We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
120
116
24
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
116
24
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room tea and coffee excellent location nevsky prospect friendly small hotel palace square filtered water rooms are clean internet connection easy walking distance reception desk visit st metro station tv floor taxi petersburg
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 269 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Herzen House is on the top floor of a largely anonymous building, with another small hotel occupying the floors below. I arrived late in the evening and at first sight felt somewhat bemused. For security reasons the door is locked and it is necessary to take the lift up to the fourth floor before reaching the hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, clean with ample hot water and towels and with access to foreign language speaking channels on the TV. There is free WiFi. The buffet breakfast was limited but reasonable. What really made the difference to how I felt about this hotel was the charm and helpfulness of the staff and the actual location. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Hermitage and the main thoroughfare of St Petersburg and offers exceptionally good value for money. There are any number of coffee shops, restaurants and bars in the locality which range from very expensive to the inevitable fast food chains. During the day the city looked somewhat grey in the October light, but at night it is lit up and the bridges across the river throw light all along the water. The staff all spoke fluent English and were happy to help with advice about directions, opening times of museums and churches and both ordered taxes and agreed on the price in advance. This was welcome as the taxis are not metered. There was also a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and two glasses in the bedroom when I arrived. I was working during my short stay but I found time to visit the Hermitage which was wonderful as well as several of the more famous churches. The Church of the Saviour on the Blood is notable for its flamboyant exterior and inside is covered with mosaics. However, what I enjoyed the most was Kazan Cathedral on Nevskiy prospekt. It is a place of worship for Orthodox Christians, and each morning at 10 am there is a daily service which is sung by the choir. If you enjoy choral music, or are interested in the Orthodox Church, it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

At the perfect location this hotel is situated close to everything and for a fraction of the hotels 5 minutes walk away on the high street. The staff is on call 24 hours and speaks good english (which seems to be quite rare in Russia). This hotel works good for a disabled in wheelchair as well, but the rest of the town is not very handicapped friendly, but we managed just fine anyway - everyone is very eager to help. Hotel did not have their own restaurant but a lovely breakfast buffé and lots of restaurants close and even next doors.

We would absolutely choose this hotel for our next visit in this lovely city!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya_at_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We arrived early (before regular check in hour at 14:00) after a nightly train trip to St-Petersburg, but decided to head to the hotel straight away. Once there we were gladly welcomed at the reception desk for check in and were shown the luggage room where we could deposit our luggage, untill our room was available for our further stay.

After a short trip outside we noticed the excellent location of the hotel, near to the center and main attraction spots in St-Petersburg. After two o'clock we returned to the hotel and were shown to our room. The room was nice and roomy and tidy. While we refreshed we also received a little present from the hotel to welcome us even more.

Breakfast was available between 8 and 10 and served a decent variety of things to choose from, but people who came early got a wider choice of things. When you arrived near 10 o'clock it was possible that by that time some things had run out. At other hours of the day you could go to the same area and enjoy some tea or coffee with biscuits as you pleased.

Free use of wi-fi was available to all guests and it worked without a hitch. You could also make use of a computer with internet connection at the reception desk (free of charge) e.g. to call someone with Skype.

Service and location were really excellent and we would return to this same hotel if we ever decided to return to St-Petersburg. One little thing we noticed was that the cover for the was quite small for two people, so it could get chilly at night when you were all of a sudden sleeping without any cover. ;-)

Also worth noticing is the excellent Greek Tavern Oliva in the same street, excellent food and friendly staff for a reasonable price. As a bonus you get a discount on your bill when you stay at Herzen. But I'm sure you will do as I did and decide to tip them generously.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Convenience location: 5 min walk to Issac cathedral, Nevsky Prospect, 10 min walk to Hermitage museum, 15 min walk to Kazan cathedral and metro.
Room is large per the cost and location, but no bath tab.
The stuff are very friendly(it looks a part-time student?), sometimes the stuff holds a tea party. speedy wireless internet and power connector exchange is in the room.
I may use same hotel if I'll go to St. Peterburg again. Thanks staff!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataliaspb, General Manager at Herzen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2009

Dear Jimonk,

First of all I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing Herzen House Hotel for your stay in St. Petersburg. On behalf of the entire team it is my pleasure to thank you for the warm feedback. We pride ourselves on offering personal care and attention to our guests.

Hotel provides 20 rooms that meet all European standards. The most rooms have a shower. And just some have a bathtub. Please let us know in advance and we will book a room with bathtub for you.
I thank you again for your review and would like to invite you back whenever your travels bring you to the city of St. Petersburg.

Sincerely,

Natalia Stepanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

advantages: location, friendly staff, elevator

disadvantages: mosquitos!!!!!! there were a lot!!!!!

make sure you get the room facing the backyard - it`s not too noisy!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews