We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg
Ranked #73 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in high season 9the end og June) but we hadn't thought it would be so bad. My dad goes to St.petersburg from moscow very often on a business and he used to stay at this hotel. It was ok for him but with every new visit the hotel has been worse and worse. Our stay showed us that it's better to choose another places cause this hotel is just awful now. ( i rarely write such a bad reviews but unfortunately our holiday visit was ruined b this place).
At first my dad called the hotel beforehand (some weeks before arriving), he was said there's no standart rooms available for the dayes we wanted so we booked the luxe room with two rooms and two bathrooms. By the time we arrived to the hotel it was overcrowded. We've been waiting in a lobby for a long time for a check-in (and it was arounf midnight). After check-in we took the keys and went to the 5th floor. First it was very suspicious that the elevator we took didn't even stop on the 5th floor though we presed the button many times. We took another elevator (old ones arounf the corner) and it took us on the 5th floor. After doors opened we saw the dirty floor and smelly corridor, there was garbage, strange tables with opened bottles of champagne and dirty glasses. and the horrible smell of paint everywhere. Yes, that was those unfinished rooms. Unfinished standart rooms. We booked and payed for a a large room but we got the small and horrible room with wires clearly seen on every wall, there wasn't even door on the toilet room. When we returned to to the reception to change the room the girl on reception was very rude. But still there were some normal 9thpough quite old) standart rooms available on different floors. Thpugh lots of people were going down from the 5fh florr and they were told they don't have any other rooms available! So unprofessional.
After we asked to call the administrator the girl on reception agreed to give us another rooms (maybe the problem was that we were russian, maybe foreingers were more lucky, i don't know). So finally we got the standart room for the price of luxe room.
The room itself was ok but nothing special. I didn't care actually about some conditions but it was so-so. Lots of much better options in this, especially for the price we paid (about 160 euro/night). The bathroom was ok, towels changed every day. The tv was very old and small.
Wifi worked good, the only positive moment so far.
The breakfast was not bad too. But still the hotel's restaurants made us some unpleasant surprises later and spoiled our evening. Because hotel is situated far from the center and underground (about 20 min walk) we returned to the hotel late one night and decided to have a dinner in it's restaurant. We asked the waiter what dishes they have available tonight (because we realised it's late and maybe they don't have anything already). He said that the whole menu is available to order. We ordered pasta, fish and a bottle of wine. After waiting for 40 min (!) trying to cathc the waiter and ask him to bring at least wine 9jist a 5 min job, really) we called the manager (very unpleasant woman dressed in a very bad taste and vulgar) she said "I'm sorry bit the waiter is a trainee so you have to wait some more". Then another waiter brought us a bottle of wine (after 45 monutes after we ordered). Then i was waiting another 15 minutes for the most simple pasta. That trainee waiter was very rude and unprofessional too. I can understand that he's a trainee but he didn't even try hard, semmed like he didn't care at all about his job. He tried to take away my plate when I haven't finished yet. Then after 1 hour after ordering the waiter came and said that...they don't have fish in the kitchen! That wasn't even funny anymore. We asked for a complaint book ...and it was full of negative reviews from recent customers.
So overall that's very very bad hotel. When I'm on holiday i try not to notice some negative things but that was too much.
Please avoid this hotel and book another one. it definitely not worth the money and location is very bad, very far from everything. if it's raining you have to walk 20 min from the nearest underground stop.
I guess some reviewers got a normal room for the normal price some time ago but I saw how many people were given bad rooms and horrible service. Don't spoil your trip! Book another place cause this hotel is often overcroesed and they keep accept booking when there's no normal rooms available.

Room Tip: If you're given a room on the fifth floor ask to change your room immediately, it's all unfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanalique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Azimut's location is not very central, the room we had was very much run down and located next to a very busy street. As there was no aircon, we had to open the windows during night time which made it very difficult to find some sleep due to the noise pollution .

The hotel's personel is poorly educated, the cannot even run the hotel's IT system. The reservation has not been found in the system, the prolongation of one night was completely messed up. People are very unfriendly and not at all helpful.

Cannot recommend this option at all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

2 nights at Azimut!

Nice, beautiful view from hotel bar at 18 floor, good dinner at restaurant for extra pay, rooms - clean and could say even fresh.

Closest metro - Балтийского вокзал some 300-400 m away.

+ free wi-fi

If you will reserve, better to make sure - you will have room in main building, otherwise annex building could reach with some other lifts and our room was long, long way from lift. (we walk some 3 minutes from lift through long corridors) if you have reserved such room, then better don`t forget some items in room:)

Breakfast - place was too small for such big hotel, where almost have group reservation.
I really rare complain about something, if you would read other my hotel reviews, but breakfast was really un-tasty - thanks god, there were bread, cheese, sausage and at least pancakes. (scrambled eggs wasn`t eatable and even boiled eggs wasn`t)

But of course Russia have to take as Russia :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindawelsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is not my usual place to stay in St.Peterburg, and will never be again after such experience, but due to the high season and short notice all other places were overbooked.
This hotel got the prepayment from my company for 1 night. The cost for 1 night was nearly 200 Euro. Upon arrival, after staying in a queue to the reception desk for half an hour, I was told that because the hotel is overbooked all I can get for my prepaid booking is the room after refurbishment, but it is UNFINISHED. If you look at the pictures attached you can see where I spend one night. There was no furniture, dirty floor, transparent curtain (this is very 'nice' particularly during 'white nights' period in SpB), no AC controls, and electrical wires on the wall. The exit from the elevator was jammed with building materials, so I was forced to jump. All unassembled furniture were spread around the room. For this I've got a weak excuse from the girl at the reception, a voucher for free dinner in a hotel buffet, where was nearly nothing to eat, and a promise to bring slippers and bathrobe, which never happened.
Staff in general is very inefficient, slow, not experienced and unhelpful. Waiters in the restaurants are rude. The only good thing was breakfast.
So no doubt I will not appear in this place anymore.

Room Tip: Avoid this place if your can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Павел Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I will say only simple things: small and dirty room, bad food, but expensive, low quality in everything. I have booked this hotel because in this period it was impossible to find other location, but for this price, non so low, in Europe is possible to find good quality.
The superior double that I've booked was so small that it was impossible to walk inside in two persons, in the bar and restaurant it's impossible to pay with room charge or credit card, the quality of food is terrible with a price really high. I eat everything, but here it was very difficult.
Last, I was in the room resting and the service persons came in my room without knocking ...
Awful

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc525ix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is one of those huge Soviet hotels (former name Sovyetskaya). The service is average, in Russian hotels rarely anyone will go out of their way to help you with whatever you need at reception. Getting scolded by cleaners in a true Soviet manner is still found here. Rooms are a bit dated and additional beds are ridiculous. But all in all it's a decent choice because of the price. The borscht in the restaurant is the best I've had and there is also a nice bar on the top floor. To get to the downtown you will need to either walk for some 3km or take the metro which is some 10 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If it was not St.Petersburg, but some city in Western Europe I would say this hotel was terrible. But in SPb, especially during the high season, it's very difficult to find the place with at least minimal comfort and reasonable price. Unless you are okey with hostels, Azimut hotel is probably the best choice for budget travellers. When you decide to stay here be ready for unfriendly receptionists, rooms without conditioner, ceilings with the falling plaster, old bathrooms, crowded lobby and noisy neighbours. Keep in mind that the double bed is not very big for two people. Also don't be overwhelmed by the huge crowd at the breakfast; though it reminds McDonalds during the rush hours, you will find a table to sit. The positive sides are delicious breakfast (not too much variety from day to day, but all food is fresh and good, and warm dark bread with seeds is unforgetable), and location. Across the street there is a bus/trolley station, and from there you can get to the downtown and many good places. I love St.Petersburg, this is why this hotel didn't ruin my vacation; for me this was just a place to sleep. If you also don't come to this city to stay inside, Azimut hotel could be a good choice to consider, regardless of all negative sides.
One final thing: when arrive here, don't even hope that they will be so nice and let you early check-in. They will not, even if they have rooms. This is how they understand hospitality. Be ready to hang around somewhere till 2 pm.

Room Tip: The rooms in the high building have good city view (since this is probably one of the highest buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyutaKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Palantin Hotel
#122 of 362 in St. Petersburg
160 reviews
A Hotel Fontanka
#288 of 362 in St. Petersburg
53 reviews
Vladimir
Best Western Plus Centre Hotel
Best Western Plus Centre Hotel
#129 of 362 in St. Petersburg
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#36 of 362 in St. Petersburg
664 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#62 of 362 in St. Petersburg
451 reviews
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Gar...
#38 of 362 in St. Petersburg
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg

Address: Lermontovskiy Ave., 43/1, St. Petersburg 190103, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#36 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#50 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#76 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#84 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $29 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg is situated on the banks of Fontanka River in the historical center and is the tallest hotel in the city, boasting 581 rooms, many with amazing views of St. Petersburg only an easy 5 kilometers from Nevsky Prospect and 13 kilometers to Pulkovo International and Domestic Airports. The location of the hotel allows excellent and easy transport links, including metro, taxis and cars with drivers to the city center, airports and all major attractions. During your stay you can rely on the expertise of our professional 24-hour Concierge, at your service to suggest restaurants, cultural performances and offer experienced advice on how to make the most of your time in St Petersburg. The closest hotel to the world famous Mariinksy Theatre and the remarkable Troitsky Cathedral are among the many attractions that are close by. Business or Leisure the hotel offers everything you need, dedicated and helpful service staff, a variety of room types including the hotel's new SMART rooms, restaurants (including great eat-in or takeaway Pizza), Sky Bar on Level 18 with the breathtaking panoramic floor to ceiling views, extensive meeting and banquet rooms, on site SPA means that you will have a very comfortable stay with us. Friendly multilingual staff is here to assist you with anything you need to make your stay at our hotel and in St Petersburg a comfortable, successful and pleasant time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azimut Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing