We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian place, but where are they getting the cheese?”
Review of Probka

Probka
Ranked #149 of 12,115 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Petrogradsky
Description: A new page in the history of Aram Mnatsakanov's old Probka. Now on the edge of the Petrograd Side. Walk out the door and you can see St. Isaac's. 800 square meters: one half of the space is occupied by the restaurant with its open kitchen, the other by a simpler cafe.And then there's the Apartment, for special occasions. The rest is the same. Wine, pastas, and so on. Many patrons know the menu by heart. Come and see.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Came across this place when transiting between the Menshikov Palace and the State Museum of Political History at lunchtime, and my boyfriend was reverting to European food.

All was excellent, very tasty, with good service, if at the high end. You're not allowed to bring your bodyguard though (see photo).

With Russian sanctions on European food imports such as cheese, though, where is the Parmigiano Reggiano coming from?

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

Probka restaurant is located right next to the Peter and Paul fort.
It has a a large open kitchen which allows you to see how the food is being prepared.

In terms of food, the quality was really high, even from an Italian point of view. Moreover the portions were extremely generous, making it the whole experience even more enjoyable.

My friend and I tried several dishes on the menu and I would happily recommend the following:

Fagottini with olives pate and goat cheese (starter)
Vitello tonnato (starter)
Kamchatka crab salad (main)
Squid ink tagliolini with Ikura (main)

Overall it was a good experience, however if I had to mention anything “bad” I would say the decor. After being to Jerome which is owned by the same group, I had higher expectations.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank KingVazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

Without exaggeration it is my favorite restaurant in Saint Petersburg. Open kitchen looks amazing, you see how your dish is cooked right in front of you. And their truffle pizza... still dream of it :)

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 35tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Very nice restaurant, modern and luxurious Italian restaurant.
Very good food, great ambiance. Romantic

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank MarianaV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

I have been living 5 years in St Pete and visited all the best rated restaurants. Probka is the best or one of the best. Nice feeling, good service and what is most important, exellent taste in all food. Problem in St Pete is that "fine" restaurants
like Palkin, Percorso, Starya Tomashnaya or Taleon have very pompous style, but taste of food is very modest. Tast of food in Palkin is in average level, others like Percorso and Taleon are belov average Russian level, even though they are expensive. Anyway many people like them, probaply because of the pompous soviet style.
But for good food Probka, Blok, Vsjo v svorm meste and Mansarda are the ones to visit.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank AriA321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Probka F, Управляющий at Probka, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Thank you! Your high opinion of our efforts is a true reward and a good push for our team. We look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Probka also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Probka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing