We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nickeled and Dimed to Death” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #47 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nickeled and Dimed to Death”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

First, the windows in the rooms are LOCKED SHUT. I was unable to get any fresh air into my room. I activated the internal A/C system, but it did not bring any fresh air into the room.

Second, I specifically booked this hotel because their services specifically indicate "Laundry Facilities (self-service)". After 2 months on the road, I wanted to do some actual laundry, not dry-cleaning. Unfortunately, they DO NOT have any self-service laundry facilities, and their price to launder my socks exceeded the price of buying new ones. I found a self service laundry online and ended up hiking several blocks away.

Third, I inadvertently assumed that the buffet breakfast was included in the room rate. I rarely partake in any hotel's breakfast, which means that many times I pay for said breakfast and never actually eat it, but one day I decided to have a bite before I left for the day. After I had 2 eggs, 3 slices of bacon and a shot glass of OJ, they brought me a bill for 850 rubles / $29 USD! What!

Fourth, the cable TV system is controlled by a device attached to the TV that continuously prompts you to the paid channels. Okay, no big deal, except that all the "regular" channels in English are only included in a premium package which costs $15 USD per day. No CNN, TNT, NatGeo, Discovery, etc. unless you paid $15 USD per day extra. The ONLY channels you can get in English without paying extra are BBC and Russia Today, no American channels.

Finally, beware of the hotel's taxi charges, which are approximately $11 USD per kilometer. i.e. approximately $22 USD to get driven to the Hermitage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPatina, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jackson B,

I highly appreciate your review about your staying in Ambassador hotel. But it is so pity that your experience was not so good as you expected.
But I would like to specify some aspects.
First of all I checked all sites of our partners (and TopInternational also) and our own site and didn't find any information about self-service in laundry, just "Laundry/Valet service". We are 4* hotel and we have a many complimentary services (you can find it in special Complimentary Menu in every room) but not laundry service. And it is normal for all 4* and 5* hotels. But if you will stay in our hotel 5 days or more we provide a good discount for laundry service.
Regarding your comments about locked windows - you can find a special key in the drawer of the table in every room, or you can ask about it at the Reception. But yes, you are right, all windows are closed by default for your safe.
Breakfast is our strong side and usually all guest are absolutly satisfied with it. You have chosen the rate for room without breakfast (and it was right if don't have a habit to eat it every day). But we have a special room service menu where you can choose all meals separetly. But Full Buffet Breakfast costs 850 rubles per person and it is normal considering the big variety of meals, quality and the hotel class.
About TV channels - we have a five free of charge channels in English:
BBC World
FashionTV
Euronews English
SkyNews
RT (Russia Today)
And four channels in English which included in Pay TV package:
CNNi
Discovery Channel
Eurosport
Animal Planet
Also you had a note about our taxi service price, but if you will try to get a taxi from Hermitage to our hotel just near by Hermitage, I assure you that there price is in three times higher. Also you can ask our consierge and she will tell you how you can reach your destination without use taxi service.
I am sorry once again about all inconveniences and misunderstandings and really hope that you have had a chance to enjoy our amazing city.

Sincerely yours,
Olga Patina,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    304
    90
    31
    17
See reviews for
98
240
49
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is an ideal base to explore St Petersburg. It's within walking distance of all the major sights. Take a good pair of walking shoes though because we walked all day in this city and it's very 'cobbly' and very tiring! The foyer bar and restaurant are delightful in The Ambassador. It's very plush and the restaurant on the 9th floor is also a sight to behold. We never ate in there though because it is quite expensive...in fact I thought the city itself was quite expensive....we paid nearly £10 for two bottles of Corona beer yikes! There are lots of nice restaurants in the area around the hotel which were quite reasonable though.

The rooms in the hotel are very basic compared to the foyer, restaurants etc but in this city you probably won't spend that much time in there! We paid for the hotel to pick us up from the airport and also to drop us off back there and I would definitely recommend this because I found it a bit of a cultural shock, hardly anyone speaks English and it could be quite intimidating. But that was a personal thing for me and don't let it put you off. I was very apprehensive about this trip but my husband was desperate to go, I'm glad I've been because it really is an awesome city and I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Getting vegetarian food in Europe is rather difficult and at times impossible.
Having informed in advance our needs were met with quite well.
Rooms are very clean & are cleaned on daily basis.
This hotel has a class & staff work hard to keep it up.
We had wonderful 3 days stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDD554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Really liked this hotel. Not in the main hub of Saint Petersburg, but the main road round the corner has a bus route straight to Nevsky Prospect (buy the ticket off the bus driver if no conductor on the bus) and there is a large metro station a short walk along the main road. The old & new Marinsky Theatres are only a short walk away. There is a little shop 2 doors along from the hotel where you can buy water and wine etc... at reasonable prices. This hotel deserves its 4 stars. Beautifully clean and comfortable rooms with air con that works well. All windows sealed, so no mozzies flying around! The restaurant on the top floor for breakfast and dinners has a huge selection to choose from and beautifully set tables. There is also a chef on hand to make fresh omelettes at no extra cost. It has a bar on the top floor and at the reception area. There is also a business room with 4 laptops for use at no cost (only pay if you print something.) After a hot day of sight-seeing, this was a great hotel to return to. All the staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

You will be shocked by the elegance of this hotel once you enter the lobby. The street entrance gives you no clue as to the quality of this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the air conditioning actually worked and worked well. The bathroom was large and modern although there was a unique problem with the hot water. I had to let the water run about 5 minutes until it was hot enough. Other people in our group did not have this issue. The breakfast buffet was huge and varied. You won't be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a typical hotel catering for business people and tour groups. The public areas were very large and airy (also very noisy). Our room, although classed as standard, was the furthest from the lift, although this did not bother us as it was quiet. Room itself was well equipped, large comfortable bed, good bathroom (shower over bath). However, we overlooked other rooms and the roof of the antrium so very uninspiring.

The breakfast was excellent and something for all tastes, very happy with it. However, the food in the hotel was very expensive by Russian standards. However, the are a lot of restaurants in the area where you can get excellent food for a good price, so no problem.

The hotel is a good walk to the tourist sites but we enjoyed that as the area around the hotel was quiet, with a nice park just up the road. Also there were taxis available outside the hotel if needed.

Room Tip: One that doesn't overlook the roof of the antrium would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manxholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
297 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The small entrance to the hotel is on an unattractive street in a plain neighborhood. the lobby is a good size, and surprisingly very attractive. The rest of the hotel is unremarkable.

We had a standard 2 bedroom, about 300 SF including a moderate sized bathroom. The bathtub rim was 22 inches high, making it somewhat difficult to get in and out for the shower. The walls and furniture were plain.

Breakfast was very good, with omelets made to order.

There wa a pool which was free for only a part of the morning. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#41 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Admiralteisky
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
Domina Prestige St.Petersburg
#10 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Rimskogo-Korsakova Ave., 5/7, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, a 7-minute walk away from Sadovaya (Sennaya Ploschad’) Underground Station. St. Isaac and St. Nicholas Cathedral, the Mariinsky Theatre, and the Yusupov Gardens are all in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and you can visit them while you take a walk.There are 251 comfortable rooms at the hotel, including the rooms of the following categories: Economy, Standard, Superior, Studio, Demi-Suite, Suite, as well as the Rimsky-Korsakov and Presidential Apartments. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, Internet access, a direct international and inter-city telephone line, interactive and satellite TV, a mini-bar and a safe.All rooms are decorated in tranquil pastel shades with comfortable furniture upholstered in elegant fabrics and luxurious curtains. Bath rooms are equipped with big mirrors and somewhere are decorated with mosaic. All the rooms have a beautiful view on the historic city center, cozy courtyard or Rimsky-Korsakov avenue.According modern standards, the hotel has comfortable rooms equipped for physically handicapped guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St Petersburg
Ambassador St Petersburg
Ambassador Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing