We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austrian Yard - Apartments
Ranked #91 of 969 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2009

To make a long story short: The mini-hotel "Austrian Yard" deserves a recommendation, a very good value for money was provided.

The hotel is located in a convenient, safe and quiet area close to the Austrian and German embassy. The metro station "Chernyshevskaya" can be reached in only three minutes by foot. Tourist features like Nevskiy Prospekt, Ermitage or Peter&Paul fortress are farther away. A remarkable number of lovely café’s are in the vicinity of the hotel, recommendable for a traditionally Russian breakfast or a drink at night. Early birds/ business guys should consider the opening times, predominantly starting from 10am.

The breakfast, offered by the hotel, was small (airplane-like) and if you didn’t know it from the very first, you would be somehow disappointed. Anyway, the room (we booked the one with twin beds) was very well furnished and very clean. Altogether we can agree with the previous comments. As told us the mini-hotel is presumably booked by wedding pairs (the register office is a stone's throw away from the hotel). Based on that fact, the room and service was absolutely satisfying, e.g. all towels were exchanged every day, a daily newspaper was delivered without having been asked. The reception was staffed round the clock, although the English speaking staff was limited to two (very helpful) ladies.

We got in contact with the hotel via email, all of our requests were answered within a few days. For a next visit in St. Petersburg we would book a room in the mini-hotel “Austrian Yard” again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joerg_nrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Austrian Yard - Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

This small out-of-the-way hotel was a wonderful fine. Spotlessly clean and comfortable (though small) room at a bargain price. A generous breakfast was included and the staff handled visa and registration formalities efficiently. The beds were a little small and not up to 4/5 star levels, but were comfortable. The nearby metro stop is a short ride from downtown, and the Tvaricheskii garden is less than 50 meters away. I would definitely stay here again.

[--]

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the AY for 8 days in the middle of September. Although it calls itself a hotel, it is really four studios on separate floors. It was a perfect place for travelers like us who planned to stay for extended periods. If you expect to be in SP for a few days or do not read or speak Russian, a full service hotel might be a better choice.

Because of the size of the AY, we ate our breakfast in the kitchen/dining area. The cleaning staff put bread, sausage, fruit, juice and instant coffee in the refrigerator for our use the next morning. The kitchen also had a small cook top and sink that could be used for other meals if you wanted to eat in the room.

The staff was very considerate and helped us plan a day trip to a palace outside the city. Some speak little or no English so your stay at the AY would be easier if you could speak some Russian.

The building is located in a large courtyard and entered through a gate to the street. It is located in on a quiet street, in a comfortable, but slightly worn, middle class residential area near the Tauride Gardens. The metro station is one long city block away and a number of minibuses stop on a nearby street. Several restaurants, markets, banks and cafes can be found between the AY and the metro stop. An excellent food store with prepared items is 10 minutes away at the corner of Furshtadtskaya (where the AY is located) and Liteyniy Prospekt. It takes about 15 minutes to take the metro from the AY’s station to the museum and theater area on Nevsky Prospekt. Alternatively, it took us 30 minutes to walk to this area from the AY.

I would choose the AY rather than a hotel closer to the museums and theaters because of the chance to see and experience how SP residents live. Most tourist hotels are near the Nevsky Prospekt, an area that feels like midtown Manhattan or Piccadilly. Why go to SP for that experience?

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crushdummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Austrian Yard in late May 2006. They arranged pick up and return to the airport, it was actually the husband of the owner who was the driver! We were in the top floor room with the skylights and it was lovely, we particularly liked the heated floor in the bathroom. The room was well equipped and there is a small grocery just down the street where we bought food that we fixed in the kitchen. We also bought an internet access card from the front desk that we could use in our room. There is a good Chinese restaurant with an English menu a little further past the grocery on the same side of the street where we ate a couple of times.

The Austrian Yard is located in the midst of the foreign embassies, the area was very safe and convenient for sightseeing. They have their own website, --- that will give you more information. The front desk personnel were helpful as were the owners. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay and would definitely stay there again if we returned to St. Petersburg.

6  Thank maeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Found their website and had great communication with them via email before we left. They made arrangements for airport transfers and general information about the rail system that is located only 2 blocks away. Also a must is to get a local tour guide for at least 1 day (I recommend Alla found at ----). This mini hotel has lots of pictures and general information on their website ---- go there. It is a very secure and convenient location.

I just returned from an around the world trip and was very skeptical about Russia. I found it to be a wonderful stop on my trip and am glad I added it to my list. There's no place like it in the world.

Thanks Austrain Yard and Alla

9  Thank jims777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank ufim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ольга Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Austrian Yard -Hotel
#163 of 357 in St. Petersburg
99 reviews
Galakt Hotel
#153 of 357 in St. Petersburg
83 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#159 of 357 in St. Petersburg
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Graffiti L Hostel
Graffiti L Hostel
#27 of 1,701 in St. Petersburg
182 reviews
Nevskiy
Hostel Life
Hostel Life
#185 of 1,701 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
Koffer Residences Hostel
#91 of 1,701 in St. Petersburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austrian Yard - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austrian Yard - Apartments

Address: Furshtatskaya St., 45, St. Petersburg 191123, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 969 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $45 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Austrian Yard - Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
«Austrian Yard» is located next to the Austrian Consulate in St. Petersburg, five minutes' walk from the subway station Chernishevskaya. Nearby are also consulates of Germany, the United States of America, the Finnish consulate. It is a quiet and calm area of the historical city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austrian Yard - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing