We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ivanyeoh
Strategic located, clean and cozy hostel
Review of Simple Hostel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 14, 2016
This is the second time i am visiting St Petersburg and i must say Simple Hostel made my trip a perfect one! The location is just 5 minutes walk to Hermitage and Neva river. Hence, you don't have to worry if there's any available transport at night to see the opening of the bridge!

The hostel is really clean and cozy. Staffs are really patient, nice and caring. Worth every single penny that you are paying :)
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.2 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.5 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.3 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Для тех, кто желает получить повышенный комфорт по демократичной цене - мы предлагаем к выбору отдельные эконом-номера с общими душевыми и туалетными комнатами. По дополнительному запросу мы можем подготовить для Вас двуспальную кровать или две раздельные койки - всё благодаря кроватям-трансформерам. Свет в номерах регулируется дистанционным пультом, а входная дверь открывается ключом-картой.
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Двухместный номер
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.3 miles from Simple Hostel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.1 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.8 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Room service
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.3 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.5 miles from Simple Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
111
26
4
0
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
111
26
4
0
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 147 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Hostel's biggest advantage is location: it is surrounded by SPb’s most familiar sightseeing, subway is near. Friendly managers; clean room, kitchen and bathroom. Evening fun is provided: table games, PlayStation. I think hostel is suitable for students: new experience, new friends.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank White_Rabbit_Jes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 19, 2016

Have a trip to Saint-Petersburg with friends for a weekend. Were looking for some Hostel to stay and found Simple Hostel. Really good place for simple tourists. Clean, quiet (alcohol prohibited), with Wi-Fi, kitchen and good managers Nataly and Veronika. 3 minutes to metro and all the city is yours. hope to come back again this year.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Дмитрий З
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

Simple hostel is a very smart, warm, friendly and accommodating place. The 3 girls are just pleasant and kind. Very central. You can walk to all the big spots around.

Easy to find but I did go by taxi from the airport (about 25-30mins drive) costing 1000rbls. To get a taxi visit the Taxi desk outside. There are some taxi desks INSIDE the airport and out. I used one outside. Show them the address and they give you a price. After paying they will give you 2 slips. 1 for the driver and a receipt for you with all the drivers details. A smart and safe practice.

Due to flight delays I arrived late. Not a problem as the kind staff (Ksenia) was waiting for me and let me in. We kept contact by email so they were aware. At check-in you pay a small tourist tax (if not included) and a deposit of 250rbls which is returned at the end of your stay when you give back your security entrance fobb (key) locker key and towel.

The communal area is small but nice which you walk in to after taking your shoes off at the entrance area. A fantastic rule practiced in other Hostels in Russia. Free tea and coffee. Buy and label your own milk. Kitchen has all utensils in case you want to cooks something. They offer a breakfast for 100rbls (just over a Euro/£) There is a laptop that you can use responsibly for checking in/out, booking online or other things.

wifi is very good. They have a couple of different connections to use.

3 very clean toilets (2 with showers). You are asked to mop/dry the floor after showering. Showers are powerful. CAREFUL!!......if busy...the hot water can finish. I had to shower in cold water the first morning there and in cold Russia, not the best idea. However, following days there was not a problem.

I can only suggest that the staff put a sign up politely limiting showering to 15 mins (which I have seen in other hostels) and monitoring it. There were people in the shower for up to 30 mins which I sadly had to remind them to hurry as I did not want to chance showering a second day under cold water. So, a simple solution could be to limit showering to 15 mins. more than enough time.

Rooms were CLEAN! Comfortable beds each with electric points. warm. Lockers are in the rooms too. Music is played in communal area/corridor until 23.00 and from then is quiet for all. You do have to look for space to place your bag/case but not a problem just be considerate to one another and put things away. You are sharing remember.

BUDGET EATING - as you approach the road under the arch. turn left, walk and at the corner, down steps there is a canteen style place where you can eat warm food for cheap. meats, veges, deserts. You can get a meal for 300-400rbls (3-4euro) a pepsi costs about the same as the meal.

RUSSIA IS COOL but remember...English can be limited in Russia so be patient and respectful if asking for help or dealing with Russians. They are happy to help!

There are few signs around in English. The Hermitage museum is lovely and HUGE but there is NO English translation describing arts. If you can, pay the extra for the audio it can make a big difference which is what I did when visiting Church of Savior on the Spilled Blood - St. Petersburg and made the world of difference in appreciating it. Some Museum also ask for ID so take your passport and all places scan any bags for security.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goodfood186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 15, 2016

We were on a business trip, stayed at this hotel. The hotel is like, clean, modern. Nearby are all the major attractions that we looked at: Hermitage, St. Isaac's Cathedral, Bronze Horseman. Polite and friendly staff. We make business and also a good rest.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amand J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 5, 2016

So, I was in st. Peterburg for a three time, and I always prefer to stay in 'Simple Hostel'. As for me, it is the good place for the students like me. Quiet and clear place with good administrators, who are often ready to help you. I like this hostel because of great location. There are a lot of monuments near it. And more, it is simple to find a place with fastfood. I give advices for all tourists to stay in 'Simple Hostel' and enjoy the trip.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucian2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews