We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely last meal in St Pete”
Review of Probka

Probka
Ranked #148 of 12,121 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Petrogradsky
Description: A new page in the history of Aram Mnatsakanov's old Probka. Now on the edge of the Petrograd Side. Walk out the door and you can see St. Isaac's. 800 square meters: one half of the space is occupied by the restaurant with its open kitchen, the other by a simpler cafe.And then there's the Apartment, for special occasions. The rest is the same. Wine, pastas, and so on. Many patrons know the menu by heart. Come and see.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

This was around the corner from our hotel and our local friends told us to eat here before we left. We were glad we did. The wine list was comprehensive and we typically buy bottles over glasses as it usually is less expensive if you want more than one glass over the course of the evening. The Italian menu (mostly) with fresh ingredients was prepared with care and tasted wonderful. The staff were friendly and did not hover - which we like. Price point is what we would pay in the US for a nice restaurant given then same amount of food and beverage. Given what you order it can be mid-range or fine dining in terms of cost.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2016

Very neat open kitchen, young very knowledgeable wait staff, excellent wine list priced low relative to all others, great food in all courses. Excellent service. The pasta dishes are excellent as are the starters and desserts. The best service we have seen in st Petersburg. The staff is young but in all ways more professional than most restaurants. book for weekend dinners for sure. also lunches. great salads.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

The pros:
Absolutely great food, you can taste they use high quality products, have very skilled chefs, and a lovely menu.
The vitello was succulent and oh so fresh. The rabbit unfortunately had a bone in there, when showing this to the waiter they immediately took it off the bill which we weren't after, but found (especially in Russia) impressive! Their tiramisu was also to die for. Finally the scroppino was really great!

The cons:

Quite pricey, especially beverages were overpriced. Wines by the glass are very little and of poor quality. That was a big let down with their extensive wine card. It feels a bit like one of those Moscovite places where the elite likes to see and be seen. However this could have been a coincidence and a personal opinion!

In short: great food, pricey business!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank adam_89_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016

We found this restaurant thanks TripAdvisor! It was really good choice. After visiting Peter and Paul Fortress we were hungry and the Probka is around 500 meters from the the Fortress. We took stuffed Braseola with goat cheese and pasta, but meal was simply fantastic! take dessert too!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brano001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

Great meal, great quality and tastefull food
Nice service with good recommendations for your choice of food
The space is nice and the bill is not expensive ;) what else you can want ???

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank nunoministro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Probka also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Probka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing