We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere between terrible and poor”
Review of Asteria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asteria Hotel
Ranked #108 of 351 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Somewhere between terrible and poor”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in the Asteria for 4 nights as most other hotels in closer proximity to Nevsky were booked out due to big conference in town.
I can't say much about the hotel that is positive at all. The hotel is 1km from Nevsky Prospekt, and there isn't much on the south side of the Prospekt at all.
The rooms are terribly out dated with the worst mattress you could imagine, it honestly would not have been changed in 20 years. The pillows were so bad I had to use my inflatable neck support I use on planes as my main pillow with no spares.
The "nonsmoking" floor stunk of smoke, and so did I after having to sit in the hall way to pick up any signal of the free wifi!! In the end I gave up on that as it was slow and a waste of time.
Breakfast in the dining area was no better, they regularly ran out of supplies, no toaster, ran out of glasses for water (had to drink out of a cereal bowl!!'). People smoking at the breakfast table wasn't great either.

The staff were friendly and the hotel is incredibly over staffed, with 4 staff regularly behind the counter not doing much.

Fr the price we paid (and I think they inflated their prices because of the conference in town), we expected much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    80
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
30
73
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My grandson and I shared a room and the pricing was in character with the accommodations.
The food varieties were commendable It was a very hot sticky time of year and we opened the windows for a breeze (no air conditioning at our level). A big no-no as the mosquitos invaded during the night. We didn't know about the plug in mosquito repellant until later. Our windows faced the courtyard. This was July/August 2010.
The registration was orderly and friendly with English speaking hosts. We had friends staying at the youth Hostel at the University which made it convenient to meet..
We would use the Astria again in St. Petersburg.
One mistake, our cab driver dropped us at the Astoria and by the time we had noted the problem we had to hire another cab and reload baggage for our true destination.

Room Tip: Use an air conditioned room for hot weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burmaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very Good service - The reception staff are always friendly and accommodating, they all converse in English very well and they are always willing to assist with additional information and requests. The hotel is clean and accommodating and the rooms are comfortable and modern, they are bright and airy, with great views over the Fontanka River. (Specify that you want a room overlooking the River as the other side of the passage overlooks the courtyard which is not a great view and can do with a bit of cleaning up and upgrading)The Hotel is in a great Location and most amenities are within easy walking distance from the hotel, a great place to be based to explore St Petersburg. Breakfast is good however the selection and manner in which eggs are served needs rethinking.

The Bar and Restaurant staff could take a lesson from Reception - They are not as friendly (this is not all the restaurant and bar staff but the majority of them) as the other staff in the hotel spek very broken english and they tend to always be hidden behind the Bar where they are out of sight of general view. They sit on Crates on the floor and very seldom appear above the bar - when you need something you have to go looking for them behind the bar. Breakfast was ok but can be improved however is substantial. The Menu in the restaurant could use more variation and the food does(Falls devistatingly short) not taste as good as it sounds on the menu descriptions. However there are some Great Restaurant nearby that deserve a mention a Traditional Russian Restaurant serving Russian Cuisine, A traditional German Restaurant Jager Haus Kneipe and Ollies Pizza and Pasta about 1km walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Fontanka River - The rooms overlooking the Courtyard at the back have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Asteria in St. Petersburg. The best feature about this hotel is the location on the Fontanka Embankment. It is only about a 30 minute walk to the Winter Palace. Nevesky Prospect is only about 10 minutes from the hotel. The desk clerks all speak English but most of the restaurant staff spoke limited English. Our room was small and inconveniently laid out. We had twin beds and each bed covered one of the 3 electrical outlets in the room. You could not sit at the desk and open the closet and there was no electrical outlet at the desk. There was also no in-room tea/coffee service. The room was clean and there was daily maid service but the shower in the bathroom was tiny and very difficult to use for a tall person like me. There was only 1 tiny trash can for the room also. They serve a nice buffet breakfast in the restaurant each morning but 2 of the 5 nights we were there the restaurant was closed for private parties. This was very inconvenient as you had to leave the hotel for dinner after a long day of sightseeing. We did find an excellent French restaurant on the corner near the hotel where we ate 3 times. The restaurant is called кухня which means kitchen in Russian. Excellent food and excellent service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the restaurant on the second floor. They often close the restaurant for private p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

In September 2007, I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was a pleasant experience. My room was compact and could have been largerr but still comfortable and the atmosphere of the hotel was pleasantly Russian. I am a lover of the Russia of today and the past and also its traditional culture and I liked the atmosphere of the hotel fronting onto the canal and the Fontanka Embankment.
The staff were polite and intelligent and the dining room was good and I also ate at a restaurant on the other side of the canal across a small bridge and visited supermarkets nearby as well. All six Russian cities I have visited in recent years have had very good supermarkets..
I took a pre booked car tour of the city and while they took me to many places like Peter and Paul Fortress and Mariinsky Theatre I have only seen a tiny part of Stp. The transfers (one after midnight ) to and from the airports were good

Room Tip: My room had a window onto the canal which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doninnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Asteria Hotel for 5 nights during August 2011 and we paid 97 Euros per night for a twin room- breakfast included (the reservation was made through SAINT-PETERSBURG.COM). Having read the previous reviews I was expecting a simple, modest, good location hotel. And that’s what we almost found. The location was quite good: 10-15 minutes walk from Nevsky Prospekt (Anichkov most) and 20-25 minutes from the Hermitage. The nearest metro station (Sennaya) was at less than 10 minutes walk. The neighborhood and the hotel were very quiet. The room was small and so was the bathroom (only shower) but it was clean and we got fresh towels every day. They could renew the towels though… The room was on the patio, which didn’t allow any view to the canal, but the hotel can’t do anything about that. The guests were a mixture of locals and foreigners, but the locals surely predominated. Two minuses: 1) the breakfast: It was quite abundant but not tasty and not always fresh… And if you would go after 9 o’ clock the chances were to wait until you managed to find a seat and to find the buffet half empty. The staff is willing but normally you are the one who should mention the absence of food or even of the forks, by using the body language of course- and the refill is too slow. 2) People at the reception spoke very little English, and that’s a problem when you already are in a city where very few speak English. We had a problem of communication… For two days we were asking what buses we should catch and the answer was “No, no buses” “very seldom”… Well, we found numerous bus stops within 5 minutes walk both on Sadovaya & Gobokhovay str (It’s quite an experience to use the bus and the trolley in Pete). I don’t know if it’s a habit in Pete, but they asked us to pay for the registration of our visa (250 r per person) while in Moscow it was free of charge. I wouldn’t have a problem staying again at this Hotel, but next time, I would still do some on line research before ending up at Asteria.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myrtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My friends and I were staying in this hotel during May days. The location of this hotel is very good - close the historic points, but in the quite district.
Rooms are very small but equipped good. Rooms on the 6th floor are for smoking, 5th floor no smoking. No bar and safe in the room. No soap and shampoo in the bathroom. All other features are OK: TV and AC are working, cleaning and towel changes every day.
Breakfast is near to poor. The quantity of eating people was extended restaurant capacity. We were always waiting for caps, bread, and hot water. For the breakfast restaurant offers: eggs, omelet, pancakes, porridge, cakes, cheese, meat, butter, jam.
Prices in the hotel’s bar are very high, but atmosphere is very good: cozy and friendly.

I can recommend this hotel for active travelers not for relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Userustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTERIA06, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Asteria Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Dear Ustus
We much appreciate your choice and good response of our hotel.
There are new Junior Suites with AC, Jacuzzi, TV plasma screen and other stuff.
Nowadays our chief surprises guests with several salads, main courses, home made sweets for breakfast.
We would glad to welcome you in our hotel again

Sincerely yours
Evgenia Krylova
The sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#116 of 351 in St. Petersburg
126 reviews
Admiralteisky
Hotel Moyka 5
Hotel Moyka 5
#115 of 351 in St. Petersburg
200 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#40 of 351 in St. Petersburg
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palantin Hotel
#86 of 351 in St. Petersburg
152 reviews
Nevsky Forum Hotel
#17 of 351 in St. Petersburg
738 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#68 of 351 in St. Petersburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteria Hotel

Property: Asteria Hotel
Address: Reki Fontanki Emb., 71, St. Petersburg 191023, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asteria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Asteria is situated at the downtown of Saint-Petersburg,just 10 minutes walk from the main sightseeing, historical places and monuments.There are 6 floors, 72 rooms of different categories, restaurant and business-centre at the hotel.It is very suitable for the accommodation business travelers, tourists and families due to its location, comfort and high quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asteria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asteria Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing