We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff and great rooms”
Review of Petro Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petro Palace Hotel
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Petro Palace Hotel. We upgraded to a Balcony room for a little extra. Our room was very large and well laid out. Mini bar was well priced and there were also coffee/tea making facilities. Staff were very helpful upon check in. We were already aware that there is a hotel/tourist tax payable upon check-in. We could not have chosen a better location in terms of walking everywhere. The majority of major attractions were within walking distance of the hotel. The TonyC bar next door was great for a drink at the end of the day and if you are after a casual feed the burgers are very good. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in St Petersburg.

Room Tip: Buy a 500ml bottle of Vodka from the bar and share it in shot glasses. Great value at around A$30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

We generally choose hotels in cities by location and try to be as close to the centre of action as possible, then we go for a 4* to try to ensure a reasonable standard. This hotel certainly scores on location, as others here comment - it is very close to all the central sights of the City. Our room was a twin, which was slightly disappointing, but it was quite big with lots of room to unpack but with just one chair - an office-type by the desk/dressing table, so nowhere comfortable to sit and watch TV. It seemed impossible to adjust the temperature - we turned the AC on and it made a lot of noise and only seemed to chill the room slightly. The bathroom was also large with lots of room for all our things, but only a shower and no plug in the wash basin - thank goodness for the universal plug I always have with me. The room was kept very clean with bottles of mineral water provided.

The breakfasts were indeed odd. There were a lot of things available but not much that looked particularly appetising. I love fresh fruit for breakfast and there was a lot there, but it had mostly been cut open some time earlier, eg rather dried-up-looking peach and apricot halves. There was fruit salad but it was a mixture of fresh and tinned fruit. I had an omelette one day, but it tasted very bland, even though I had cheese and mushrooms added - couldn't taste them at all. The orange juice was horrible - tasted like slightly diluted orange squash. Yet in the bar downstairs they had fresh oranges and a manual squeezer that slowly turned out lovely fresh orange juice, which admittedly you had to pay for.

The breakfast room is on floor 2 and if you get out of the lift there you will have to hike right around the building down those long grey corridors, wondering where on earth you are going, before you find it. Best to take the lift to floor 1 (Ground floor) and walk up a very short flight of stairs right by the lift and you are straight into the breakfast room. They don't much like you doing that as the "check-in" desk is at the other end of the room, but they can't stop you and this brings you straight to where the food is spread out and the waitresses there will check you in no problem.

We didn't eat other meals in the hotel - the whole place is bit depressing - even my husband, not known for great observation skills for this sort of thing, said why don't they put a few flowers around the place. It all seemed very soviet and functional - very few pictures in long blank grey corridors, and those there were were old black and white photos of drab parts of St Petersburg years ago. The staff were helpful enough if you asked for anything and all spoke good English but they all seemed pretty miserable, other than the great bar staff who were much more fun and happy to chat about the latest World Cup football, which England and Russia were both involved in while we were there.

The reason the lifts take so long is that there are two and they are on independent call buttons so of course everyone presses both and takes the first and then it will stop at all the other floors where there is now no one waiting. Just leave lots of time. We used the swimming pool, which they tried to charge us for, saying it was only free to residents up to 11 am. I pointed out that it says in the brochure in the room that it is free to residents all the time and they said only if you are part of a party. It doesn't say that, I said, and eventually they agreed not to charge. Why should you have to have this sort of argument in a 4* hotel? Why isn't the pool just free for residents, full stop? Wi fi has to be paid for in the rooms as well, but there is excellent free coverage in the bar - the bar is the place to be in this hotel!

Other Brits we met were much ruder about their hotels so this one is clearly better than many, but I think St Petersburg hotels have a way to go to catch up with other major western cities in their efforts to attract western tourists. Our wonderful guide (thank you VJV) suggested some excellent restaurants and also others to avoid at all costs, so restaurants are clearly pretty mixed as well!

Definitely a good place to stay to see the sights, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is an old building that was refurnished and reconditioned as an hotel. It seems that it was one of the countless palaces at Saint Petersburg! It has long hallways, two set of elevators, and the restaurant is in a kind of second floor. After a while you get used to the layout of the hotel.
Service was fine, everybody at the front desk and concierge area speaks English. The room was clean, and the breakfast was well served, abundant and very nice. Staff were very attentive and always available to serve passengers.
The best part of the hotel is its location. You can walk anywhere within the historic area. It is close to the main attractions of the city. Also you can reach a Metro station in few minutes, or trolleys.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room has a beautiful view. The hotel is in the middle of other buildings, all you can see throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdoSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The utmost level of service provided by any Hotel is to make the customers feel at home. I felt at home during my stay in Petro Palace. The staff service, assistance and advice were just perfect and greatly appreciated (booking plus reception plus concierge plus room service). Special Thanks and personal respect to Eugene (Night Manager) who was really exceptional. Petro Palace truly deserves full mark and no doubt one additional Star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dana1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and l stayedhere for a week in May. The very best things about it are its location, a short walk from Nevsky Prospekt and the Hermitage, and the very helpful and friendly staff. The mood is 50 shades of brown throughout, but the bar is well used by locals , the beds are comfy, the showers work well and the breakfast is a triumph of variety, even though everything is placed quite illogically - a good brain-teaser to wake you up!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent a week here and it was perfect for exploring the city on foot. St. Isaac's Cathedral is only a few short steps away as are most of the main attractions such as The Hermitage and the Church of Spilt Blood. What really surprised us was the size of the rooms in the hotel. Huge ceilings and an enormous room space - suite size. We expected the rooms to be cool but we had to get staff to turn off the radiators because the room was too warm. Staff spoke enough English to assist us adequately and they were always very polite and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was so centrally located that we walked to most of the sights everyday to Nevsky Prospect street.The Winter Palace was around the corner and we even walked comfortably and back to the theatre to see Swan Lake. The rooms we well equipped , large and very comfortable.Room service was great and came up with good quality stuff to cater to our 2.00pm cravings!Of course the xtra chocolates on tipping the the room service maids were welcome too.Altogether a good viewof the city's skyline from our 8th floor window-though reaching our room felt bit like a maze.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anshoobajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,656 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 361 in St. Petersburg
866 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#23 of 361 in St. Petersburg
845 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro Palace Hotel

Address: Malaya Morskaya St., 14, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#36 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petro Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An indoor pool, well-equipped gym and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi are offered at this recently renovated 4-star hotel, just a 5-minute walk from St. Petersburg's Palace Square and Nevsky Prospekt Avenue. Italian Restaurant Trattoria Settimo Cielo offers beautiful views of St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Hermitage. Petro Palace Hotel's classically styled rooms include a work desk and a minibar. The bright, modern bathrooms feature toiletries and a hairdryer. Wi-Fi internet access is available. Spa facilities at the Petro Palace include a hot tub, sauna and massage room, and some rooms offer free all-day access. Tours of St. Petersburg can be booked at the 24-hour reception. St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Alexander Garden are just 300 metres from the hotel. Parking spaces are available for an extra fee. The brand-new Admiralteyskaya Metro Station is 200 metres from the Petro Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petro Palace
Petro Palace St Petersburg
Petro Palace Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing