We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Ranked #75 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Our rooms were very comfortable, and the reception staff very welcoming. Within walking distance of the Hermitage, Spilled Blood, Russian Museum, Mikhailovsky Theatre etc. We also walked to the Mariinsky Theatre, but that is about a 30m walk. Not too far to walk also to the Peter&Paul fotress or the log cabin.

The reception staff all speak English.

To get to the hotel from the airport (terminal 2 - pulkovo 2), take bus 13/ K13 from outside the terminal (same side of the road when you walk out of the terminal, head left) to Moskovskaya metro station (last stop). You pay the driver when you get OFF the bus, not when you get onto the bus. At Moskovkaya station, buy metro tokens from the Kacca (ticket office) downstairs and sit the V2 line until Neskviy Prospekt. With luggage it is about a 10minute walk from the tube station to the hotel.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if I visit St Petersburg again because of (1) cleanliness (2) staff service (3) location.

Room Tip: I think shower beats bathtub (shower over bath). Room 24 is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ybibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 323 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is really amazing!
The stairs make you feel in another epoch, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is special! You can find Russian specialities but also a good continental food.
The staff is really kind and speaks very good English.
My mother and I had a great time there!
I'd suggest this hotel to all, families or couples, also for the position, right in the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coccinella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I avoid big hotel chains and really enjoyed staying in this small European-style hotel. The hotel is furnished with old furniture, and the rooms are pleasantly decorated. The front desk staff were most helpful and spoke English as well as French and several other languages. The location is great for walking to the Hermitage, the Church on Spilled Blood, St, Isaac's, etc. The breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful, and the coffee was excellent. I also really appreciated being picked up at the airport. I definitely recommend the Hotel Rachmaninov!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter than street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel is a small boutique hotel which occupies 2 floors of a building very close to Nevsky Prospekt. Walking distance from most sights.

We were efficiently picked up from the train station as per our booking request and taken by taxi to the hotel.
Wonderful breakfast (including fresh pancakes), fabulous decor, good service (hotel staff spoke English and were able to give us advice & directions when needed.)

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and was quieter than the floor below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaka1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I would really recommend this hotel. It is very central and the staff are very very helpful. However at weekend, if you are in a room at the front, it can be noisy in the street outside. Dont let that put you off. it is agreat place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a romm at the rear if you want to avoid a street that can be noisy at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The staff were truly excellent and an absolute pleasure to work with. The location of the hotel is fantastic being just a two-minute walk from Nevsky Prospekt and close to the Metro stations. The room was great. Breakfast was a fantastic, buffet style, continental affair and the morning coffee even more so. Being situated in an old apartment building, the hotel has been restored with tremendous care and now has its own great character about it and blended beautifully with our experience of the city itself.

Room Tip: The hotel reception and entrance is on the 3rd floor (Russian floor numbering), but there are rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaunrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Early on Russian Christmas,upon arriving in St. Petersburg by overnight train from Moscow we proceeded to our hotel in hopes of being able to store our bags there and walk around until check-in time at 2:00 p.m. We were greeted at the bottom of the stairs by an lovely young woman who enthusiastically grabbed our bags and walked us up three flights of stairs to the reception desk. She led us to our lovely rooms and apologetically told us that breakfast would not be until 8:00. After a short nap we woke to an ample buffet of eggs, cheeses, breads, meats, fruits, juices, tea and coffee served in an elegant tearoom artistically furnished with antique tables, chairs and couches.

Nestled among bistros and tearooms, kitty-corner from the cathedral of Our Lady of Kazan, this unassuming hotel, identified only by a small sign on a black door: "Boutique Hotel Rachmaninov," takes you back a century or so. In contrast to the hotel and the ancient cathedral is bustling Nevskiy Prospect with its huge book store and department stores, about a city block away. Walk another three quarters of a mile and you come to the Hermitage Museum and the Neva River.

The day after we arrived, the hotel began modernizing its electric wiring and moved us from our comfortable rooms on the third floor to beyond belief sumptuous rooms on the second floor at no extra charge. Luxurious modern bathtubs, comfortable double beds, plenty of room, windows, hairdryer, heat, plenty of hot water, pleasure--pure pleasure awaited us upon our return from a day walking around the Hermitage.

This review would not be complete without heartfelt praise for the unique staff who treated us, not like guests, but like their mothers or aunties. Their worries that my 83-year old friend who walked with a cane would not be able to negotiate the stairs was unfounded. She happily walked up the stairs to what she and I both agreed is the most delightful hotel either of us has ever stayed in. With warmth and hospitality and the sincerity of old friends, these women make each guest feel as if she were the most important person in the world.

I am nostalgically planning a return in the near future. Sheila Dugan, Milanville, PA

Room Tip: Although it is almost certain that the rewiring will ensure that there will be air conditioning in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdMilanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 359 in St. Petersburg
743 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#111 of 359 in St. Petersburg
145 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#13 of 359 in St. Petersburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#15 of 359 in St. Petersburg
557 reviews
Admiralteisky
Hotel Moyka 5
Hotel Moyka 5
#72 of 359 in St. Petersburg
244 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#61 of 359 in St. Petersburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachmaninov Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachmaninov Art-Hotel

Address: Kazanzkaya St., 5, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#78 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $39 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rachmaninov Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A conceptual boutique-hotel "Rachmaninov" is situated in the very center of St. Petersburg near Nevsky Prospect and Kazansky Cathedral. It combines the museum area with a homely coziness, sophisticated atmosphere of the Silver Age with bohemian chic of nowadays. The owners of the hotel possess a unique collection of antiques. They also constantly replenish the hotel art collection with contemporary paintings and photography. In years of its existence “Rachmaninov” became a very popular hotel (apartments). Among the guests you can see celebrities, people of culture, consulate representatives, politicians and businessmen who are interested in art. On a fifth anniversary of the hotel famous St. Petersburg artists painted the doors of the rooms in the hotel with their fantasies based on the music of the famous Russian composer. The hotel, situated in the former commercial house, carefully looks after the room where Rachmaninov spent some time of his youth. The layout of the hotel looks like an art gallery and this is not accidentally – here the exhibitions of different artists regularly take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rachmaninov Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachmaninov Hotel St Petersburg
Rachmaninov St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing