We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
68
68
30
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
68
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is situated metro station neva river vasilievsky island the hotel staff old building city desk comfort petersburg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 185 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018

Having stayed in the Marco Polo hotel in Moscow I wasn't expecting great things from the St Petersburg hotel so I was grateful that it was a smaller hotel with more of a personal feel about it. It's in an old building which is historic but isn't without its drawbacks as well. There is a lift from the first floor upwards, so everyone has to climb at least the first flight of stairs. And it seems the plumbing isn't necessarily crash hot either. One of the couples in my group had a flooded bathroom with raw sewage seeping into the carpet. A nasty experience to say the least. Thankfully they were moved immediately (although, to a smaller room) but of course it would have been preferable if it never happened at all. The breakfast was adequate. The breakfast room, however, was cramped and people pushed and shoved each other at the buffet area. Oddly no tissues were provided in the rooms. New water bottles were provided each day which was most welcome. I slept with the A/C on each night despite it being 8 deg overnight because the rooms were boiling hot and opening the window during the day didn't help bring the ambient temperature down. At night it was too noisy overlooking the street to leave the windows open. This really wasn't pleasant. Overall I'd probably stay here again, but only if the price was right.

Room tip: Get one that isn't overlooking the street so that you can open the window at night time if you wish fresh air.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BrawBlether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Sirs, many thanks for your detailed review. Marco Polo St. Petersburg Hotel has nothing in common with Marco Polo Hotel in Moscow. Our hotel’s building is actually historic, was built in 1874 it still transmits unique mysterious atmosphere. Nevertheless, furniture and plumbing in our hotel are regularly checked and renovate if it is necessary. Moreover, we always solve any problem of our guests to make their rest comfortable. For instance, we try to take into account all the wishes of the guests when choosing rooms, including the floor or view (street or yard). Dear Sirs, you were so lucky that during your visit to Saint-Petersburg the weather was great: sunny and warm, so the temperature in a room was high only due to these factor but as you mentioned, we have A/Cs in each room. Looking forward to see you again! Kind regards, Marco Polo St. Petersburg Hotel’s team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

I like traveling when having two reservation active simultaneously, one in the heart of the City, the whole trip lasting middle range hotel and having time to explore interesting upper middle range to top range hotels for 3 to 4 days.
And Hotel Marco Polo is just this kind of jump. Quite appropriate sized, 50 or so rooms, exelent kitchen, very polite and professional staff, basement bar cosy and accordingly furnished and decorated, The whole hotel is very elegantly and with good taste created.
Only issue is the location and the use of the elevator. But if traveling heavily the hotel staff is there to assist you.
Overall my visit is very successful and pleasent. Even the Vasilievsky Metro station is just few block away.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank perttil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Dear Sirs, many thanks for your positive feedback! We are so pleased by the fact you have enjoyed staying in our hotel. Particularly, liked our exquisite interior, high quality of service, restaurant and bar. Our location is very convenient for tourists: city center, a lot of attractions and shops nearby and only 5-7 minutes from the subway station .Dear Pertti, we would be so glad to see you again! Kind, regards, Marco Polo St. Petersburg Hotel’s team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Welcoming and helpful staff, good quality breakfast, wonderful old building. Quiet location with lots of shops and places to eat nearby, metro station a short walk away. We stayed for 6 nights, were offered help with the baby stroller and given a welcome gift for the toddler. Room was the largest in the hotel with all you need and very good toiletteries. What to improve: master bed can have a better (less hard) mattress, water supply in the shower was inadequate to wash properly closer to 9 pm, and to regulate it from scalding hot or freezing cold to medium was a challenge.

Room tip: Get the biggest:-)
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Good afternoon, Catherine K! Many thanks for your positive response. We are really pleased by the fact you have enjoyed our staff’s work and the restaurant’s dishes quality. Our employees are always happy to help our guests with any requests. Please, accept our apologies for bad water supply. It was caused by the accident on Vasilevskiy Island and we did our best to solve this problem, however, we are able to provide hot water for guests in any situations using boilers to make your rest more convenient. Your comments are very valuable for us and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Marco Polo, St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. We were allotted a nice spacious room with clean toilet. This hotel is located in a very old (200 years said the staff) building. The location is very good, within walking distance there are lot of shops and cafetarias. The staff was curteous and helpful. Breakfast was good. There is good wifi connection also. But there are a few things which need improvement in this hotel. You have to climb up to the 2nd floor and then through a back gate climb down another flight of stairs to avail of the lift which is I think as old as the building itself!! An ancient lift with 3 doors and makes scary noises on each floor!! The toilet was clean but flow of water was very poor in the shower. In fact, some times there is hardly any water flow in the hand shower which is not very easy to handle. On the day we checked out we found to our horror in the morning that there was no water in the toilet. Barely a trickle for us to manage to brush our teeth and absolutely no water in the shower. On enquiring we were told that water supply would be restored at 9 a.m. which was our check out time. Had to leave without taking a bath. And found out that day a lot of new guests had checked in so may be water supply was rationed to accommodate new guests! This is a very serious issue for a hotel which is hosting so many international guests at the same time. The management should look into this and make arrangements for storage of water. The room should also have a tea/coffee maker. On the whole have a mixed feedback about this hotel. If the above issues are taken care of then this hotel can be given very good recommendations.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debarati_SenGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Debarati_SenGupta, many thanks for your response! We are really pleased by your positive comments about our staff, location and the quality of the restaurant Marco Polo St. Petersburg. We bring our apologies for inconvenience with water supply that was caused by the accident in Vasilevskiy Island. Our hotel is able to provide hot water with boilers but, unfortunately, its work is not such unhindered as a central water supply system. We bring our apologies for the inconvenience that was brought by our elevator. As it is part of the historical building that is dated by 1974 it can be less convenient than new ones but it always works properly. We are looking forward to see you soon and hope that your next visit will bring more positive emotions! Kind regards, Marco Polo, St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

We were booked into this hotel following an Intrepid tour, in which Intrepid failed to confirm our continuing booking (paid for from Australia) at MHotel in the city centre, so it was touted by Intrepid as an 'upgrade' from MHotel. Not so!
There was no hot water for most of our stay. So persistent was this problem that management had actually printed a letter for the rooms which apologised for 'hot water problems', so this was not a short term issue. Much of the time, there was no water pressure at all in our fourth floor room.
No block out curtains, despite it being light at 3 am at this time of the year.
The lift is an antique, and while it is laudable to preserve antiques, much of the time it didn't work, and felt dangerous, with a large gap. It was difficult for two people to enter.
There is no English language TV, although one staff member 'thought' perhaps CNN should be available. When he came up to the room to check, he just shrugged and said they 'had problems'.
The whole hotel had problems! It is well away from the Centre, and we wasted a precious day transferring from MHotel to here, and then negotiating the public transport system, whereas MHotel was well located.

Room tip: Avoid any rooms that require the lift!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yoni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Yoni R! Thank you for your feedback. Please, accept our apologies for the inconvenience with water supply. Unfortunately, there was an accident in Vasilevskiy Island but our hotel is equipped by boilers that is able to provide hot water for our guests without impediments. Marco Polo St. Petersburg is located in historical center of the city close to all of the main sights and also there are a lot of restaurants and shops in the nearest neighborhood. The lift was not planned as a part of building while it is dated by 1974, but always works properly. Your marks are very important for us and we will take into account all of them to make your next trip more comfortable. Looking forward to meet you again! Kind regards, Marco Polo St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews