location to see the things such as the church of the spilled blood, Nevsky avenue and the numerous museums. The hotel staff are not overly friendly but very efficient and keen to assist. We found Anna on the front desk very helpful and there was a young guy in breakfast area, who worked really hard (sorry couldn't get his name). - he never stopped! The rooms are very small and were a bit uncomfortable. Lighting is poor. As per other reviews we experienced the 2 single beds shoved together with 2 single duvets and the bed(s) themselves were really uncomfortable. In all some really nice staff , good choices at breakfast etc and in a perfect location but the rooms were a let down. We only realised at check out that you could buy upgrades at the front desk for reasonable prices- my suggestion see the rooms first and then buy an upgrade.

Room Tip: See your room first then consider upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Greg,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I appreciate your comprehensive feedback about lighting and bedding. We will soon shift to another type of lighting and renovate the rooms in the 5th floor. We do have upgrade opportunity if upper categories are available. There is a shield at the front desk informing about upgrade opprotunities.

We will be glad to see you again.

With best regards,
Sergey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 854 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Named after Carlo Rossi (1775-1834) the Neo-classical architect who created so many buildings and public spaces that made St Petersburg such an attractive city, the hotel occupies a corner site on the banks of the Fontanka and the famous street which leeds to the Alexanandrinsky Theatre. The Rossi is in walking distance of many of the main attractions of the city. The rooms on the top floors looking out on to the Fontanka which are more expensive than the others have high ceilings and spacious bathrooms. The furnishings are somewhat spartan but the plain floors are easy to clean. The beds are comfortable but bed covers are a bit scruffy. I would be tempted to give the hotel a four star rating but for the lack of attention to details - no box of paper tissues in the bathroom, no place to put soap and shampoos in the shower cubicle, no hook for a coat, no free bottle of water. The restaurant is good but again the lack of attention to detail lets the place down - limited choice of fruit for breakfast, unbearable muzak just when you need a bit of peace and quiet, and some staff who find it difficult to be cheerful. Still, the hotel has a lot going for it and I would recommend it as a good base for exploring the wonders of this extraordinary city.

Room Tip: It is worth paying more for the more expensive rooms on the fourth and fifth floor looking out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your review with a lot of information.

It is great that we have an opportunity to look on the hotel from another side thanks to our guests’ reviews. I appreciate mentioning a lot of details that may be improved on the hotel side and thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers.

With best regards,
Sergey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

One night is hardly sufficient for a comprehensive review, but for what it's worth the Rossi did all that was required. It has style, and friendly helpful staff. It's central enough, with a 15 minute walk getting you to all that has to be seen. Charging for use of the sauna was disappointing, surely steam is free? Make sure you get a room that does not look in over a rather unsightly courtyard, but rather outwards. Car service to and from airport isn't cheap, but it is worry free.

Room Tip: 414 looks over ugly courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Kent,

Thank you for your choice and comments. We value your opinion towards the hotel and feedback regarding the SPA. We are learning how to manage SPA section yet and understanding how we may correct our policy to improve range of services offered, so your information is very important. We have been improving the hotel and service according to guidelines provided in our guests’ reviews, so I hope we successfully do the same with the SPA-section.

We will be glad to welcome you back to Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA.

With best regards,
Sergey Bulzov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not what we were expecting. Separate single duvets on the bed, which were hard. Presidential suite has no shower, just a jacuzzi tub. Nice hotel, but not cozy or worth the 250 US a night. Close to the city, friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated. Presidential Suite has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms: one with jacuzzi and another one with a hydromassage shower.

With best regards,
Sergey Bulzov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in August. The hotel was well placed, the rooms quite small with a lot of wasted space. The first thing you notice is that there is not nearly enough space to unpack your clothes. There is a little cupboard with about four hangers, so when you are on a two week trip, you have to live out of your suitcase. There were little problems such as having to call down for towels two days as there were none in the bathroom. Only one little bottle of shampoo which was not replaced, so again, you have to call the reception. The breakfast is fine but really nothing special, a very small selection of fruit (either oranges or apples), no yoghourts.

However, I must say that the restaurant was very good, we ate there one evening on their terrace which is very pleasant. I must particularly commend Julia and Naestia (not sure about the spelling) who were very efficient and when I fell over just in front of the hotel, they could not have been nicer and more helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubble177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I appreciate your feedback and thank you for providing valuable information. On behalf of the hotel I apologize for delay with towel shift.

I personally thank you for staying in contact with us and not being afraid to remind about yourself instead of accumulating negative attitude. I do believe problems have no chance to appear when people are open for communication.

We thank you for staying with us and will be glad to see you again.

With best regards,
Sergey Bulzov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of our Grand Tour of Russia package by East-West Tours. I was surprised when the van stopped at this hotel because we had been told we would be staying in a Courtyard by Marriott property. We were assured it was a four-star hotel and that it was more conveniently located than the Marriott, both of which turned out to be true. This ia a small, boutique hotel which has been totally updated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was always someone at the front desk who spoke English. The rooms were somewhat small, but adequate. The wi-fi signal was strong in our room. The hotel had laptops available in the lobby and fifth-floor lounge. The included breakfast was quite good. There was an omelet chef who cooked eggs to order daily. The restaurant staff were also friendly and helpful. The hotel was very conveniently located on the Fontanka River just two blocks from Nevsky Prospekt. My sole complaint has to do with housekeeping. I don't think the sheets on our bed were changed during our entire six-night stay. Also, the drinking glasses in the bathroom were not changed. To make things worse, the housekeepers placed my wife's hairbrush in one of the glasses. I was able to get clean glasses by calling the front desk; we hid them from the cleaning staff so we could control what was placed in them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hizonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks a lot for your choice and the hotel review with many positive moments and informative detailed description. I apologize for the housekeeping service failure and hope this did not bother you a lot. I have personally talked to the housekeeping chef and I hope the glass issue will no more be referred to in further hotel reviews. Thank you bringing this up to attention.

Thank you for good marks and pleasant feedback.

With kind regards,
Sergey Bulzov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had great room at the front of the hotel on the top floor with view of river & a small park. It was large & a very inviting with dark hardwood floors & big windows & a big comfortable bed. WiFi was free & accessible in whole hotel including the rooms. Hotel staff was excellent in helping with visas & providing a lot of pre-arrival information. Driver who picked us up at train station & also took us to airport was excellent. We had a very good guide for city tour & to Peterhof & this driver was as informative as she was. Hotel is well -situated for alkin around city center area. Even though we give the hotel an excellent it is not quite a full 5*. Nearly all the front desk people were helpful & accommodating but a few were very brusque & one verged on hostile when asked questions. At one point we were close to an argument with him on something that he was right about but he was so curt & so unwilling to explain the foundation for what he was saying that it was only later that we figured out for ourselves what he really meant & why it was correct. Since everyone else was so professional, I am willing to chalk it up to a person issue with just that guy & not a management problem -- but management may want to have some periodic customer service refreshers to make such it is not a systemic problem. Breakfast had some stresses but again it was party because of the brusque staff. Only a few spoke English but that wasn't really the problem because some who did not speak English were very helpful & made an effort to communicate even though we did not speak their language. Other staff who did speak English appeared to make an effort not to communicate. The buffet was very basic & it was only on the second day & only because we asked that we learned that eggs-omelettes to order were available. Breakfast was included except for espresso which is inexcusably petty. One downside about the room is the bathroom set up. The bathroom was large & well-appointed but it has a glass wall on the side next to the bed. This seems to be trendy since we've seen it in other otherwise luxe properties, including a St. Regis, but it is incredibly tacky & by itself almost enough to knock the whole property down to a very good from excellent.

Room Tip: Deluxe roomis well worth extra cost. Our room at the front, on top floor, was really nice but our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiulianaStudioCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergey B, General Manager at Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Giuliana,

Thank you for your thorough hotel review and detailed description of your stay.
I am pleased to see that you liked the majority of aspects about the hotel, staff, getting around the City and dining, with minor communication issues that were linked to particular persons. I assure you that we have regular service quality staff training. However, the person you referred to was working with us the last few days and I suppose this was the main reason for his lack of involvement. I hope this did not much influence you general impression of your stay in our City.

Thank you for your evaluation and positive references.

We will be glad to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Sergey Bulzov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 362 in St. Petersburg
817 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#28 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,581 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#16 of 362 in St. Petersburg
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,677 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA

Address: Reki Fontanki Emb., 55, St. Petersburg 191023, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $65 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Rossi is situated beside the Fontanka River amidst impressive architecture ensemble of Zodchego Rossi Street, within 5 minute's walk of Nevsky Prospekt, the Alexandrinsky theatre, the Gostinny Dvor shopping mall and the Metro. Every room has its own unique design and fully equipped for comfortable stay: individual air-condition, flat screen TV set, safety box, minibar. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available in every room of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing