We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in St. Petersburg - and excellent value”
Review of Nevsky Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Ranked #70 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in St. Petersburg - and excellent value”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Really great hotel, right in the middle of St. Petersburg, close to many of the beautiful places in the city center. We arrived at the airport and had (via the hotel) booked airport pickup - it worked perfectly (costs 1,200 rubles).

We got a big room on the 7th floor with great views over the city. On the same floor there was a computer with internet access - very helpful for us since we did not bring our laptop.

The breakfast was all right and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annarejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. We hope we can welcome you back some day.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    353
    200
    47
    29
See reviews for
129
308
96
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I booked the Nevsky Grand Hotel after reading many positive reviews and finding a great deal through Bookings.com. My daughter (who lives in central Russia) and I stayed 4 nights and found the hotel to be central to everything we wanted to experience in St. Petersburg. It was within walking distance of The Hermitage which is not to be missed, the canals, The Church of the Spilled Blood and many restaurants. We traveled by metro to The Fortress on the other side of the Neva with very little inconvenience. The staff was helpful and spoke English. Breakfast offered something for everyone - a traditional Russian breakfast as well as pastries, curd cakes, etc. Wireless internet included with room and worked well. Small room but adequate - very clean and attractive room and bathroom. Elevator large and worked at all times. Air conditioner/heater built into wall and it worked although it wasn't that hot in April. It was exactly like the pictures I saw on Trip Advisor. I would definitely go back. At $98 a night, it was well worth the facilities and location. No smoking, too! ATM in the hotel so very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Nevsky Grand Hotel.It is very kind of you to take the time to give us your feedback. Your opinion is always very aluable to us.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

A fine place to stay for tourists! Located at the heart of St. Petersburg, on a walking distance from the major attractions. The rooms are simple but ok. Free internet and hot and cold drinking water supply. On our floor (6) was a fridge available for guest use. The rooms are a bit noisy on the street side. Avoid the 7th floor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast capacity does not match with the size of the hotel, food is ok but not super. Awful music during breakfast btw! The hotel provides efficient transfer service from and to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabl0niere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of our hotel, your feedback is very important to us. We were delighted to learn that you appreciated the quality of the service we provide and friendliness of our staff. We hope you had a good time in St.Petersburg and might wish to come back in the near future, then hopefully you will consider staying at one of our hotels and we shall have a pleasure to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed 4 nights in Nevsky Grand.
Hotel interioir seems to be renovated within 5 years or so, built in the ultra slow elevator, which didn't bother us at all, even we stayed on 5th floor, it was a lot easier to take the stairs.

Guestrooms are great. Small, but serve the purpose. Only negative thing I can come up with are water pressure in shower and thin walls. Only annoying thing were thin walls. You literally can hear anything spoken in surrounding rooms, but when going to sleep, arm yourself with earplugs and problem is solved :)

Russians have this weird thing with all staircases being smoking areas, so there's hotel guests roaming there smoking. You can smell the cigarette smoke in your room, if your room is located near staircase.

Breakfast could be better, but it's not a horrible as it is now. Maybe just too... hmm... industrial standard...

Staff is really friendly and helpful and willing to assist you almost with anything :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuhaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Dear Guest,
First of all may I take this opportunity and thank you for choosing one of our hotels - Nevsky Grand - as a place of stay in St.Petersburg. We are delighted to learn that your overall impression of our hotel was positive and that you appreciated the quality of service provided as well as our friendly and helpful staff. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by water pressure which could be better sometimes. We are working at it at present and hope the issue will be settled next time you come. We shall be looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My husband and I booked 4 nights here with another couple on our first trip to Russia - based on the positive feedback from Tripadvisor. Great choice! The location could indeed not have been better! We did take busses a few times in St Petersburgh when we went out to Smolny or a few other places, but mostly we walked, from early morning till late at night, wearing the soles off our shoes! Being so close to the Hermitage, Nevsky Prospect, the glorious Church of the Spilled Blood and a wide array of good restaurants made it very easy, though. Our friends had a room on the second floor, and we had one on the 7th, right under the the eaves, which meant the ceiling was slanty on one side. It didn't bother us in the least, though. If you're used to big American hotel rooms, this place is not for you, but if like us you value location and spend most of your time outside the hotel sightseeing anyway, then I would DEFINITELY recommend the Nevski Grand! Sure the room was very small and the bathroom too, but it was all very clean and the wifi was brilliant for our iPhones! The breakfast room was indeed a bit gloomy, but again, we went to put something in our stomachs and there was plenty! No American breakfast, but hey, this is Russia! When is St Pete's do as the Russians! The tea and toast, plenty of fruit, juice etc were all more than enough. As for the friendliness of the staff - it too was GREAT! We found some Russians to be dour and joyless and not very communicative (I said 'some', not 'all'!) but at the Nevski the girls at reception were all smiles and very helpful and friendly. They always gave us advice on which busses to take etc, mailed our postcards etc. As for the rest, we're seasoned travellers and with a good guidebook plus talking with our hands and feet when we were confronted with someone who spoke only Russian, we had absolutely NO problems at all! Last of all, we paid 73 Swiss francs a night for bed and breakfast per couple, which in my experience is VERY cheap!!! Granted the first night I didn't sleep so well as I'm not used to all the traffic of a big city, but from night 2 on, I used earplugs, closed the window and put on the fan to drown out any of the noisy motorcyclists that revved their engines at 3 in the morning (worked great for my husband's snoring too:), and I slept like a babe! If you want a fancy hotel with all the amenities then go elsewhere but be prepared to pay accordingly. I'd rather spend my money on visiting museums and other sights and good restaurants:):)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, May 11, 2010
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time in St.Petersburg. We hope that being seasoned travellers you will decide to repeat your trip to St.Petersburg some time in the near future, as it is always nice to visit the place one more time to really feel and understand it. And if you do decide to come back, we sincerely hope to have an honour of welcoming you in one of the Nevsky Hotels again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I will start by saying we paid about US$90 a night for this place. It was in the center of the city (perfect location). The staff were helpful and kind, and the room was clean. Fine for a cheaper hotel. However, since it was an inexpensive room, it was small, and since we had an attic room, my husband hit his head on the slanted ceiling more than once. Not a problem for short little me ;-) The bathroom and I had issues though. The shower pressure was gravity powered, and people may find it a bit claustrophobic. It was clean, and sufficient though, so I can't really complain. Breakfast was included, though at busy times, difficult to find a table, which the reception staff warned us about. It was a decent buffet, warm dishes, sandwich makings and fruit, a good start to the day. I would stay here again, though definitely pay a bit more for one of the larger rooms. All in all it was nice.
I would like to mention that St. Petersburg stays bright in the summer, and our room was not well equipped for that. We were there in early April, and room 720 definitely has a lot of light coming in in the morning, even on a rainy day, with both shades pulled.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawannalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for a feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy to learn that your overall impression of the Nevsky Grand Hotel is positive.
As for protection of the attic rooms from bright light, we are glad to advise you that special shades blacking-out bright light will be installed in attic rooms shortly.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It will be our pleasure to have you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Pros:
- the location is great
- free wifi
- friendly staff
- great value
- free breakfast

Cons:
- wifi would stop working here and there
- breakfast is just ok
- the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors
- the room was small

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#110 of 344 in St. Petersburg
299 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#15 of 344 in St. Petersburg
425 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#21 of 344 in St. Petersburg
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#26 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,117 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#12 of 344 in St. Petersburg
526 reviews
Hotel Vera
#35 of 344 in St. Petersburg
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevsky Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Hotel Grand

Property: Nevsky Hotel Grand
Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business-class hotel is just a minute's walk from Nevsky Prospect and within minutes of Palace Square, the Hermitage, the Field of Mars and the inspiring Church of the Resurrection on Griboedov Canal. The Nevsky Hotel Grand occupies seven storeys and has a lift that accommodates thirteen. The regular rooms offer a choice of double bed or twin beds. Every room has an individual bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. Also standard is air conditioning, WiFi Internet, phone, television, hair-dryer and room safe. The hotel's five spacious suites come with a queen-size bed, sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel restaurant, called Cafe Grand, is open from 7 o'clock in the morning till 11 o'clock at night. Meals are professionally prepared and served. We encourage guests to make use of the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 200 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's laundry and dry cleaning service, a full selection of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for plane flights or railway travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nevsky Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Grand St Petersburg
Hotel Nevsky Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing