We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
120
118
28
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
118
28
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room excellent location palace square min walk rooms are clean easy walking distance winter palace metro station tv floor
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 275 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The hotel was average, but you kind of expect it for the price you pay, compared to other hotels in Russia, so, considering the price, it was ok. Breakfast was very poor, and the staff could be more friendly, but the location is very good, it is right in the centre, there is no need to take the underground, and there is one computer with free internet for customer's use.

Date of stay: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Don't expect the amenities of a 5-star hotel - think top-of-the-range 2/3 star and you won't be disappointed; Mrs CW and I certainly weren't.

The hotel is pretty central on a fashionable street close to the Admiralty and St Isaacs, with the Hermitage 5-10 mins away and the Moika 2-3 mins. Most main sights are with 30 minutes walk. The hotel is on floor 4 (3rd floor to a Brit) of a building which also houses the Comfort Hotel on floor 2. The exterior was still undergoing what looked like long-term renovation while we were there, but one barely notices once inside. There is an efficient lift.

The staff are particularly helpful, and speak and write excellent English. Booking (especially given the first-rate website) was very easy indeed and every eMail about transfer from the airport, visa support invitations and so on was answered clearly and courteously within no more than two hours. Check-in and out, luggage storage, safe deposit, restaurant bookings, and airport transfers were handled efficiently and easily.

There are few frills at the hotel, but the room (a superior double) was adequate: not huge, but I've stayed in smaller, less well-appointed rooms in several four-star hotels. Bedroom furnishing is modern and functional rather than elegant, as is the bathroom (shower, no bath), but the bed was very comfortable indeed - and Mrs CW is a stern judge! There was a small minibar, and the breakfast room had coffee and water (hot for tea, and cold) available at most times of day and evening, as well as a limited range of biscuits and cakes. Everything throughout the hotel was clean and tidy.

There is free wi-fi if you happen to have your computer with you, and there is a computer available for guest use in the reception area - though it can sometimes be difficult to navigate a combined Cyrllic/English keyboard, especially for passwrods with unusual characters!

Breakfast does not vary and is a buffet: the three hot items are porridge, eggs and sausage (boiled type); there is a selection of cold meats, one type of cheese, tomato and cucumber; two types of cereal, yoghurts; several types of bread, jam and honey; apple juice, orange juice; tea, coffee, etc. Note that there is no selection of fruit.

Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, there are plenty within a few hundred metres. Our favourites over five nights were Teplo and Fasol - both with an eclectic variety of dishes, including some Russian cuisine and relatively inexpensive for St Petersburg. We were less fond of Olivo which is just a few doors away from the hotel. There are also several small shops nearby that stay open late, for water etc.

As for St Petersburg itself ... ... ... read the guidebooks (or the hotel website)! There's simply too much to even begin to cover in a review like this!.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

What a find in the middle of St Petersburg! The hotel is on the 4th floor of a building and has very friendly staff waiting to greet you and help out with any requests such as booking theatre tickets etc. Also used the hotel airport pick up service which was reasonable and comfortable and they arranged a taxi back to the ariport as it can be a bit tricky getting to/from the airport. Cost was about £24 for pick up and about £15 for return basic taxi.

Our room was adjacent to the reception area which occasionally was noisy but mostly due to other guests speaking very loudly in the reception area. The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom clean with a good shower. The hotel provides free wi-fi and also a free internet terminal in the reception area.

Breakfast is complimentary and there are sufficient items to stock up on though we found if you arrive towards the end of the breakfast period a lot of items had gone and weren't replaced. Tea and coffee is available 24/7 in the breakfast room along with some snack food.

Best thing about the hotel is the location - between 5-10 minutes from Hermitage, St Issac's Church, Nevskiy Prospekt and Admiralty.

St Petersburg is a lovely place and very manageable on foot but also has good transport if needed. Just negotiate the taxi fare in advance and carry the hotel card with you to give to the drivers.

Did OK as vegetarians - Idiot restaurant has lots of Russian veggie dishes and is less than 10 mins walk away.

For gay travellers, we found a cafe, Cafe Dali which was empty and one bar Central Station but we never ventured inside. The hotel had no objections to us having a double. Our room did not have a safe but had facilities for free at the reception.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Arrived at Herzen House from Tallinn, as part of our Honeymoon.
Initially when we pulled up at the hotel is was hoarded off for renovation, so we thought things may go a bit pear shaped, however we were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is basic, so don't expect the Ritz, but the location is superb, all rooms are clean, and great value with breakfast included, which was also fine witha good selection available.
The staff were superb, very polite and helpful, with nothing too much trouble.
The location really couldn't be any better for exploring the sights of St Petersburg, which as a stunning city.
We were initially apprehensive as to the cost of things, as we were told it was expensive, however this is rubbish, as it is no more expensive than the UK from our experience.
The people here are friendly and helpful, we found some great restaurants and bars, which served great food, and generally had a very memorable experience.
If you're looking for a good value place to stay, I can really recommend this place.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BirminghamHotelAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed five nights at Herzen House and over all the experience was okay. We had a standard double room which we found compact and the bed was slightly less than a standard double. Spouse and I were fighting for the duvet cover. Clean sheets and towels, tho no shampoo nor soaps only that squirt soap found in public bathrooms for hair and body.

The carpets in the bedroom were filthy looking however one afternoon on our return the carpets had been shampooed so the floors were wet and we had to keep our shoes on. Did not seem logical.

Five stars to Olga who was a wonderful front desk person, and other staff who were ready and willing to help out. They will help you with the Russian visa process. All spoke very good English.

The breakfast had three hot items: porridge, wurstel, and a omelette resembling eggs, and cold meat, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, milk, juice, breads, hot coffee and tea. Some cookies and hot water for tea and coffee were available throughout the day.

The street work was appalling and we had to tramp over some very unsecure boards to reach the hotel. My suggestion as there two hotels who using the building is to get a proper ramp built, someone is going to get hurt.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kladenets, General Manager at Herzen House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2008

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Herzen House Hotel for your stay in St. Petersburg, Russia and your recent review. We do hope you have had an enjoyable and memorable trip to the Venice of the North and a nice journey back home.

I would like to beg our apologies for any inconvenience caused by roadworks on Bolshaya Morskaya street. Supposed to be over by September 25th, they're finally getting to its' very end only now - the road will be fully open for traffic and pedestriands on November 15th.

We do care about cleanliness of our floor coverings and call for carpet cleaners each two or free weeks. This makes them clean all rooms at the same time, including occupied ones, and we do our best to dry carpets up before guests get back to the Hotel.

Once again we appreciate your review and would like to invite you back to Herzen House Hotel during your next trip to St. Petersburg.

On behalf of all team,

Anton V. Kuznetsov
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews