We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachmaninov Art-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Ranked #91 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We’ve spent a week in this hotel and I think it’s just excellent. The location is the best possible: 3 minute walking distance to Nevsky prospect and 10-15 minute walking distance to the Hermitage. The artistic atmosphere gives special charm to the place. There are a lot of nice paintings and photos everywhere along the walls and more over there is a small modern art gallery (the entrance is from the inner court yard) which belongs to the hotel and where they organized art exhibitions and concerts. My wife is very fond of modern photography and she enjoyed it a lot. The breakfast was good - a big variety of buffet food. The staff is very friendly and helpful, everyone speaks good English. I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnUM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    114
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
44
134
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location near the Hermitage and lots of other sights. Staff are lovely - welcome and friendly. Really nice feeling about the place. Superb art works everywhere and a stunning salon where breakfast is served. The breakfast, while substantial, is quite repetitive; we were tempted to go elsewhere on a couple of mornings but it was included in the price. Room was warm and comfortable although maybe too warm in summer (we were there in a cold April). A couple of minor niggles: the no-smoking rule is not enforced in the public areas and the breakfast cook seemed always to have a cigarette going and our bed had the worst mattress we've encountered in a long time. Small points but easily sorted. Still well worth staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing onto the courtyard/car park as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WALES
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited St Petersburg in early April 2013. What a beautiful City!
Found the Rachmaninov hotel after browsing many sites looking for hotels. I wanted a mid range hotel in the heart of the city. Well, if that's what you also looking for, then look no further. The hotel is excellent. If arriving by plane, the journey on public transport could not be easier or cheaper, approximately £1 per person one way. Take the public bus number 3 at the airport to Moskovskaya bus stop, then take the metro 2 line, 7 stops later you arrive at Nevsky Prospekt, then from the metro station, cross the road, turn right, first left, 100 metres and the Rachmaninov is on your right. I promise it could not be easier.
The hotel is accessed through a large door that leads up a couple of flights of stairs. Dont let this put you off as once there, you discover this gem of a hotel which is clean and warm. The hotel is an artists delight as each room door has been painted by a local artist accompanied by a brief autobiography of the artist.
The rooms are clean and provide good facilities. If you want to nit pick about nonsense then I am sure you can find something but overall the standard is good and for the price I have no complaints.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and speak very good English.
Breakfast is mainly a traditional Russian affair that offers a good range of buffet food. There is something for most tastes and I thought it was very good.
The Hotel boasts an exceptional central location whereby you can access the majority of the sights and attractions easily on foot.
The only downside was on a Friday and Saturday night the hotel shares the building with a bar and music can be heard until the small hours. If this is a problem request a room on teh top floor rather than the lower floor but despite this I still aware it 5 stars and would most definately recommend to others and I would have no hestitation in staying there again.

Well done Rachmaninov

Room Tip: Upper room rather than a lower room if staying on a Friday and Saturday night. If not, there is no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N-WALES-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The front door is somewhat off-putting but once you get inside, you'll love it. It's two flights up stone steps though, so certainly not disability friendly. The staff are lovely and the rooms are actually surprisingly large given that the hotel is essentially a one floor apartment. Lovely old furniture and comfortable beds. I was there in early April when the weather was still pretty cold, but the room was warm as toast. The wifi is free and pretty good. The location of the hotel really could not be better. About 50m off the Nevsky Prospect and only a 20 minute walk from The Hermitage.

Room Tip: room 27 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_c_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very well located in an old and charming building but we didn´t know we would have to carry our bags three stories. As it some times happens in very old buildings shower from our first room was too small.

Room Tip: If you have problems with small showers, tell them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonardo_Sadcovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I live in Saint Petersburg and this hotel I reserved for my friends.The best feature of this hotel is its location. You can't imagine the place to live closer to the centre of the city. Only 5 minutes walk to Nevsky Prospect, 15 minutes walk to the Hermitage, 3 minutes walk to the Kazan Cathedral and etc.
Other good feature is its originality and novelty.In the corridors (passageways) of this hotel there are real paintings of modern Russian and (during the stay of my friends) Latvian artists. They have even price. (I saw - from 200 Euro to 2000 Euro).There is also a photo exhibition in the yard. I wish I could have seen it. But we arrived too late at night.
The rooms are furnished in different oldish style. I chose for the friends room 5. I can't say that this style is my favourite, it looks rather oldish (not shabby) but romantic.What is modern - bathroom and toilet!In room 5 there was also a jacuzzi.
Oh, there was a flat TV, rather big size. It was important for us that Wi-Fi was in the room and it was free (for Russia it is sooner exception than a rule).
Now about weaknesses. This little hotel is located in the apartment house, on the third floor. The entrance is good-lighted and safe but it is rather unusual for europeans. What is more, there is no lift at all. So, if you travel with big and heavy luggage, be ready to do "physical excercises":(((
I remember one more advantage!For this class of the hotel (we call them mini-hotel, although there are about 20-25 rooms here) they have a very nice breakfast - "Swedish Table". So, I recommend this hotel active people, who want to go around Saint Petersburg day and night, and don't want to spent time to the transport.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are downstairs, under the floor with the reception.It seemed to me that their loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haukipudas, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A charming little hotel in the center of St. Petersburg. It was certainly not a standard hotel in a good way. There were beautiful paintings and antique furniture. We had a very nice and large room with a little kitchen. The personal was friendly and spoke quite good English. The breakfast was nice, but the same every day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#79 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#16 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan Saint Petersburg
Akyan Saint Petersburg
#12 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachmaninov Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachmaninov Art-Hotel

Property: Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Address: Kazanzkaya St., 5, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#78 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rachmaninov Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A conceptual boutique-hotel "Rachmaninov" is situated in the very center of St. Petersburg near Nevsky Prospect and Kazansky Cathedral. It combines the museum area with a homely coziness, sophisticated atmosphere of the Silver Age with bohemian chic of nowadays. The owners of the hotel possess a unique collection of antiques. They also constantly replenish the hotel art collection with contemporary paintings and photography. In years of its existence “Rachmaninov” became a very popular hotel (apartments). Among the guests you can see celebrities, people of culture, consulate representatives, politicians and businessmen who are interested in art. On a fifth anniversary of the hotel famous St. Petersburg artists painted the doors of the rooms in the hotel with their fantasies based on the music of the famous Russian composer. The hotel, situated in the former commercial house, carefully looks after the room where Rachmaninov spent some time of his youth. The layout of the hotel looks like an art gallery and this is not accidentally – here the exhibitions of different artists regularly take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Rachmaninov Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachmaninov Hotel St Petersburg
Rachmaninov St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing