We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Former Communal Apartments building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachmaninov Art-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Ranked #89 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Former Communal Apartments building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great Cinderella story, what a renovation! In 2003-2004 hen I was a student I used to rent a room in this building. Each floor was a big communal apartment with one kitchen for the whole floor of 11 rooms. Each room had either a single tenant or even a family of 4. There was no shower, nor hot water.
Today it is a very cute and cosy hotel.
Definitely recommend. The location is spectacular!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kest V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    114
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
44
134
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel, its decorated in period style and the staff could not have been more helpful. Firt impression is weird as its accessed up an ancient staircase for 2 flights which have not been restored. Once inside the hotel its clean, fresh, well looked after and the view and location are amazing. Its 2 minutes from Nevisky Prospekt, 10 mins from the church of spilled blood.

there are restaurants and bars all around, its amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHendras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukewarmCatastrophe
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Second time in Russia, first time in St Petersburg and we had less than 48 hours to see everything we wanted to see so location was everything for us.

From the airport, we took the local city bus number 39 which cost just 25 rubles (less than 50 pence!) to Moskovskaya metro station. We then travelled 7 stops north on the blue line to Nevsky Prospekt/Gostiny Dvor and exited the station directly onto the Nevsky Prospekt. Cross the road at the zebra crossing, bear right down Nevsky Prospekt until you come to a crossroads with Ultisa Kazanskaya and turn left, walking down this road - the hotel is on your right and has a sign hanging outside.

We arrived a little before 2pm so our room wasn't ready. The receptionist (brunette, pregnant) spoke perfect English and was an absolute joy to deal with advising us that we could wait in the hotel until the room was available or she would happily take our luggage from us. We decided to wait and used the time to marvel at the fantastic furnishings, artwork and decor that ooze out of every pore of this unique and charming boutique hotel.

We were given our key - a proper key, not a keycard which is a rarity these days - and it had a little Matryoshka doll attached to it with the room number written underneath (24).

We loved that every door of the hotel had a unique work of art painted directly onto it.

Our room had free wi-fi (very important to us on this trip), was nicely sized, had properly adjustable air-conditioning, windows which let in natural light, cosy beds, good bathroom with powerful shower/plenty of towels and anything that it didn't have (like a hairdryer) was something which reception were only too happy to provide.

Bearing in mind that the hotel is so closely located to the main street which runs through St Petersburg, it was remarkable how peaceful our stay was and we stayed at the height of holiday season (mid-June).

Breakfast the next day was included in the room rate - around about £109 for the night for 2 sharing, booked through a company who also arranged our visas - www.saint-petersburg.com). It was a good continental breakfast of cold meat, cheese, muesli, various yoghurts, boiled eggs, fresh fried eggs, breads, juices, teas and so on.

The lasting impression of this hotel is truly the service. In the room literature, the hotel claims to want their guests to really feel like they are at home and this is the feeling we left with. We had an overnight train to Moscow departing at 1:50am the following day which was a good 14 hours after we had checked out. This was not a problem for the hotel. Our luggage was safely stored behind reception and we didn't return to collect it until close to midnight. We were able to use the bathroom in reception to freshen up before our train - nothing was too much trouble.

All 3 ladies we dealt with (oriental lady with spectacles, blonde lady with nose ring and in particular, the pregant lady I mentioned earlier) were an absolute credit to the hotel and provided some of the best service we've experienced on our travels.

When we return to St Petersburg (and believe me, we will) the Art-Hotel Rachmaninov will be our first consideration, whatever the cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukewarmCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel is very well located on walking distance from the top attractions (kazan cathedral, church on spilled blood, hermitage, main shopping street, restaurants and party scene)
Hotel itself is nice, with a good cozy atmosphere. Staff is very helpfull and friendly. Only downside is the disco next door which gives some minor noise when your at the street side at night. Would stay here again when coming back to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Old St. Petersburg, also known as Peter, or Peterburg, is best visited when staying on or lose to Nevsky Prospekt, the main street with shops, cafes, and people. This hotel is only a half block from Nevsky, near the Kazan Cathedral. It is easy walking distance to the Summer Palace, the River Neva, and the great sights, cathedrals and museums of Peter. But best of all, the staff here, including Olga, is just the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever met. When I arrived late in the evening, Olga offered to make me a sandwich to go with my cold beer. The rooms and hotel are not new, but well maintained, and cozy. No elevators for those of you who are challenged. But this place has old world charm. Forget about the new places, this is it!!!!

Room Tip: End of hallway on main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Everything was good about Art-Hotel Rachmaninov. Staff was helpful and no problem about anything regarding the hotel. Quiet, calm and comfortable. On our last day, our train was at night, but they had let us leave our luggage at the hotel after our check out so we were able to visit lots of places without our bags. So that was a huge plus. And the location is beyond amazing. It right in the middle of all the important places. You can reach the top 3-5 visiting places like Hermitage, Saint Isaac Cathedral, Kazan Cathedral, etc. within 5-10 minutes walking. So if we'd go to St. Petersburg again (which we will, one day), we would really like to stay at Art-Hotel Rachmaninov again. I'd also recommend to my friends who are planning to visit St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmetsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is located close to the top Saint Petersburg tourist attractions, restaurants and night spots. The Hotel staff are very helpful and offer great customer service. The hotel is beautifully decorated with emerging artist's work and the hallways are bright and colourful.

The breakfast is very good with a wide selection of dairy products, meat and cereal to choose from and the breakfast room is bright and cosy. The staff are always at hand to replenish the food and beverage.

The hotel rooms are large with plenty of wardrobe space for your belongings. Anything that you need that you cannot find in the room such a hair dryer or additional pillow, you can quickly and easily get at reception. If you wish to stay in of an evening, there is a limited selection of room service food and drink always at hand.

As many of the rooms are street side you may experience at the weekend only, the hard working Saint Petersburg folk enjoying the end to a long , hard week by visiting the, exclusive entertainment club situated further down the street. Perhaps you could ask for a room away from the street if this is not to your taste. The rest of the week, street side is very quite.

The lack of lifts means it is better that you pack light for your trip, but the beautiful, old stair way is full of character and adds to the ambience of the hotel.

Stay here and enjoy your holiday!

D & J from England

Room Tip: As many of the rooms are street side you may experience at the weekend only, the hard working Saint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danaeandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#75 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#16 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachmaninov Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachmaninov Art-Hotel

Property: Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Address: Kazanzkaya St., 5, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#78 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rachmaninov Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A conceptual boutique-hotel "Rachmaninov" is situated in the very center of St. Petersburg near Nevsky Prospect and Kazansky Cathedral. It combines the museum area with a homely coziness, sophisticated atmosphere of the Silver Age with bohemian chic of nowadays. The owners of the hotel possess a unique collection of antiques. They also constantly replenish the hotel art collection with contemporary paintings and photography. In years of its existence “Rachmaninov” became a very popular hotel (apartments). Among the guests you can see celebrities, people of culture, consulate representatives, politicians and businessmen who are interested in art. On a fifth anniversary of the hotel famous St. Petersburg artists painted the doors of the rooms in the hotel with their fantasies based on the music of the famous Russian composer. The hotel, situated in the former commercial house, carefully looks after the room where Rachmaninov spent some time of his youth. The layout of the hotel looks like an art gallery and this is not accidentally – here the exhibitions of different artists regularly take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Rachmaninov Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachmaninov Hotel St Petersburg
Rachmaninov St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing