We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Herzen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herzen House Hotel
Ranked #81 of 334 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very centrally located, just 1 minute walking time to the nearest metro station(Admiralteyskaya) and 5 minutes walking time to the Hermitage Museum.

It's a small hotel with very quiet, comfortable and clean rooms. Friendly and well english-speaking staff is ready to help you in every situation.

Breakfast could be better but it was still OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    103
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
85
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Herzen House Hotel is located on one floor of a building in St Petersburg. It is centrally located, conveniently just a couple of blocks from St. Isaac's Cathedral, and several good and one outstanding restaurant. When arriving a 3 am, it was a surprise to find out it's just on one floor and that there are other businesses, including another hotel! - on other floors. There was a guard sitting in the lobby by the ATM machine. The Herzen Hotel front desk person was very friendly, even at that hour, and we maneuvered through the adjacent breakfast room to my bedroom, which was a nice sized room with, as it turned out, the ubiquitous headboardless mattes with white duvet and pillows. It, happily had a refrigerator, a desk, and an ample bathroom. The room was spotless. And quiet, which was great especially for my first night in St. Petersburg after a long day flying. Breakfast was the beginning of the also ubiquitous coldcuts/cheese/make your own toast/dried cereal but with a twist: you could have eggs made to order. The staff was helpful providing me with directions when i was going out without my guide, and sold me water bottles. I would definitely stay here again when in St Petersburg, especially after talking with people who paid far more for their rooms in higher end hotels and didn't get much more in facilities..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frqtrvlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Without the great staff we had at Herzon House and our private guide, St Petersberg would have been an even less user friendly place for tourists than it wAs. In the face of very little effort to accommodate English speaking tourists and a predominantly unfriendly service industry and transport, the staff at this hotel were outstanding in helpfulness, suggestions and assistance when having to communicate with anyone. The hotel was comfortable well located and gad a lovely free breakfast and great WIFI

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GailSTivano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had booked and paid from Australia so was wondering if it would work out but had absolutely no problems. Friendly and helpful staff who recommended some terrific restaurants near by. Enormous breakfasts and access to tea and coffee. Rooms were spotless and very quiet. Just around the corner from the Hermitage and the metro so an excellent choice for a stay in St Petersburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TwoGs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Small family-style hotel in the very central location. Clean rooms, recently renovated facilities, not too fancy but nice. Excellent service - 24h lounge with tea, coffee and cookies and very friendly staff, willing to get help in every situation!! Excellent choice for short city trip!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from beautiful St. Petersburg, spending 7 nights at the Herzen House while there sight seeing. From the airport taxi pick up they arranged for us upon our arrival, to the drop off at 4:30am for our early flight out - our experience with the Herzen House was great. The round the clock staff was extremely accommodating, from helping us with restaurant reservations to acquiring beers for my husband upon request. Even before our trip, the quick, efficient communications via email - answering all our questions, big and small, were so helpful in easing any of our stress in trip planning. The hotel location, as noted by all other reviewers, cannot be beat. And we were so happy overall with the prices - compared to other hotels in the same area. The included breakfasts and round the clock cookies, water, tea and coffee were wonderful touches as well. The room - we had a Comfort sized room - was just the right size. Overall, this hotel was wonderful. Thanks so much for an awesome experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoRo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

In general: the location of this hotel was easy to find and very central. It is close to metro station, Hermitage, Nyevsky Prospect and many other major points of interest. Arriving at Herzen House, we were greeted by Irina who locked our luggage in a storage room for safekeeping until our room was ready and gave us introductory tips for a short stroll and lunch. Upon our return, our (superior) room was ready (Despite initially booking a comfort room, having read the tips here at tripadvisor we requested an upgrade for a superior via e-mail. The hotel staff were so nice to offer it to us free of charge). Irina also booked a cab for our return journey to train station and gave us a wake up call about six in the morning.

Room: It was clean, practically designed and contained a pair of robes, slippers and a safe for our valuables. Bathroom was especially good with proper water pressure and heat, which is a treat given the poor infrastructure in St. Petersburg. Beds were comfortable and as a pair of heavy sleepers we weren't disturbed by anything throughout the two nights we stayed there, despite the fact that our window was looking towards the street. TV didn't contain much international channels but we didn't spend much time in the room anyways. The free wi-fi worked properly.

Minus points: A sharp smell of garlic welcomes you into the building. Although it is the unofficial smell of Russian cities in general, it is not particularly nice to experience it at the entrance.There was also an empty minibar in the room which didn't work very well. When we ordered beers from the reception after a very long and tiring day of walking around the city, we have been given a couple of lukewarm bottles from a cabinet in the corridor and minibar didn't do much to cool them even after an hour. Also the building's lift didn't work on the morning of our departure so we had to carry our luggage four floors down. And finally, the hotel offers the guests free tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the breakfast room all day long. It's a nice touch but this service did not seem to be maintained very well. Biscuits were far from being fresh and tasted quite bad. When we wanted to get a couple of glasses of water from the fountain before going to bed, two nights in a row there was no glass.

Final verdict: You can count on the safety, cleanliness, basic services and location of Herzen House but must not expect more than that - which is quite OK in St. Petersburg where hotels are rarely what they claim to be and presumably they are distributed stars in exchange for personal friends one makes in bureaucracy.

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior room (upgraded free of charge) looking at the street, which was spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dialectichulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Casa Leto
Casa Leto
#95 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#70 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#84 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petr Hotel
Petr Hotel
#48 of 334 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herzen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzen House Hotel

Property: Herzen House Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#69 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herzen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the very heart of Saint-Petersburg, within 5-minute walk from city's major attractions, such as the The Palace Square, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Admirality, The State Hermitage Museum. The Hotel provides cosy interiors, convenient position and friendly English-speaking staff who would be delighted to welcome tourists and business travelers to the city of St. Petersburg. All rooms are designed in calm pastel colors, have comfortable furniture, satellite TV, telephone, air-conditioner, shower, hairdryer, complimentary Internet access.Voltage:220V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herzen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzen Hotel St Petersburg
Herzen St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing