We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
120
117
26
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
117
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room excellent location palace square short walk rooms are clean internet connection easy walking distance reception desk winter palace visit st metro station tv floor taxi petersburg
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 272 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Herzen House Hotel is located on one floor of a building in St Petersburg. It is centrally located, conveniently just a couple of blocks from St. Isaac's Cathedral, and several good and one outstanding restaurant. When arriving a 3 am, it was a surprise to find out it's just on one floor and that there are other businesses, including another hotel! - on other floors. There was a guard sitting in the lobby by the ATM machine. The Herzen Hotel front desk person was very friendly, even at that hour, and we maneuvered through the adjacent breakfast room to my bedroom, which was a nice sized room with, as it turned out, the ubiquitous headboardless mattes with white duvet and pillows. It, happily had a refrigerator, a desk, and an ample bathroom. The room was spotless. And quiet, which was great especially for my first night in St. Petersburg after a long day flying. Breakfast was the beginning of the also ubiquitous coldcuts/cheese/make your own toast/dried cereal but with a twist: you could have eggs made to order. The staff was helpful providing me with directions when i was going out without my guide, and sold me water bottles. I would definitely stay here again when in St Petersburg, especially after talking with people who paid far more for their rooms in higher end hotels and didn't get much more in facilities..

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Without the great staff we had at Herzon House and our private guide, St Petersberg would have been an even less user friendly place for tourists than it wAs. In the face of very little effort to accommodate English speaking tourists and a predominantly unfriendly service industry and transport, the staff at this hotel were outstanding in helpfulness, suggestions and assistance when having to communicate with anyone. The hotel was comfortable well located and gad a lovely free breakfast and great WIFI

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank GailSTivano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had booked and paid from Australia so was wondering if it would work out but had absolutely no problems. Friendly and helpful staff who recommended some terrific restaurants near by. Enormous breakfasts and access to tea and coffee. Rooms were spotless and very quiet. Just around the corner from the Hermitage and the metro so an excellent choice for a stay in St Petersburg.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TwoGs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Small family-style hotel in the very central location. Clean rooms, recently renovated facilities, not too fancy but nice. Excellent service - 24h lounge with tea, coffee and cookies and very friendly staff, willing to get help in every situation!! Excellent choice for short city trip!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from beautiful St. Petersburg, spending 7 nights at the Herzen House while there sight seeing. From the airport taxi pick up they arranged for us upon our arrival, to the drop off at 4:30am for our early flight out - our experience with the Herzen House was great. The round the clock staff was extremely accommodating, from helping us with restaurant reservations to acquiring beers for my husband upon request. Even before our trip, the quick, efficient communications via email - answering all our questions, big and small, were so helpful in easing any of our stress in trip planning. The hotel location, as noted by all other reviewers, cannot be beat. And we were so happy overall with the prices - compared to other hotels in the same area. The included breakfasts and round the clock cookies, water, tea and coffee were wonderful touches as well. The room - we had a Comfort sized room - was just the right size. Overall, this hotel was wonderful. Thanks so much for an awesome experience.

Date of stay: March 2014
2  Thank JoRo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews