We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to restaurants and the water”
Review of Hotel Cameo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cameo
Ranked #93 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a little hard to find but it is very nice. The location is actually good because it is near everything. The area around the hotel may not look that great but it is safe. Polina at the front desk is EXCELLENT! She is a lovely young lady who speaks very good English. She is very friendly, professional and helpful. The young man, Illya on the other hand is totally opposite so if he is on duty ask for someone else. He seems annoyed when asked for any assistance. But anyway, the breakfast is very good, the ladies in the kitchen work very hard cooking and cleaning up. They are very attentive and the food is good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sascha07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

When the taxi driver approached the hotel through a run down area, I began to wonder where we were going and the outside, while better than the surrounding buildings, didn't inspire much confidence either.
Once inside I could see that the hotel was clean at least. Our room was on the third floor and while it was a bit small it did have air con, comfortable beds and pillows and a fridge. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but these are available from the bar so no big deal.
The bathroom ws actually a wet room with plenty of towels which were changed if left on the floor. Beware - the towel rain is on all of the time and the bathroom can get rather warm but plenty of hot water and basic toiletries supplied. Although there is a TV in the room all channels are in Russian.
We didn't have a computer with us but there is one available in the reception area for public use and it is free.
The reception staff are as helpful as they can be but their English is not much better then my Russian (almost non existent). They did manage to get us a taxi to the airport at the end of our stay.
The breakfast was fine - plenty of it - cheese, meat, salad, eggs (boiled and fried), cereals, bread, pancakes etc so unless you are incredibly picky, you won't go hungry. They don't mind you taking bread etc to make sandwiches for later either.
The hotel is pretty well placed for exploring St P on foot - it took us approx 30 mins stroll to get to the Hermitage.
I must admit that although we were two older ladies, we did not feel threatened at all even though the area around the hotel looked decidedly run down.
There are plenty of shops to get food to eat in the evening and you can use the hotels plates and cutlery or restaurants in very easy walking distance (less than 10 mins) if you prefer to eat out.
This hotel was about £130 B&B through booking.com so good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachesTreharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I was quite impressed with the inside of the Cameo hotel. The rooms are a little on the small side, but they're cozy and the beds are comfortable. There's also wireless internet that reaches the third floor (I saw it advertised as being on the first and second floors -- no idea whether it reaches the fourth floor). It's a bit spotty at times, but it's free and it's a largely decent connection. The people at the front desk speak a bit of English and are quite helpful. Also, the breakfast buffet? None of this 'continental' stuff! They offer a huge array of food that is refilled regularly... cereal, yogurt, fruit, meats, cheeses, bread, kasha, noodles, pancakes, eggs, coffee and tea ... I was amazed! And it's included with your stay.

There are downsides, though. Most notably, it is situated in a /scary/ section of town. It's tough to find, tucked away in the middle of a sidestreet that is littered with dirt, graffiti, broken glass, and bums that root through the trash bins. I was never accosted, but as a younger woman travelling on my own, I was always a bit nervous and never stayed out past dark, which was a shame... It's a bit of a hike to Nevsky Prospekt, maybe some 30-40 minutes on foot. Not a problem for younger or fitter travellers, but older travellers or those with kids might have difficulties. And there's really not much of a view on your way to Nevsky. You'll be disappointed (as I was) if this is your first glimpse of the lovely St. Petersburg. However, it is close to the Pushkinskaya Metro station, which is easy and inexpensive and, with the right connections, can take you wherever you need to go.

Also, the walls are extremely thin. People the next room over were having a casual conversation, and it just echoed through the walls. And the bathrooms are /odd/. There's no shower stall -- just a hole in the floor and a curtain around the shower area to keep water from splashing everywhere.

In all, I'd say this place is probably best for younger people travelling in groups ... good place to sleep for the night, excellent breakfast, but nothing luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank s1ncer1ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

It is easy to overlook how big Saint Petersburg is. It is actually the second largest urban area in Europe, so pick your hotel carefully, especially because traffic is terrible in this city, and getting around is not so easy as in most western european cities. When I first got to this hotel, as the driver took a back entrance, I found myself asking why the hell I was staying here. The back of the hotel faces a grim and abandoned building and a backyard that attracts bums and drunks in the middle of the night. It was only on the second day that I realized that the location was in fact decent, as long as get to learn the map of the city in your head. Saint Petersburg is one powerful and imposing city. You can't help but think about the siege during WWII and wonder what a winter here must be like (I came during summer, at the height of the white nights). This hotel is nothing special, but the rooms are comfortable enough. The bathroom grabbed my attention because of two things: one was that the shower had no curtain. The second was that the water had a very weird smell. I don't know if all water in Saint Petersburg smells like this, but this was definitely stinky.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

The Cameo was a pleasant suprise it is a petunia in a onion patch.

rates are reasonable for Russian hotels

receptionist speaks like a Canadian (excellent)

breakfast is huge and yummy! Plus you can order an omellete or a perfect expresso.

Really appreciated our stay here!!

Jon Parker

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank InJoyCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

1 kilometer away from Njevski Prospekt, a walking distance along the lovely Fontanka canal. Rooms are ok, but I'd expect a slightly better breakfast for that price (100 euros a night in the high season - does the mafia run these places?), the air condition is really noisy at night. Summers in Petersburg are really varm and opening the window is not an option unless you prefer being eaten by mosquitos.
The picture on their web site is not telling the whole truth. Both the front and the backyard is a dump.
The staff is ok, at least slightly above the average Russian consept of "service minded staff", they also speak a little English.
Restaurants with lovely caucasian food really close by.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trygdordningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Nikol2017801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Statskiy Sovetnik
#77 of 361 in St. Petersburg
160 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#60 of 361 in St. Petersburg
360 reviews
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#132 of 361 in St. Petersburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#116 of 361 in St. Petersburg
145 reviews
Kolomna
Matisov Domik
Matisov Domik
#49 of 361 in St. Petersburg
189 reviews
Palantin Hotel
#125 of 361 in St. Petersburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cameo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cameo

Address: Emb. Reki Fontanki, 90/6, St. Petersburg 191180, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $32 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cameo 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Cameo" was opened in June 2005. The building is located in a quiet green square in the historical center of St. Petersburg. Convenient location at the intersection of the Fontanka Embankment and Gorokhovaya street gives you feeling of accommodation in the busy city center but still in calm green yard. Within 5-10 minutes walk you can reach Sadovaya street and Nevsky Prospekt, as well as most of the major attractions of the Northern Venice. Hotel "Cameo" has been constructed according to the individual hotel project, which combines the coziness and modern style. The hotel has its own parking, laundry service, lobby bar and nice café that can provide additional comfort to our guests. Staying at "Cameo" no doubt will please business people and travelers. There are 46 rooms:•36 standard rooms•2 comfort rooms•8 suitesFirst floor rooms can be used by disabled people and also by guests with pets.Every room is equipped with: •phone•TV with satellite channels•fridge•bathroom (shower / bathtub)•hair dryer•cosmetics•individual air conditioning system •individual heatingThe price includes buffet breakfast, served in café from 7:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cameo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing