We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Value, The Best Staff, The Best Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota
Ranked #59 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best Value, The Best Staff, The Best Location!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I been going to Saint Petersburg for 22 years and my travel experiences to the city has been greatly enhanced by the Holiday Inn at 97a Moskovskye Pr. I have stayed at the hotel twice - once in March 2011 and again in March 2013. I will most definitely be staying again at this lovely functional, impeccably clean, modern hotel.

The location of the hotel is good. Not in the center of the city but a metro stop is very close and the center of the city is only two metro stops away. The hotel is on a major boulevard, so catching a taxi is never an issue either.

The hotel is very close not only to the metro, but also a very nice and convenient grocery store. One block away, there is also a bank, florist, food kiosks, and a few clothing stores.

The hotel is also close to a historic church and cemetery that is worth a visit.

The value of this hotel cannot be matched. Now, don't get me wrong, the historic hotels in the center of the city are gorgeous. All the city's buildings are gorgeous; however, the prices of those hotels are steep. In order to be able to visit the city every March, I'll stay here.

The staff at this hotel have always been the best! Really...and I stay at hotels all around the world. Just lovely here and they will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable.

The front desk is functional, efficient, and they speak multiple languages fluently.

The security and transportation staff are courteous, helpful, and timely.

The concierge staff is amazing! They have bent over backwards to help me plan day trips or night events. They are delightful and so helpful.

The housecleaning staff is impeccable and approachable.

The management - never had to meet them but they sure do a good job at hiring!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simbelina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    521
    205
    52
    26
See reviews for
135
218
82
558
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. This would not be my normal hotel choice (I prefer quieter places with more character) but this seemed the best option among the ones the travel agent offered us.

The hotel lobby was always crowded, and there were always buses lined up outside disgorging tourists. You would think this would impact service - but it didn't seem to, surprisingly.

We got an upgrade to a suite because the room we'd booked wasn't ready. The suite was spacious and had a fabulous view of the square nearby. The room was clean and well maintained, the housekeeping staff friendly.

The concierge desk helped us find our way around the city (we used the metro station to get around most of the time), booked seats for us at the ballet, told us about the supermarket next door (convenient), booked us a cab when we needed one, so even though it was almost never the same person we spoke to, they managed to handle all our requests.

The breakfast spread was pretty lavish. The restaurant was always busy, but we had no trouble finding a table in a quiet corner.

I would always prefer something with more character, and a little quieter, but that said, this is a very nice modern hotel with good service that hasn't been impacted by the crowds it serves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour package. It is not a hotel I would ever choose on my own.

As far as the room, it was fine. The bed was comfortable, sheets were clean, good shower, good air conditioning. Drapes not blackout enough during summer when the sun sets at 11:00 pm so bring an eyeshade if you need complete darkness.

The bad. So many tour groups! There are 4 elevators but they are on the small side. Of course everyone thinks they can squeeze in one more person. Even worse, the hallways are not air conditioned, & yes they are crazy long. So if your room is almost at the end of the hallway,
it's going to be a hot march.

The breakfast buffet is literally insane. I walked in, took a look around & left. When the zombie apocalypse takes place I'll fight for food but until then I'll find somewhere else to eat! If you leave the hotel & turn to the right near the Metro there are little kiosks with snacks. One of them has baked goods that were tasty.

There is a grocery store right next to the hotel. They have delicious roasted chicken, lots of Russian-type salads to choose from, meat pies, etc. Very inexpensive too.

The automatic revolving door into the hotel is the worlds slowest. They don't want you to push it so if you don't want to grow old use waiting either of the doors on the side of the revolving door.

24 hours of Internet access in the room is about $13. Would much rather pay than try to find a seat in the lobby just because the wifi is free.

Oh, if you're a part of a tour & want Internet access in your room or even to have the fridge unlocked give your credit card info to the front desk right away so you don't get all the way to your room to have to turn around again & go back downstairs.

Laundry service was very good & inexpensive too. If given to housekeeping by 10:00 am it's back same day by 8:00 pm.

If you know the bad about this hotel you'll be somewhat prepared but the main drawbacks are the elevators & breakfast. If you can avoid both this might be an ok hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thecleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_bird_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Thecleave,

thank you for so detailed review.
It's very pleasant that you've marked so many positive points in our services.
Unfortunately you came to breakfast at the pick period which lasts no more then one hour a day in a high season. Restaurant can be crowded in this short period like in any hotel.
We will be happy to see you again in our hotel complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location was convenient (very close to a metro station, on a major thoroughfare headed straight into the heart of the city), the staff spoke English, and the breakfast buffet was good. The room was clean, and the exercise club was reasonable as well. I was surprised to find, however, that water was furnished in my room only on the first night. After that, I had to go to the bar and purchase bottles of water myself. The crush of humanity in the breakfast buffet was almost overwhelming. A reasonable business hotel but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: A room away from the front of the hotel would be better, as hooligans love to drag race up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jean K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is pleasing to know that our location was convenient for you and the breakfast served was up to standards. Please be assured that your additional comments regarding the room service has been noted and will be forwarded to management to consider for enhancements needed.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

While this hotel is not in heart of St. Petersburg it is still in a good location. there is a metro station just one block away and 4 stops in you are in the heart of downtown St. Petersburg. This is a huge modern hotel, appears to get a lot of tour groups and business travelers. The lobby can be packed at times and there are a lot of conference rooms. Restaurants are always busy and offer a wide variety of Russian and American food. Rooms are very large but the bathroom was just adequate.

Rooms are clean but a little plain. Flat screen TV is a nice feature. My problem was that I was on the 14th floor and there was very little water pressure. Only on the last morning of my 4 night stay did I have anything resembling decent pressure and it was only because I got up early at 5:30. Private safe, iron and coffee maker in each room. Beds are far too soft.

Just outside of the hotel is a market, a good number of the staff speak English and there was a young kid near the vodka section was a lot of help. There are also a lot of restaurants around, even a Carl's Junior 2 blocks away. A number of people in my group went to the Pizza restaurant nearby and said it was quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCrazyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have reserved this hotel for my grandmother and was very disappointed that there are no free parking (even for visitors) available at the hotel. I expected much better service from a 4-star hotel. The breakfast is not included in the price and costs around 15 euros. All in all, the price/location/quality of service is very poor.

Room Tip: Beware of massive drafts on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

sitting in the lobby of the 2nd floor, only place where it is allowed to smoke, ready to leave and happy to leave. modern hotel but you don't feel comfortable. big and with a lot of wasted areas... i was upgraded to a junior suite with balcony but had the same feeling: uncomfortable. maybe because you cannot open the window and you can't go out to your terrace (for security reason) so you can't breath a fresh air except what you get from aircondition,, windows are full of dust from outside so you can't see clearly... i came with a tourist group and stayed 3 nights, i did not choose to be here, and hope i won't have to return with another group here... and if i have the opportunity to book a hotel myself, for sure it won't be here or any hotel where i can't open the window.

Room Tip: i was in 1404
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiahayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear katiahayek,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We are sorry the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg
#24 of 349 in St. Petersburg
332 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 349 in St. Petersburg
880 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#52 of 349 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#64 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,011 reviews
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg Airp...
#21 of 349 in St. Petersburg
378 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#72 of 349 in St. Petersburg
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota

Property: Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota
Address: Moskovskiy Ave., 97A, St. Petersburg 196084, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#42 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota in Russia is a brand new hotel and conference centre perfectly situated in the central part of the city, on Moskovsky Prospect connecting the city centre with Pulkovo airport. With the Moskovskye Vorota metro station across the road, the hotel is only 4 stops from all major attractions: the Hermitage, St Isaac s Cathedral, Church on the Spilled Blood, the Russian Museum, the Peter & Paul Fortress and the Mariinsky theatre. The hotel is approx. 20 min. by taxi from the Pulkovo Airport and also 20 min. by metro from the Moskovsky Railway Station. Downtown businesses are minutes by car while others are just within a short drive! The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota hotel has 557 spacious Standard, Executive, Deluxe rooms and Suites. All rooms come with great beds, an in-room safe and high-speed internet access. The Congress Hall holds capacity for up to 1000 people. It includes 13 meeting rooms and a special banquet Restaurant; ideal for any type of event! On-site restaurants include: Steak House Korova, Chernikov Fusion and the Rodchenko Bar in the lobby. The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota hotel offers Business Centre services and an on-site Health & Leisure. In case you come by car, the hotel provides a large parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing