We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we could stay here forever we would!!”
Review of Casa Leto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leto
Ranked #91 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Maybe this is what it felt like to be a tsar!
The only better location would be staying inside the hermitage.
Great rooms with real personality, amazing well informed and helpful staff, all in all a faultless stay with a real feeling of Russia.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 151 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had a fantastic time at Casa Leto- I travelled there with my husband and 17month old son. My son adored running around the apartment and eating the free snacks!
The bedroom (Rossi) was fantastic, really spacious, very warm (the temps outside were -10/-20) so it was very welcoming returning to the appartment after a day sightseeing.
The breakfasts were very filling and tasty and the staff couldnt do more for us- all in all a great experience.
The location is superb, very central!
The exterior could do with a facelift- you enter a shabby building and have to go up 2 flights of stairs(with a buggy this wasnt too easy).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights late October, the room was excellent, very roomy, the bed was great, large and very comfortable, adjustable heating and the ability to open the windows for fresh air made for pleasant surroundings. Bathroom facilities were top class and very clean, in fact the whole hotel was very clean & tidy. A daily breakfast and continuous snacks in the lounge area was a great bonus, free wifi or use of the communal laptop plus free international calls.
As for location, just a short stroll and you are on Nevsky Prospekt, the main street of St Petersburg, so we couldn't have asked for a better location. English speaking staff are available and are only too pleased to help with transfers to airports or train stations for a modest fee. Casa Leto made our trip to St Pete so enjoyable, it was great to come back to the lovely room every evening, we'll be back in the Summer....if it's not already booked out!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitempoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

A great find in the very heart of St Petersburg. Ideally situated for all of the main sites.
Casa Leto is, as advertised, a local "mini hotel", not a full service international chain; clearly if you need gyms, valet, overpriced cocktail bars and restaurants on the premise then this isn't for you. Service was friendly and breakfast cooked to order more than sufficient; airport transfers were quick and efficient.

Should you wish for a comfortable friendly base from which to explore the city around you choosing local bars & restaurants in different locations then it's ideal.
The entry way is full of character as the hotel is just one small part of the apartment block and so is used by local residents as well rather than being a part of the hotel and it's actually quite spectacular in its faded grandure.....

Did I mention the location? Perfect...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Our stay at Casa Leto was exceptional! The location is great. It is a short walk (5-15 minutes) to any of the tourist sites. The hotel staff speak excellent English and are very helpful (rather uncommon for Russia).
The hotel includes filtered water, non-alcoholic beverages and breakfast. The non- alcoholic beverages selection was a little meager, but if you request something you want they will get it for you. There are quite a few choices for breakfast including yogurt, cereal, toast, eggs, or omelets. One suggestion on the eggs and omelets ask them to cook both sides…we were quite surprised the first morning when they served us runny omelets. Also in the afternoon they have a few ‘snacks.’ It is really just a bowl of mixed nuts. But it was nice to have a complimentary small bite and cold drink.
The hotel staff is happy to help you buy tickets to the ballet, or arrange a tour. However, the markup was rather high. I organize my own activities and saved around 25%.
My initial impression of the (Quarenghi) room was rather dingy due to a faded and blemished bedspread. The room was actual very spacious and clean, but Casa Leto really needs to replace the bedspread. The bathroom was tasteful and clean. Plus, the heated floor was a nice touch.
Like other reviews have mentioned, you do have to walk up a several flights of stairs in a long dark hall way to get to the hotel. I had read the reviews in advance and knew what to expect, but it was still a little intimidating at first. But after a few times, you learn were the sensors are to turn the lights on and the corridor becomes lot less daunting.
Overall, it was a great value with breakfast & water included & free wi-fi. Plus the location can’t be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mathmagican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is in a great location and its entrance (inside a locked door in an old, rundown building) is full of character and exactly what we wanted of St Petersburg. The rooms were also beautifully appointed and large. The only drawback really is that it is a lot more a B&B than a hotel so there are aspects of a hotel you give up - lobby, lounge, gym, bar, restaurant, lavish breakfast - and with the service being no more attentive than that usually received in a boutique hotel it didn't really make up for it. Our view may also have been coloured by the time we visited - in the middle of a huge heatwave which the rooms were not at all equipped to deal with - though they would be bliss in the winter.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristenDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

very good location in the city center. Walking distance from Ermitage (5 min) and metro station (10 min). Only 5 rooms. Very friendly staff.
In front of a very nice restaurant (Oliva) also to recommend,

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#18 of 362 in St. Petersburg
564 reviews
Arkadia Hotel
#40 of 362 in St. Petersburg
328 reviews
Admiralteisky
Herzen House Hotel
Herzen House Hotel
#101 of 362 in St. Petersburg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Prestige Hotel
Prestige Hotel
#179 of 362 in St. Petersburg
146 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#80 of 362 in St. Petersburg
327 reviews
Kolomna
Red Stars Hotel
Red Stars Hotel
#49 of 362 in St. Petersburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leto

Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 34, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 362 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $65 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leto 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located close to the Hermitage and St Isaac's Cathedral, Casa Leto is a small and luxurious family owned private hotel. Recommended by FT, Telegraph and Marie Claire, our concept of an 'unhotel' approach has proved very popular with discerning visitors looking for more atmoshere, style and personal attention. Our room rates include many extras as standard including free phone calls, refreshments and internet, making it outstanding value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Leto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing