We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shouyuan(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Hotel Fontanka(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palantin Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Park Lion Bridge(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pushkinskiy Domik(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Red Stars Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
521
67
12
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
67
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmariinsky theatreboutique hotelbali roomsmall hotelhome from homeyusupov palaceminute walkquiet locationguest housenearest metrolovely hotelbreakfast was deliciousporridgepublic transportnice bathroomspoke good englishby foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 602 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel the last week in June and ha a superb stay. The hotel is located in a quiet street next to one of the smaller canals in St Petersburg. The staff is very helpful and gave us several good proposals. As for the hotel it is absolutely a different and good experience from the big hotels. The service has a personal touch you don’t get in the bigger ones and the location is very good when you go to explore St Petersburg and the surrounding area. You are in walking distance from most of the important places. We can only give the hotel and its restaurant our best recommendations. Stay there if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Hans Peter,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to share your experience hear, at Tripadvisor.com.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us and it is so nice of you to mention that we are absolutely different from big hotels - we do feel that personal attention to every our guest is the main part of our atmosphere.

Look forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

So quiet, so relaxing, this hotel is a cut above all the other hotels I have tried in Russia in its category. If you want comfort and personal attention without the cost and boredom of the international chains, then you we be comfortable at the Alexander House. The courtyard garden for snacks, drinks and smoking is a hidden gem, and the perfectly functional aircon, darl curtains and easy fast Wifi are everything you don't yet expect automatically in Russia. Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind feedback.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our guest house services and facilities.

We do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great place to stay if you have some exceptional reason... like wedding ) Excellent service and very warm interior made in family home way. Delicious food. Beautiful open garden. Big rooms with smart and magnificent interior. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Dumnov,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and food.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you like small boutique hotels, you will love the Alexander House. Situated on a quiet street overlooking a canal, it was a short walk to the many cultural events at the Old and new Marinsky Theaters. The rooms are very charming- exposed brick walls, random width hardwood floors, large picture windows and have nicely appointed modern baths with heated tiled floors, large showers, and bidets. Breakfast was terrific, the crepes were exceptional. There was a lovely garden and you could have your breakfast there weather permitting. The staff were so helpful and warm. They really made you feel as if they were welcoming you to their home. The hotel is a bit outside the center of the city but the corner bus ran frequently and it was a short and inexpensive ride to the Nevsky. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking stairs choose a room on the second floor as there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13ser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our guest house and for sharing your experience here, at Tripadvisor.com. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff were exceptional. We arrived about 23:30 in the rain, and the staff took the time to give us a tour of the hotel and our rooms. The restaurant is open 24 hours and the breakfast included is excellent. The rooms are beautiful and have internet access. Each floor is like a private home and is decorated with great character and warmth. The location is very quiet and although it is somewhat far from the Metro, you can get the bus at the end of the street and get to the metro or Nevsky in 10-15 minutes. It is walking distance to the Marinsky Theatre and St. Nicols Cathedral. The building is only three floors and if you require an elevator you may not want to stay here. However, the walk up the marble staircase makes you feel like you are in an old palace. Our family will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms, the Barcelona is a two room apartment and looks over the canal.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Jerry L,

We were very glad to read your review regarding your resent staying at our guest house. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Saint-Petersburg and for taking your time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We do really appreciateit. And I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our servces and staff.

We will be happy to see you and your family here again at the Alexander House soon.
Best regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews