We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and friendly stay”
Review of Alexander House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexander House
Ranked #1 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

One of the most friendly stuff in SPb. Light and big rooms. Small beautiful garden inside. Europe part in the city center. Very nice cuisine.
Also you can visit library.

It is possible to use this hotel for bride's morning. In the room, garden, restaurant and library.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Andrey N,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your staying with us. We do really glad that you found our guest house comfortable and friendly.

We at Alexander House are always exited to host brides and trying to create a magnificent atmosphere for their special day. And all our public spaces are available for a wedding photo sessions for our guests.

Hope to see you again soon at the Alexander House.
Best regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    66
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
272
35
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in the Mexico room. We have traveled extensively and this is definitely one of our favorite places. The staff were excellent, friendly and could not have been nicer. The rooms are fabulous - comfortable, well appointed and quiet. The restaurant is also extremely good and open 24/7. If I were travelling to St Petersburg again I would definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barneycrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear barneycrook,

Thank you very much for choosing our guest house and for your kind words about our service and staff. We were pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to your return to the Alexander House.

Best regards from all our team,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Bali room for five days in September. Everything about this charming hotel was perfect. We were encouraged to switch from a smaller room to the more generous Bali. We were allowed to bring our own wine in to the restaurant. The staff were unfailingly helpful and positive. The hotel is a little way from the centre of things but. Close to two fantastic churches and the wonderful Marinsky Theatre. Would certainly come again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Richard S,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking time to post your feedback here. We were really glad to hear that you found our hotel perfect and staff helpful and positive.
Hope to see you again at the Alexander House in near future. We will try to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I absolutely recommend the Alexander House. It’s a wonderful boutique hotel—completely unique, with great staff and food and service and very competitive pricing, and absolutely worth staying at in spite of it being a walk from some historic sites. St. Petersburg is a huge city and main attractions are not grouped together in one big convenient clump, so no matter where you stay you will to put in some miles.

I decided to describe this hotel in detail because it’s wonderful. But if your main concern is location, just go to the end—I have suggestions for getting around.

This hotel looks to be a buildout from gutting a much older building, and the layout is clever and posh. There’s lots of red exposed brickwork, great attention to detail throughout, and each room is completely unique. Rooms are priced by square footage and our room, the St. Petersburg, was a more expensive choice. It was practically suite size and even more fabulous than its pictures. It has enormous windows on two sides and is beautifully decorated from the sheer curtains that let in lots of light (windows also have blinds) to the retro light aqua velvet upholstered furniture, which was amazingly comfortable. The king bed was great, and the furniture cleverly designed with plenty of storage—there was even a foyer coat closet. Everything was immaculately maintained throughout the entire hotel.

The breakfast included in the price was very, very good (try crepes with sour cream and jam) and the huge buffet spread offered numerous choices from fresh fruit to eggs cooked to order to cheese and smoked salmon, and the restaurant area is very attractive. One separate area allows smoking and I don’t know how they do it, but there were no cigarette smells anywhere. The restaurant is open 24 hours a day and has great service no matter when you show up; we enjoyed every meal we had there. There’s also a beautifully-decorated large common room on the first floor with a fireplace, large couch, computer with internet access and printer, and a big meeting table. The ground floor has an indoor open square with a lovely garden.

If you want to stay here, look at different websites to check prices. However, if you compare this hotel’s pricing to other hotels in tourist cities like Venice or Florence or New York, this place is a deal no matter how you book. Because we had to buy travel insurance anyway, I booked directly through Ksenia at the Alexander House and got a very good discount for a nonrefundable advance payment.

The hotel has a lot of staff, and everyone had a great command of English and was patient and extremely friendly. Ksenia speaks and writes with better English than many Americans and was wonderful with everything, including an immediate response on visa application paperwork. I won’t name the rest of the staff because I’ll forget someone, but all the women were very helpful, and so graceful and charming they probably had night jobs as ballerinas. The doormen were great in helping with luggage and making taxi arrangements.

For getting around, regardless of your choice of transportation, get a good map in advance (we had problems with the TripAdvisor app map).

To see the city, you could walk everywhere, and St. Isaac’s and the ballet are fairly close. For attractions like the Church on the Spilled Blood or the Hermitage, that’s probably 40 minutes. The Peter and Paul Fortress is further. The thing is the city's huge, and so are all the buildings and bridges, so if you go this route you need to love walking.

If you don’t want to walk as much, the hotel can get you cabs and prices are good. However, calling them for a cab to pick us up at the end of the day didn’t work as well, which was not their fault but because p.m. traffic is ridiculous. I recommend making arrangements in the morning for a specific time and place for a pick-up, and that should go more smoothly. Note my son, who lives there, says not to flag down random cabs, because you’ll get ripped off and there are even some rare kidnappings. We ignored his advice on a day we were exhausted, and the ride was ridiculously overpriced.

The cheapest transportation is buses and/or the subway. The subway stations are hugely interesting, Stalin’s “palaces of the people,” with unbelievably long escalators and lots of marble. Some have terrific leftover communist memorabilia. The nearest station is less than a mile away. A small local bus also stops close to the hotel, although we didn’t try that.

The hotel can also arrange for a guide, and when we were there we got several taxi rides from a very nice guy named Igor. He’s fluent in English, knows the city and history, and has a spacious van—we would have hired him at least for a general tour had my son not been there. I would also think the hotel could arrange for you to hire someone to walk you to the subway and give you a tutorial, because trying to figure out Cyrillic can be intimidating. It’s worth the investment because public transportation is cheap and interesting. Signs for stops are in both Cyrillic and our alphabet, so once you get the hang of it it’s like any other metro system.

St. Petersburg is a beautiful city, and this is a terrific hotel. I unequivicably recommend the Alexander House.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautifully decorated, and they're priced by square footage. I decided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treeforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear treeforest,

Thank you very much for choosing our guest house for your visit to Saint-Petersburg and thank you for the time to leave such a kind and detailed review following your stay with us and for your useful tips about the transportation
I have shared your review with all our team to cheer them up and inspire them to stay focused on our guests’ needs (even though after exhausting night ballet performance as ballerinas :)
Special thanks from Ksenia, she was glad and flattered to receive your compliment

Please come and visit us again soon!
With kindest regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This boutique hotel tucked away along a canal is a hidden gem. I stayed here two nights while traveling alone on business and was so happy I did. I stay at a lot of 5 star hotels when I travel for business and this one beat many much larger hotels with its cozy homelike feel, friendly and helpful staff, and delicious breakfast at a much lower price. I stayed in the Kyoto room which was very comfortable and cozy. I loved the sitting room outside my room with a large fireplace and sofa. The hotel is not that close to any subway stops, but its a safe area to walk and taxis are easy to get. A plus of it's being a little off the beaten path is it's very quiet and peaceful. I really enjoyed my stay here and will try to come again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear zben,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to read that you find our hotel a 'hidden gem'. Our team members are always doing their best to meet guests' expectations and I am happy to hear that we can beat some 5-stars hotels with our service level.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we do hope we can welcome you back at your next visit to Saint-Petersburg.

Sincerely,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

One of the friendliest places I have ever stayed. Staff were really welcoming, helpful and lovely.

A charming retreat and the perfect place to come back to after a day spent exploring St. Petersburg. Really good location, very close the Mariinsky and not too far from other attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Aisling T,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are really glad that you found our hotel friendly and charming. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for an extended weekend recently and was quite happy with the hotel and the staff.
The hotel was about 30 minutes from the airport via car, which the hotel arranged for me for a very reasonable price. Check-in was effortless/quick, and the staff very welcoming. One nice thing about the hotel is the very controlled access - entrance is controlled via a buzzer/doorman system.
I was put up in the 'Mexico' room - every room seems associated with either a city or country - which was bright, had a decent tv, minibar, safe, and large bathroom (featuring a shower only). The safe was large enough for a small laptop. The TV was mostly Russian programming, with only news being in foreign languages (such as Italian, English, and maybe German). The bed was large and comfortable. There's not lots of unnecessary gadgets in the room - no iPhone stereo, no Nespresso machine, etc - but the important things are covered.
The thing that stands out about the hotel is the service and attitude of the staff. Everyone was very friendly at all times, and there were no problems with communication. Given how accommodating the staff were, Alexander House felt less like staying in a hotel and more like staying in a very exclusive guest house. It just felt very comfortable here.
I had breakfast several times in the restaurant as well as a few other meals and indeed drinks. The kitchen is reportedly open at all times, with the full restaurant menu available as room service as well. The food was fresh and really quite good, and the prices were extremely reasonable.
Wifi is available throughout the hotel and the speed and strength were both good. (Free) printing facilities are also on-hand; notably this room also has a large fireplace which the staff seem very happy to get going.
The only factor which may be viewed as a negative - or indeed as a positive, depending on what you're looking for - is the location. It's a bit of a trek to Nevsky Prospekt by foot for instance, although quick enough by car. The hotel was quite close to the Mariinsky however. Despite the walk, the area seemed safe enough and was quiet, so again it all depends on what you're looking for. It really wasn't a big deal personally and during the summer I can imagine the walks along the canals are nice.
Overall, in terms of going somewhere with amazing service, quality rooms, decent price, and an overall great stay, Alexander House has to be it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pantherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderHouseSPb, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Alexander House, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Pantherg

Thank you for posting a review of the Alexander House Boutique Hotel. We are excited to receive such a splendid and detailed feedback. Thank you for your high marks!

It was our pleasure taking care of you during your staying with us. We pride ourselves on our attention to our guests needs, and we always try to do our best to make our guests feel at home. Actually, we do call Alexander House - family guest house, so it is nice to hear you felt like staying in a very exclusive guest house. Thank you for noting our delicious breakfast and menu. We are really proud of our kitchen services and our chef’s work.

Our surrounding area is getting better and better every year - lots of historical buildings have been lovingly restored and turned into new residents and restaurants.
We hope you will be able to visit us in summer and enjoy a walk along the canals.

Warm reagrds,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 355 in St. Petersburg
741 reviews
The State Hermitage Museum Offic...
#5 of 355 in St. Petersburg
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 355 in St. Petersburg
793 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#11 of 355 in St. Petersburg
524 reviews
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#7 of 355 in St. Petersburg
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House

Property: Alexander House
Address: Kryukova Kanala Emb., 27, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kolomna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Alexander House “- is a private Family Guest House for 20 rooms. It was built in 1826 and reconstructed nowadays. “Alexander House” is located on the Kryukov Canal Embankment, at the historical center of St. Petersburg at the “Kolomna” district. Within walking distance there are such architectural treasures as St. Nicholas, Trinity and St. Isaac’s Cathedrals. For art lovers – Mariinsky Theatre, new Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Conservatory are nearby. In five minutes drive is the city center and the main street of St Petersburg – Nevsky Prospect.Exclusively designed interiors and a special family atmosphere combined with all modern amenities are our great pride. And also one of the reasons so many guests return to “Alexander House” over and over again.Each room is unique in its own design and named after the most beautiful cities, such as Rome, Bangkok, Copenhagen, London, Marrakech, Mexico and Venice. All rooms are equipped with everything necessary for work and leisure, such as satellite TV and Internet Wi-Fi; all bathrooms are with personal toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.During the reconstruction of Alexander House only exclusively natural and eco-friendly materials like wood and brick were used and all the water is cleaned with a five-stage purification system.In winter guests can sit by the fireplace in the cozy lounge and in summer enjoy the charm of terrace immersed in green.Professional staff will make all the best for memorable and enjoyable stay at Alexander House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing