We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super location”
Review of Old Vienna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Vienna Hotel
Ranked #4 of 930 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“super location”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Extremely convenient location:right in the center of the historical district. It is a walking distance from most city sites.The entire hotel is quiet unique;,its theme is past russian literary history which creates an unforgetable atmosphere.The room was very cozy and clean.Excelent breakfast and friendly and helpfull staff.Good coffee was available during the day which was very important at the considering the cold winter conditions.I'm definitely going to book it again

Room Tip: I would rely on the staffs suggestions.They arevery helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    23
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
34
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

According to my guidebook, Tchaikovsky died in the building shared in part by this small hotel. That's genuine, old-school St. Petersburg. With a view of the Admiralty and a 6-minute walk from either the Hermitage to the east or St. Isaac's to the west. The decor is unique and the staff is friendly, though English is spoken only by select members of the staff.
The rooms were a bit small, but sufficient. Breakfast is available at a surprisingly high price, so we skipped it. This is very little bad to be said about the place, and much to recommend it, particularly the reasonable price in an over-priced town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The main attraction of this hotel is location. Situated in the heart of the city and about 5 to 10 minutes easy walk from many of the attractions. Hermitage & St Isaacs within 5/10 minutes walk. The hotel is recently renovated but the decor will not be to everyone's choice. The theme of the hotel is past Russian Poets but the pictures and decorations range from old soviet scenes of poets together in bar's to boxing matches and football games....we found our room bizarre and somewhat invasive with a great big painted picture of the Three Poets over your bed looking down on you! Quality of room is acceptable.....but make no mistake this is best viewed as a place to sleep and wash. Advertised as 4 star....It lacks environment, is small and basic and probably a normal 2 to 3 star European equivalent. Customer service is not a strong point...the staff change every two days and their understanding of matters often brings confusion. They are polite and informative but as with most Russian hotels lack enthusiasm for customers.
Your arrival will raise concern...you have to enter a code at the door to be allowed to enter into a public entrance hall that is poorly lit and smells of urine. You will cross to a flight of stairs to travel up to first floor where you actually then enter to the hotel. Our room faced the main road and was noisy if you opened the window. The air conditioning did not work and we were advised it was being serviced. We were there for 4 nights and was still not operable. Therefore we were left no option than to open the window and live with the noise. Bathroom faclities ok, but even though newly decorated some wall tiles were beginning to break away from the wall. Breakfast is very limited and we would recommend you skip this and use one of the many cafe's close bye as they offer a more extensive and reasonable offering with better environment. Best ones are to your left and turn the corner.
Finally, St Petersburg is beautiful but a little tired. We were there in the 'White Night' period so could walk home at 1am in daylight...bit different!!. Lots to see and the palaces outside city are spectacular. Hermitage is very busy, but worth a day....so much to see, walls and walls of masters paintings with little or no explanation....take the tour guide!

Room Tip: Bedrooms to the front of hotel very noisy. Ask to check out the room before you confirm. Check to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigtonybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Loved every moment at the Old Vienna Hotel. I came across this hotel by chance and stayed only for 1 night. It was a fantastic surprise. It met and exceeded my expectations. The Service was friendly and attentive and the location was central to everything. They really know the meaning of hospitality. I have never been attended to with such attention in a Russian hotel. The room was on the small side but very clean with all the amenities you need for a pleasant stay. Good value for the price. I was allowed to use their fax machine a few times. Management at this hotel should be applauded for taking such great care of their guests. Overall a pleasant stay in a quite comfortable non-generic hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yourieva e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A small (make that image even smaller) room overlooking a noisy and loud street, a filthy rug and if you don't want to be disgusted, don't wipe any bathroom surfaces. They nickle-and-dime you to death -- $60 just to get the "invitation" letter required for visa. Once there, we learned there were plenty of real hotels for half the price, nicer rooms and good locations. This joint does not have 24-hr front desk and we got locked out one night. We were tricked by the internet photos of the accommodations. We left St. Pete a day early because my back hurt so much from the lousy mattresses. The one upside to this hotel is that it exists in the same city as the Hermitage Museum.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JR-LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

OLD VIENNA is a little but very interesting hotel in the center of San Peterburg. The style is an XIX century`s style. Every room is dedicated to one russian poet. People are familiar and kind. The rooms are little but confortable and clean. The little restaurant is very nice, all in style. I will return there the next time I will be in Peter!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Old Vienna is a wonderful hotel in an unbeatable location. It is just around the corner from St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Astoria Hotel. The Hermitage is also nearby. There is also a fantastic greek restaurant "Oliva" within a 5 minute walk. My family and I definitely recommend this hotel for its value, location, and cleanliness.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Curtains could be heavier/darker--It was White Nights while we were in St. Petersburg.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Qtpi_e_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#13 of 351 in St. Petersburg
536 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#28 of 351 in St. Petersburg
1,141 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#65 of 351 in St. Petersburg
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 351 in St. Petersburg
776 reviews
Admiralteisky
Renaissance St. Petersburg Baltic Hotel
Renaissance St. Petersburg Balti...
#36 of 351 in St. Petersburg
617 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#72 of 351 in St. Petersburg
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vienna Hotel

Property: Old Vienna Hotel
Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 13, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 930 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Vienna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A both stylish and "home-cozy" mini-hotel in buisiness class, placed on the first floor of Malaya Morskaya 13/8; this was during the early XXth century a famous restaurant for the Bohemia of the Capital. The walls in our hotel did see the "Silver Age"of the Russian culture.Here Alexander Block was chosen the king of poets (for more about the history of this unusual place, see the section About ). Our guests have an unusual opportunity to live in the heart of our city in an atmosphere of the beginning of the last century to a most reasonable price. We have fine library for our guests, with memories and works of art from practically all the main characters of the Russian late XIXth and early XXth century culture. A sauna, a conference room, Fax-and Xerox-machines, free of charge Internet(WI-FI) and a clock round open cafe is also there for the comfort of our guests. All rooms are of higs standard; the comfortable bathroom has a shower cabin.Of cours all rooms are air conditioned and with DVD player. You can from our hotel nicely walk to the Hermitage,St Isaacs Cathedral and the Admiralty while enjoying the beauty of the Northern Capital. Everything is close to you. Attention! The entrance to the hotel is from Gorohovaya Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Old Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Vienna St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing