We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient luxury”
Review of Stony Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stony Island Hotel
Ranked #138 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Efficient luxury”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Stony Island Hotel in twin bed classic room. First thing when entering from busy street level to hotel you notice the cleanness. Everything is modern and effecient, and works as you would expect. Our twin bed room was standard size, so there wasn't any wild open spaces, but somehow it felt just a bit bigger than usual standard rooms. Furnitures were new, there was modern flavour in design and great part was that bathroom was beatiful and spacious. The more nights we spent in the hotel, the more i began to appreciate the service, modern touch to hotel and the location. It was in nice neighbourhood, just next to subway. Breakfast was good, altough coffee wasn't that great. Tasty bean souce, potatos and sausages deserve special mention. I would recommend this hotel for both leasure and business travellers. Free cable internet was offered in rooms (altough we did not try it) and free wifi in hotel pub and lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaqnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    64
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
33
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

At the reception service was good. My room was big and very clean. The bathroom was as well very clean and there was a lot of towels. The towels were changed daily.
For me the location was convinient as I had meetings nearby. The city center can also be easily reached by subway. The nearest subway station is 200-300 metres from the hotel. The center (Nevsky prospect) is two stops away.
There is a restaurant at the hotel but you don't necessarily have to eat there as there are many restaurants not far from the hotel (e.g. on the Bolshoy prospect, about 10 min walk from the hotel).
The breakfast starts only at 7.30 which is not really good for those you are travelling on business and have a meeting starting at 8. The last day of my stay opened the breakfast room only at 7.50 and there was already a big line outside waiting.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauletto4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The hotel is a small four storey building and gives an intial impression of being a peaceful hide out - until the room heaters go off, the hot water stops running, the lift stucks on it way up etc, etc. It is a bed and breakfast hotel but dont bother asking for the breakfast you will be dissappointed - guaranteed. The reception reminds one of the Soviet period hostels, the concierge service is non existent, there is no cafe, bar, gym, sauna or any hotel service that makes winter life in this Russian city livable. In short - it is a place of last resort, When you have no place else to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saidmamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Stony Island Hotel: 45, Kamennoostrovskiy Prospekt in June for 5 days and had a very pleasant stay. I found the hotel staff very pleasant to deal with, they answered all emails promptly and organised a taxi to collect us from the airport etc. Taxi was €40 & the driver had well enough English to point out interesting buildings, parks, metro station,etc to us en-route to the hotel.
The Hotel is exactly as described on the website. We booked with the hotel directly and paid €115 per night for a classic double room, breakfast included. The breakfast was not really that nice, and it was difficult to get fresh coffee or any requests dealt with. But it was enough to start the day with. They asked us to pay the bill in full on arrival which we thought a little strange, but I suppose not extremely rare either.
The restaurant attached is very nice too. Seems to get a good local trade. They seemed a bit surprised the first night when tourists were in for a drink - austere also, but when we returned most evenings for a meal (food lovely) or a drink , they were pleasant enough. We drank our vodka in tall glasses with a tonic mixed in - which I think they found alarming the first day and it was quite funny trying to get across what we wanted- but all was well after that! Even if you felt they thought us quite odd!
The girl the first day on reception was most helpful and friendly, answering all our mundane touristy questions with a smile ( excellent English also) - Pick up the "St.Petersburg -In your pocket" Guide in the reception area - it's great for information and metro map etc.
They orderered a taxi to bring us to the Ballet too. Reasonable & efficient.
Our room was largish, as was the bathroom and the cleaning service was excellent. The only small problem we had was with the roomy shower - the water didn't seem to drain away properly, so you had to turn off the water every few minutes to let it seep away to prevent flooding the room out! We asked about this and unfortunately they said it was an onging problem.
Location: we walked to Peter & Paul fortress, the Hermitage (2 metro stops), also to the River to see the lifting of the bridges etc. depending on exactly where you were going we found it was as easy to walk, if not easier, than getting the metro. So while it was in a different area to their other hotel (which we saw) which is just off Nevsky Prospect- I was pleased with the location.
There is a McDonalds down the road, also a Tepemok blini stand (try these pancakes , they're lovely) opposite and down the road a little - we also went to a German type beer restaurant (opposite and nearer the river-downstairs) for a meal one evening and it was lovely. Sorry don't have the name. We also strolled around the block one evening and had sushi in a sushi bar -which I have to say wasn't great.
One small complaint was the hotel would only sign off on our visa forms for the dates we were actually staying with them. Which meant we would have had to pay our Moscow hotel as well - paying twice for the one thing. Fortunately our Moscow hotel signed for all our dates once we told them where we were staying, (even though we were going to Moscow on the second leg of the trip) so we only had to pay them.
Overall I was pleased with the Hotel Stoney Island - I thought given the price of Moscow hotels it was good value and the location was good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Hotel very well located with professional & friendly staff. Very good value for money. Nice large room well decorated, large windows. The hotel is very clean. Also only 2min walking distance from Nievsky prospect.I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all type of travel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Because we have a development office in St. Petersburg I frequently travel to the city. While there are many hotel choices, I always try to stay at Stony Island. It's a very nice, modern hotel. The rooms range from the very small to very large (on the 6th floor). I've stayed here 5 times and it's always been great, from the staff to the cleanliness to the excellent James Cook pub attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This was my first trip to Saint Petersburg and the hotel was pre-arranged for me. It was a good choice. The rooms were a bit small, but livable. Bathroom, again small, but doable. They did charge for the internet - and I thought it was a bit on the expensive side. The hot breakfast was great. The hotel is attached to a nice bar/pub, there is a McDonald's and a grocery store down the street. I don't speak Russian, but that was not an issue at the hotel. All things considered I would stay here again. While not perfect, it was above average overall.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Petrogradsky
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#89 of 355 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
Petrogradsky
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#155 of 355 in St. Petersburg
71 reviews
Petrogradsky
Petrogradsky Grand Hotel
Petrogradsky Grand Hotel
#313 of 355 in St. Petersburg
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kolomna
Matisov Domik
Matisov Domik
#33 of 355 in St. Petersburg
179 reviews
Petrogradsky
Andersen Hotel
Andersen Hotel
#123 of 355 in St. Petersburg
139 reviews
Palantin Hotel
#125 of 355 in St. Petersburg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Island Hotel

Property: Stony Island Hotel
Address: Kamennoostrovskiy Ave., 45, St. Petersburg 197022, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrogradsky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Stony Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing