We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Herzen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herzen House Hotel
Ranked #81 of 333 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and excellent location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights at the end of April. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with restaurant tips (which were all very good) as well as all the questions about how to get to various places. The room was very clean and certainly adequate. Breakfast was good and any type of egg could be ordered separately. The location is perfect for all the main sights and if you want to go further afield, there is a metro station within a short distance. We are planning to go back to this hotel again when we visit St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Munro1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    103
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
85
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel takes up the fourth floor of a building, so kinda tucked away. It's a great bang for your buck in it's location. A block from St. Isaacs. An easy walk to the Hermitage. We caught the "City Tour: Hop-on-hop-off" bus on the same block and trolley stops where also convenient. Despite being on a busy street, rooms were pretty quiet at night, so happy with that. As other reviewers mention, rooms aren't huge, but we tend to just sleep in rooms when visiting other countries, not "hangout" in them, so it was fine for us. I would recommended for the practical traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were a group of 24 people and used about half the rooms of the hotel. The staff was excellent and the process of arranging the group with Ekaterina the manager was great. We walked in and went straight to our rooms after a long flight from the USA.

The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is sufficient. It is only a five minute walk from Nevsky Prospect and from the Neva River. While it is not a five star luxury resort, it does the job in a clean and friendly way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abounatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataliaspb, Управляющий at Herzen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Abounatom,

On behalf of the entire staff and me personally it is my pleasure to thank you for the warm feedback you have kindly submitted here. Our team prides on offering personal care and attention to our Guests, and is very happy to receive such flattering reviews.

I would like to invite you back whenever your travels bring you to the city of St. Petersburg.
Thank you again

With best regards,
Natalia Stepanova
Executive general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I didn't stay there personally, but my friends did and I visited them there. The location is perfect - St. Isaak's Cathedral round the corner, central square is very close - maybe 5 min walk. Staff is very friendly and cheerful. If you like spacious rooms, it's not for you. Although if you prefer very cozy rooms - it's for you! And what is most pleasant is that the price is nice all the year round.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla_From_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I travel often to St-Petersburg, and since I came first time to Herzen House, I wanted to come back here again. For business, for holidays with friends, this hotel fits me perfectly for its central location ( which is one of the best part of the city), for professional, helpful and very friendly staff, for nice clean rooms, for simple but good breakfast and for typical russian tea and coffee corner available at any time, and for competing room rates as well.
I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to discover the city or to stay for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 225ElenaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nataliaspb, General Manager at Herzen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear 225ElenaParis,

Thank you for being our Dearest Guest and this kind review.

We always very happy to welcome you at Herzen House Hotel.
I remain at your disposal,

Sincerely,
Natalia Stepanova
Executive general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was here with a group of 40 people in early July. The staff could not have been more helpful -- from giving us a welcome reception to helping us with tours, restaurant recommendations, and even directing me to the nearest pharmacy and writing down a suggested headache remedy in Cyrillic to give to the pharmacist! Our room faced the street and was a bit noisy at night, but since the whole city is up and about enjoying the late light, I don't think it could be avoided. Beds were comfy, there was plenty of hot water for showers, lights worked well,TV too. Breakfast was ample (although it got a bit boring after 5 days) and the big water cooler in the breakfast room is very welcome. The hotel is on the 4th floor of a large old building -- with another hotel on the lower floors. An unusual set up but it works fine. You're only a minute from restaurants, bars, a little grocery store and the jewels of the city.Would definitely recommend Herzen House to others visiting St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The place is very value oriented. We booked on Booking.com and needed to make a change. We emailed the hotel directly and made the change and were informed the rate had also changed lower which they refunded us the difference. The staff arranged a driver from the airport and to the train station which helped us very much. They received ballet tickets prior to our arrival and held them for us. The room was a good size for European standards but best of all it was just a few blocks from the Hermitage and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. If ever we were to visit St Petersburg again we would stay at Her zen House. Breakfast was also very good each day. No complains.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the forth floor of a multi tenant building. Take the elevator with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibumFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Casa Leto
Casa Leto
#97 of 333 in St. Petersburg
142 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#12 of 333 in St. Petersburg
510 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#72 of 333 in St. Petersburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#92 of 333 in St. Petersburg
298 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 333 in St. Petersburg
640 reviews
Admiralteisky
Solo Admiralteyskaya
Solo Admiralteyskaya
#191 of 333 in St. Petersburg
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herzen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzen House Hotel

Property: Herzen House Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#70 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herzen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the very heart of Saint-Petersburg, within 5-minute walk from city's major attractions, such as the The Palace Square, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Admirality, The State Hermitage Museum. The Hotel provides cosy interiors, convenient position and friendly English-speaking staff who would be delighted to welcome tourists and business travelers to the city of St. Petersburg. All rooms are designed in calm pastel colors, have comfortable furniture, satellite TV, telephone, air-conditioner, shower, hairdryer, complimentary Internet access.Voltage:220V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herzen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzen Hotel St Petersburg
Herzen St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing