We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice...it is like living in your own flat :)”
Review of swissSTAR B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
swissSTAR B&B
Ranked #18 of 944 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Perfect choice...it is like living in your own flat :)”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is the perfect choice for your city break in St. Petersburg. Located in a quiet area of the city centre, in approx. 15 minutes on foot you can reach Nevsky Prospekt, the main avenue of St. Petersburg. The metro stations of Sennaya Square and Sadovaya are only 5 minutes away.
I stayed in the double room with the private bathroom, a lovely room with all the comforts you can wish for: safe, hairdryer, thermic towel rail, lots of storage space, etc.
The room and the whole house are very clean. I loved the breakfast, which is a do-it-yourself one that you can take at the time that you prefer, great flexibility :) the kitchen is very well equipped, you can even prepare a fresh orange juice if you want... In the same building of the B&B there is a supermarket, Universam, where you can buy extra things for your breakfast or for lunch/dinner.
You can also book a transfer from/ to the airport or train station through them. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    43
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
54
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After traveling from Moscow to Vladivostok and back, this was the best. Everything was clean and functioning. The staff was very helpful, and arranged taxis for our departure. Airport pickup is good especially when you have luggage. An enjoyable stay in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdmdds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B is in a convenient location, clean, welcoming and comfortable. The airport-pickup service was excellent. The hosts are relatively friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was fine. As one of the previous reviewers we stayed in the large en-suite corner room and it was incredibly noisy. It was hot and so the windows had to be open and even with earplugs we struggled to sleep.
Overall a good stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: The large corner en-suite room is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for 5 nights. The place is conveniently located, near the Metro and walking distance to a few sites (by Russian standard). Wi-fi is great and the kitchen is very well equipped, you can cook anytime during the day. There is no aircon, except in the kitchen. It gets a little hot during the day but with a fan, it's manageable at night time. We stayed at a room without bathroom for the first night. The view is great. For the next 4 nights, we changed to one with a bathroom but on a different side. It was incrediblly noisy at around 11pm - midnight. Guess the public service was trying to collect garbage. As it is situated on the first floor, you can hear all the noise and car driving by. Additionally, there was no one to clean the room for 4 days ! The staff is helpful but I have been to B&B where the staff is a lot warmer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meiwonghk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lots of reviewers talked about the great value, decor and cleanliness of this gem of a B&B. I would also like to add that Elena and Irina, the two Russian ladies that greet and clean and generally manage this B&B are incredibly helpful, friendly and welcoming. The Swiss owner is well represented by these lovely hosts. Recommendations on restaurants, transportation, laundry, ....put yourself in their capable hands and all will be well.

Room Tip: They all looked roomy. Get an ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friends and I stayed at swissSTAR during 7-10 April and so impressed with the service. They provide clean facilities and breakfast. The location is perfect for us. We can walk to Nevsky Prospekt and Mariinsky Theatre. The staff is also nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean (bath)room, good beds, river-view sight from room, grossery-market included, free wireless internet available for personal tab/laptop, very helpful staff, small library available on St. Petersburg lonely planet etcetera. Good coffee, centrally located, very safe and double glass isolation windows to prevent traffic noise on room. I really have to try my best to come up with improvement area's, but still can not find them. Will absolutely recommend to other St Peterburg travellers.

Room Tip: B&B has option for room with private bathroom, which is for me personally a must-have. You pay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
Station Hotel K43
#41 of 355 in St. Petersburg
222 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#67 of 355 in St. Petersburg
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Stasov Hotel
Stasov Hotel
#13 of 944 in St. Petersburg
82 reviews
ProPiter
#17 of 944 in St. Petersburg
50 reviews
Vladimir
Art-House Guest House
Art-House Guest House
#19 of 944 in St. Petersburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to swissSTAR B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about swissSTAR B&B

Property: swissSTAR B&B
Address: Fontanka Emb. 93/26, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 944 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
swissSTAR is the swiss managed B&B in the historical centre of the city. Located directly at the river Fontanka, the B&B is ca. 200m from the metro station Ploshad Sennaya. Offering 8 rooms and a big, fully equipped kitchen, we are big enough to handle small groups and family gatherings and yet small enough to provide all guests with our full attention. swissSTAR - swiss hospitality in the St.Petersburg city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your swissSTAR B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing