We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Matt C
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
Simple
Review of Simple Hostel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 20, 2016
The girls at Simple Hostel were highly courteous and accommodating. The Hostel is small and you need to go through security gate and a tunnel into a courtyard to get to it. This is no problem though. You only need the Hostel to crash in, St. Petersburg is a city to be explored.
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Traveled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
111
26
4
0
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
111
26
4
0
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 147 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

I walked into be greeted by the wonderfully friendly Ksenia who checked me in quickly and gave options of beds when I said I didn't want to take the top bunk. Although, after she made swaps and arrangements I agreed to stay in the booked room to avoid hassles.
She gave me a tour of the property. Which, is tiny with just one L shaped corridor, rooms on one side of the wall and washrooms lining the other side of the wall.
The ambience is friendly and people seem happy to live there. The bathrooms are decorated in gorgeous lighting and has excellent facilities. One of the showers were loose and didn't stick on right but besides that this is a simple no frills, friendly hostel.
They have free tea, drinking water and wifi for everyone. Also free Playstation if you fancy.

The rooms are comfortable but tiny as expected in a typical backpacker hostel. Every bed has their own power socket and more sockets in the living room space and bathrooms too!

Regarding the location, where can I even begin from!! Beyond excellent!! Exactly in front of the Alexander Gardens and 2 mins from the Palace Square which is the main tourist draw to St. Petersburg.

Only other drawback I saw was that the signage to the hostel was so tiny you really have to look for the Romanian flag under which the hostel gates are. There is a gate security password which means only those who have booked ahead of time will know how to get in (as the booking confirmation gives you directions to the hostel and the gate password). If you haven't found it online or booked early you won't be able to firstly, notice the tiny sign on the gate and secondly, be a walk in customer.

At under USD 12 a night for a bed in a room for 2, is an excellent bargain.

Do leave a token of your currency behind for their currency wall 😊
Enjoy your stay!! I would definitely come back to it!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank thanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Stayed at Simple for four nights in one of the double rooms and it was a lovely experience! common area is a bit small but always busy and a great place to hangout - the staff would often bake something, so there was often free cake! The staff was absolutely lovely, very chatty and happy to recommend restaurants, shops, attractions and always there! The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are well-designed.

The hostel is located in a courtyard, so a little hard to find at first but the location is amazing, a three-minute walk to the Hermitage, every other major attraction in walking distance and the metro is just around the corner.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StineBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

A nice simple hostel very well located. Walking distance to the most important sites in the city: Hermitage, St Isaac's, Spiled Blood, etc... very nice staff. I sleep in double room, did not experience dorms, but the higiene and quietness of the dorms seemed excelent.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AntonioFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Super well located - 5min walk from the Hermitage, 10min walk to the taxiboat to Peterhof, 5min walk to Metro station and there are many restaurants super close by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast included but cool and tasty places to stuff your faces. The shoes stay at the entrance. The decoration and space seems like it was just opened recently. All the space is very well cleaned all the time.
The only thing to mention is the hostel space itself - the hostel is located in ground floor and it's basically a corridor that has the doors to the rooms and shared bathrooms...It felt sometimes like there was needed some extra ventilation in all the area. Besides that was a good stay and I totally recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 306dianal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Simple Hostel can only be described as an oasis in a desert (of average hostels throughout Europe).

In an industry where many hostels exist seemingly to ensure you part with your money, Simple Hostel stands out as a friendly, sociable and caring example.

It has an excellent location, is nice and quiet so that you always have enough sleep; is still sociable, however; and has an excellent group of patrons.

Not a good choice if after a part hostel, but an excellent one for all other travellers.

Special thanks to Svetlana, who is the most wonderful and helpful hostel staff member that I have ever had the pleasure to meet, and deserves extra credit for every traveler she makes happy. She is always willing to help out with recommendations for things to do, restaurants, etc, and will ensure you love your stay - she loves her city and is very knowledgable.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Fionn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews